We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“individual historic hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was the only hotel I saw in the middle of the town. It is right in the main square and everything is within walking distance.

When we arrived the staff on reception (who I think were the owners) were very friendly and efficient. We had booked on line and the website had not passed on that we needed a room for 4 as we were travelling with our 2 boys. The staff immediately changed our room to a bigger one - 2 interconnecting rooms actually, at no additional charge. The lady also immediately ran to the room to check it was ready for us.

The hotel is beautiful and an interesting old building which has a collection of DH Lawrence paintings. We didn't have a chance to see them which is a pity but they are open several times a day. We were not aware of his connection to the area.

There is a lovely mezzanine with a PC and games. Unfortunately the wifi only seems to work in this area, but that was a very minor issue for us.

There is complimentary coffee at the cafe adjoining. I'm not sure if it is part of the same business but would agree with the comment from another contributor that the service here was not so friendly, but again a minor issue.

Overall a great place to stay in Taos with style and character.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

We love boutique hotels and LaFonda didn't disappoint us. The staff was super friendly, the rooms were comfortable and coffee and tea were free for the length of stay at the coffee shop on the main floor. The absolute BEST of the stay was the chance to see D.H. Lawrence's "forbidden art." They have a conference room tucked into the historic walls with a curtain that can be drawn back on request to reveal nine of Lawrence's banned paintings. They do a few official showings a day, but if they aren't busy the front desk will let hotel guests in for their own viewing. Loved our stay there - we added a day to our trip just to stay there longer!

Room Tip: The walls are thick in the old hotel, so noise wasn't an issue. We stayed there in August, so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheaMillerRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family and I spent a night at this hotel which is located in the plaza. The Inn has gone through many changes over it's long history and you can feel the character. The building is clean and well maintained and the desk staff is very helpful and patient with my usual multitude of historical/cultural questions of the town. There is some beautiful artwork, an attached restaraunt and coffee shop.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craigrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed there during the Taos Fiesta Our room faced the plaza.
The noise didn't bother us at all.The fiesta added entertainment.
The staff is very helpful and always cheerful.
Complementary newspapers, magazines, coffee and soft drinks.
It would be a plus if the bathtub/shower had a grab bar.
The pillows on the bed make the room look very nice, but
if I were to stay more than a night I would request their removal.
We were given one additional hour after checkout.Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 122Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you want to be on the plaza and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants, this is a good hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is a bit shopworn but has a good atmosphere. Rooms are small and walls are thin.
Wifi is erratic at best.
There is a coffee shop there with minimal offerings. We tried it, but the woman working there seemed to be only interested in serving the locals. I thought I was invisible for awhile.
The Mosaic restaurant in the hotel was excellent and had a great staff.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back and there was alot of noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place had good reviews and sounded like an interesting place to stay. Staff are nice and the room was clean. The bathroom was especially clean and nice. I really liked it. The bed appeared funny when we walked in as it had lots of lumps all over it....like moguls. It was ok to sleep on though. The room smelled weird but we found the reason....potpouri in a vase on the wall. Once we stored that away in the bottom of the armoire, the room smelled fine. We were sure to put it back before we left. Our room faced the Taos Plaza and the window opened. Both of those things were nice. But, during the night, it got loud out on the plaza. I guess that's the reason there are earplugs in the room. The room temperature is controlled by the front desk and a swamp cooler. They have switches for various sections of the hotel. When our room was too cold, we tried closing the vent. Then, it was loud. I asked about it and they told me they had covers that magnet to the vents. There should be one in each room. Parking is in a dirt lot behind all the shopping. Seemed a little iffy but our car was fine in the morning. The hotel was surprisingly empty...not many guests. The location is great for shopping and dining. The hotel was cute inside and out. It even had a nice mezzanine area with games, puzzles, comfy seating and a fireplace that turns on with a switch.

Room Tip: Rooms on the plaza can be noisy at night. Rooms toward the back might be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank funsters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

If location, location, location is where you want to be, this is located adjacent to, and smack dab in the middle of Taos Plaza, with its shops and restaurants. Not the most regal of properties you might encounter in Taos the feel in very European. Small lobby and check in area. Lots of stairs and split level floors. Rooms are a bit on the small side and the bathrooms are rather smaller yet. The suite we had was comfortable with a separate living room area and pull out couch. All kinds of satellite TV channels. Very erratic wi-fi in rooms. Lobby area coffee shop that serves Starbucks coffee, but it is not a Starbucks store. Baskin-Robbins right next door. Overnight parking priced at a reasonable $6.00 night. All in all, it was a good stay in a quaint hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. It's not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank t-bonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
129 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 14 in Taos
684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Taos
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $144 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing