We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place that matters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Ranked #11 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Loveland, CO and Mt. Vernon, IA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A place that matters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Since 1984 I have stayed at the Mabel Dodge Luhan house perhaps 25 times. Each time has been a delicious experience, ranging from the supurb breakfasts, to the enlightened workshops held there.

The place is admitedly quirky, but that's the charm. It is a walk in history, and that facet proves inspirational. Nothing is convenient there, no swimming pools, no televisions, limited phone, and that's the beauty...to give space in order to nurture the soul.

I have stayed in most rooms there. Noises and legends are part of the lore. Embrace it always!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
47
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed in the solarium room - top of the place, Incredible by day, but all night dogs barked non-stop (said from "the res"). Sort of a splurge for me ($130 for 1 night) so disappointed about the night noise. Otherwise, fantastic! I asked the people who stayed in regular room about the dogs and they said they heard nothing. Very historic and quiet, by day!

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JTinUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

A charming, albeit quirky place to stay in Taos. Its location at the end of a quiet lane is a world apart from the lively Plaza but it's an easy walk. The breakfasts are sumptuous and I found the staff to be quite personable and friendly.

Staying in the Solarium is an adventure! First climb two flights of narrow, head-bumping stairs, then one more flight that is little more than a ladder. Not exactly accessible for anyone with mobility issues. The bright, airy room feels like a tree-house. Yes, there were adobe bugs ( completely harmless ) and minimal privacy but the trade off is stunning views across Taos Pueblo lands to the sacred mountains beyond.

This place reverberates with the energy of it's luminous past. Read Utopian Vistas by Lois Palken Rudnick for the full story of the artists and visionaries who were drawn here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diablodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level Contributor
216 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

My wife and I have stayed here many times from the 1990s--we will be back soon again in July '09. It is the kind of place that rekindles the human spirit . One experiences time for contemplation and feels evidences of the journeys of people, both natives and newer arrivals, some of whom gave this region and country a particular strength. This is one of those truly special places where if guests enter its spirit, they will experience an increase of self knowledge and acquire a fragment of the vision its founder had for a better America. When one is a guest here, he or she is a member of a self selected community. The ritual of breakfast in a dining room with light from the east and the views of the evening skies from the brush arbor along the acequia frame the daily possibilities.
A person embarks on a journey to come here, and once here another begins.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed there as part of women's leadership retreat. The food was INCREDIBLE!! when I read the other reviews, I could hear valid voices in all of them. My boss warned me that it was rustic compared to a full service hotel and spa in Asia so I knew ahead of time that it wasn't the Shangri-La.

Some of the staff are a little more reserved than others, but by the end of the days it felt like home. Yes there are spiders and little bugs, but nothing crawling in my bed!! Just one or two in the morning in the bath tub or sink. I want to bring my little girls back there so that they can experience the beauty of Taos and the diversity of its residents.

  • Liked — authenticity and history of the actual house
  • Disliked — damp rag rugs when I arrived - I think they had just been washed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cliff65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

The Mabel Dodge Luhan house is a historic bed and breakfast with lots of atmosphere and character. It is in a quiet, almost rural location outside of but within walking distance of the town center. The hostess was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Solarium, a room that constitutes the top floor of the house and that is surrounded on every side by windows. It offers wonderful views of the town and surrounding mountains. However, it has some serious drawbacks. There are no curtains on the windows, so you really have no privacy. (Not that there are lots of other structures around, but there are a couple.) Also, the first rays of dawn will illuminate the room, so if you are sensitive to light, you may be awake earlier than you'd like. Finally, there is not really a door to the room that you can close or lock, so, although the house seems safe, it would be easy for an intruder to walk right up the stairs to the room. One of the high points of our stay was the delicious, even gourmet breakfast, including a fabulous interpretation of huevos rancheros, stewed fruits, and an absolutely scrumptious spoonbread.

  • Liked — the breakfast and views
  • Disliked — the lack of curtains and a door
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

First, it is a historic landmark - that should have been a clue. The history is very interesting, and the people that work there as well. Good morning breakfast, with early coffee close to the comfortable library.

Disappointments - yes, there are spiders. Linens not as clean as they most certainly should be. Unfinished floors. Kivas, but no one told us where to get firewood. Not a comfortable walk to Taos in March.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The history
  • Disliked — Spenidng that much money on less than mediocre accommodations
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Orlandogymguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabel Dodge Luhan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Property: Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Address: 240 Morada Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mabel Dodge Luhan House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, rambling adobe hotel that was once the heart of the Taos literary scene, and whose former owner enticed D.H.Lawrence to move to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mabel Dodge Luhan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing