We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Fonda I am fond of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Mich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“La Fonda I am fond of”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the La Fonda Taos in May 2012. We loved it's quirky charm: similar to a small European Boutique hotel, The staff was on point at all times, friendly and very accommodating. They were mortified on our first morning when jack hammers went to work on the plaza at 6:30 am. We asked to move from our front of the hotel balcony room to somewhere in the back. we were given a lovely two room suite. The jack hammers and workmen finished in one day so not a problem, really. The free Starbucks coffee and bottled waters are a really nice amenity.

Room Tip: Balcony room was noisy and it is a shared balcony with the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    93
    34
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
138
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is the third time we've stayed at the La Fonda (nice historic Southwest ambiance). We stay there when our number of nights in Taos are fewer than necessary for renting a house or condo. We like the price, location, rooms (facing the back, not the plaza, just in case of noise). We've had queen rooms and they are small, but fine for a night or two. There is a nice sitting area in a 'loft' type space above the check in desk. Staff are pleasant. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and the breakfast burrito was great. The only problem was that wifi didn't work in our room (thick adobe walls) so you'd have to bring a computer that you could plug in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABQMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I own a restaurant in salida, Colorado and know a great place when I see it. High recommend this hotel. Great owner too

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel and has a nice Western ambiance. Steve the owner/manager went out of his way to help us out, picking us up at the airport after hours and dropping us off the next morning. Excellent restaurant, friendly staff. I would absolutely stay here again on my next trip to Taos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Fonda for a weekend night. Check-in was easy and our room was clean and quaint. The hotel gave us two complimentary wine vouchers for the restaurant/bar downstairs. The next morning the hotel let me check out late as my husband was skiing until the afternoon. They also offered a voucher for a free coffee at the attached cafe and endless free bottles of water. Conversations from downstairs carry through the vents, however the hotel does provide earplugs (in the bathrooms with other amenities).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1775DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent one night recently in this wonderful early 20th century hotel on the Taos city Plaza. The ambiance, architecture and nostalgic decor were straight out of the 1920s/30s, but with very recent renovations. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Parking, which is limited on the Plaza proper, was conveniently behind the hotel. Our room overlooked the Plaza. The only negative (and a minor one) is that the bar closed at 9pm. If we ever return to Taos, we'll be staying here again. Highly recommended. A charmer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Before we departed Las Vegas, NV (our hometown), I hLaad done extensive research online, hoping to find the perfect hotel at the perfect price.

We decided to take a chance and not book our room in Taos until we got there. Good thing we waited!!!

I had viewed photos online of La Fonda, and the room photos didn't look that great, in my opinion. We were walking around the plaza after we arrived that day, and and came across La Fonda Hotel, smack dab in the middle of the plaza. We walked in and were able to negotiate a discount rate for the one night we'd be in Taos. We were also able to negotiate free parking, which normally costs $6.

The hotel exceeded our expectations ten-fold!!! I loved this hotel, the as did my boyfriend!! The fact that a quaint chocolate shop is located directly next door was the icing on the cake! We will always have fond memories of our stay at La Fonda, and will definitely be back soon!!

PS: I rarely review places and/or things, and the fact that I loved the place so much that I wanted to share it with others, and speaks volumes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nqbelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing