We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational Place to Write, Draw, Photograph or Hang Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Ranked #12 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inspirational Place to Write, Draw, Photograph or Hang Out”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Yes, it's true that the place doesn't have phones or tv in the rooms...but that's part of the experience. It's a historic adobe building steeped in tradition. I liked that it abutted the reservation land...which means that you have an unobstructed view for miles of sage and the hills beyond...feels like walking back in time. Since breakfast is "family style" you get to meet other guests at breakfast I found many very interesting, friendly, and hailing from all over the US. The breakfast was so large that there was no need for lunch. Since it's a historic building there is some quirkyness to the rooms...but I grew to love the place. If you're looking for a sense of place, and to be away from the crowds on main street in Taos this place is great.

Room Tip: Spend at least one night in the Solarium room...the room has windows all around, and no curtains so...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
49
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a night in the Austin Room and it was overall a nice experience visiting Taos, but I found the Mabel Dodge Lujan House to be a bit of a disappointment. This is a historic old home that is steeped in history, and the setting is generally attractive and peaceful. The rooms certainly "creak" with authenticity...as in, you can't tip-toe on the floors without making a heck of a noise! I didn't really have issues with the place seeming old...I expected that. But I've stayed in many other historic, older places...and this one felt not only old and historic, but mildly neglected. The bed cover was old and threadbare. The door to the room doesn't stay closed without being locked. (But the screen door slams shut on you, so watch out). I liked that the bathroom had a free-standing tub (although newer)...but the water was either very hot or cold. Never could get a good temp.

The ambiance of the grounds is lovely. There hasn't really been much in the way of landscaping done...it's all just growing kinda wild, but that was fine. It's certainly peaceful there. The buildings are attractive, and I found the main rooms of the house to be very nice. But the staff there, I assume, are not professionals, but some sort of volunteers? (I don't know...but I hope at least that they weren't paid.) The various ladies we interacted with were terse and not terribly friendly. At one point as we were checking out, we asked if we could look at one of their other rooms to consider on a possible return visit. This idea was met with scoffing. "Look at the web site." Well, that is hardly the same...it was the web site that intrigued us enough to want to see the room in person, as it was a more expensive room and we were curious if the views were really worth it. But no customer service.

Breakfast was very tasty, but only served from 8-9. This isn't actually a criticism...with so few guests, it's totally understandable. But just be prepared.

I guess I had hoped for a bit more service and a more welcoming attitude. I was fine, even with the slightly beat-up room...but I wish there had been more smiles.

Room Tip: The Austin room is RIGHT NEXT TO THE OFFICE, so you can hear the ladies working and talking in there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMurray847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is fabulous. It is steeped in history, lovely setting, afternoon snacks, tea and coffee all day, wonderful staff and close to town. The breakfast, served form 7-9 is delicious, inventive, fresh and a chance to meet the other guests who have chose this place to stay. It is a delight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marypagejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I cant imagine why one would stay anywhere else but here in Taos. The best breakfast, authentic, historic, charming. I love Mabel's room and Tony's room and the Solarium. The rest, well, less so but still worth for the location and proximity to the Pueblo. I love this place in the winter as much as in the summer-- each for their own reason.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haleighamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent a week here in Nov. There were some creaky floors and it was clearly an old (historic) property, but it provided a wonderful get-away for a retreat I attended. It is not a 5 star hotel. It is a B & B that allows you to wander in a historic site with wonderful, comfortable furnishings. I stayed in Tony's room on the second floor. Had a bathroom that was truly awesome. The windows were painted by DH Lawrence in 1929. Breakfast each day was unique and extremely tasty. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A fascinating quirky sprawling old house, rich with history. Originally the home of Mabel Dodge Luhan who was a New York socialite that married a full-blooded Navajo, together they built this house next to the Indian lands, and introduced many famous writers, artists, and photographers to Taos as well as hosting them in her own home for extended periods -- Georgia O'Keefe, DH Lawrence, the list is nearly endless. The house has been lovingly preserved and now hosts many retreats and workshops as well as individuals. Exceptionally friendly staff, awesome breakfasts, easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops and the Plaza. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Tao, but... If you are a fan of luxury accommodations with room service and TVs and telephones - this is not the place for you. There is no one around at night except the guests and the atmosphere is quite relaxed -- you can go to the living room in the evening, build your own fire in the fireplace, and read, daydream, or do your email. Ask for the Solarium room, wake up to 360 degree views of the desert, the mountains, and the special blue of the Taos sky. Simply unique, not to be missed, a way to taste what it might have been like in the Old Taos.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Solarium - absolutely unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

we stayed for two nights, had problems with the heat in a newly renovated room, but the owners compensated us for our lack of sleep. they are friendly, hospitable, and caring folks. the setting is private with a view of the pueblo mountains. the breakfasts were the best we've ever experienced. i recommend a stay at the mabel dodge house for anyone visiting taos!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
1.0 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabel Dodge Luhan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Property: Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Address: 240 Morada Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mabel Dodge Luhan House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, rambling adobe hotel that was once the heart of the Taos literary scene, and whose former owner enticed D.H.Lawrence to move to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mabel Dodge Luhan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing