We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Grand Hotel in Taos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Grand Hotel in Taos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Truly one of the southwest grand hotels. La Fonda is on the plaza in Taos, has the lobby full of RC Gorman artwork and the DH Lawrence "banned" paintings (available to view, not on display) and other work from local artists, including some $30,000 pottery.
Rooms are smallish and well furnished. Nice public areas with comfy chairs and and a small library. Parking is in a private lot which is good as everything on the plaza is metered, when you can get it.
A lot of tourist attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    83
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
36
122
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I am so pleased to share this review. I stay here every time I come to Taos. The location is very central. Most of all, I appreciate being valued as a guest and treated as family. The rooms are lovely, the bed superb, the linens soft and visually appealing. No hassle parking and free beverages at the Starbucks. Security is good and the front doors are locked at night. The restaurant MOSAIC is very nice. The food is very reasonably priced and the service really good. t he wait staff and the bar staff are friendly and knowledgable...and never too pushy (Misty is the best). There is always something visually arresting to look at. The jazz at the bar is very nice. Chef George uses wonderfully fresh ingredients and the salads are almost too pretty to eat. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cashelg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling with a friend to Colorado. We decided to stay at the La Fonda..what a great place. It was nice and clean, the staff was more than friendly! We had a room over looking the square..We were very impressed! I will be staying here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There are many hotels in Taos, but only one on the square, and that is La Fonda. We stayed there on a Thursday evening three weeks ago. The first summer concert of the season was held that night. It was fun to watch the crowd and listen to the music from our room facing the square. A thunderstorm caused an early ending to the concert but I think the crowd had a good time.
The service at La Fonda was superb. There was always a person at the front desk for security and the restaurant staff was very attentive to your dining needs. The hotel room itself was pretty small as stated in earlier TA reports but it is an old hotel that has been updated. It was very clean and a fun place to stay. I was able to park outside the front door at a meter for the night rather than paying the $6.00 to park in their lot at the rear of the building. The meter was more economical than the lot and our car was under a street light.
I would recommend a stay at least once in this hotel. It is definitely worth the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed one night here in the only hotel directly on the Plaza. La Fonda is probably the best hotel in Taos. Although old, the hotel was clean and the room comfortable. Our deluxe king room was OK, but small in size and the bed average. Location is close to most art studios and shops, and there is a choice of good eating establishments within walking distance. We ate at the old Taos Inn down the main street, on the patio in back and had a great meal and good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay at Hotel La Fonda de Taos and I will be returning. It is a beautiful historic hotel with all the modern conveniences. The location is great for walks around the plaza area and adjoining neighborhoods. The stay was very nice and the coffee shop was a great place for morning coffee and a croissant.

Thanks.

Roberta P.

Room Tip: My room on the south side was quiet and had a lovely breeze through the window all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We only stayed one night at La Fonda de Taos but found it to be a very delightful and comfortable hotel. Everything was efficiently handled by the staff and the rooms were fine but obviously part of a well maintained but old, historic hotel. The rooms were perfectly acceptable even though ours were at the low end of the price scale and the lobby and the public rooms were very interesting and inviting; full of art work and colour. Being right on the plaza was a great position to explore the many shops at leisure and the Mosaic restaurant was a real treat. The food was exceptional and the staff very attentive and friendly. I would have loved to stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marylyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#11 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing