We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I own a restaurant in salida, Colorado and know a great place when I see it. High recommend this hotel. Great owner too

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    93
    34
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
138
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel and has a nice Western ambiance. Steve the owner/manager went out of his way to help us out, picking us up at the airport after hours and dropping us off the next morning. Excellent restaurant, friendly staff. I would absolutely stay here again on my next trip to Taos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Fonda for a weekend night. Check-in was easy and our room was clean and quaint. The hotel gave us two complimentary wine vouchers for the restaurant/bar downstairs. The next morning the hotel let me check out late as my husband was skiing until the afternoon. They also offered a voucher for a free coffee at the attached cafe and endless free bottles of water. Conversations from downstairs carry through the vents, however the hotel does provide earplugs (in the bathrooms with other amenities).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1775DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent one night recently in this wonderful early 20th century hotel on the Taos city Plaza. The ambiance, architecture and nostalgic decor were straight out of the 1920s/30s, but with very recent renovations. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Parking, which is limited on the Plaza proper, was conveniently behind the hotel. Our room overlooked the Plaza. The only negative (and a minor one) is that the bar closed at 9pm. If we ever return to Taos, we'll be staying here again. Highly recommended. A charmer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Before we departed Las Vegas, NV (our hometown), I hLaad done extensive research online, hoping to find the perfect hotel at the perfect price.

We decided to take a chance and not book our room in Taos until we got there. Good thing we waited!!!

I had viewed photos online of La Fonda, and the room photos didn't look that great, in my opinion. We were walking around the plaza after we arrived that day, and and came across La Fonda Hotel, smack dab in the middle of the plaza. We walked in and were able to negotiate a discount rate for the one night we'd be in Taos. We were also able to negotiate free parking, which normally costs $6.

The hotel exceeded our expectations ten-fold!!! I loved this hotel, the as did my boyfriend!! The fact that a quaint chocolate shop is located directly next door was the icing on the cake! We will always have fond memories of our stay at La Fonda, and will definitely be back soon!!

PS: I rarely review places and/or things, and the fact that I loved the place so much that I wanted to share it with others, and speaks volumes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nqbelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We visited Taos the week after Christmas, 2011 and stayed at the Hotel La Fonda de Taos, which is located on the town square and within walking convenience to several shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, attractive and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Food in the hotel cafe was good. You couldn't ask for more. The one drawback is that breakfast is not served until 11:00 AM. However, you will prefer Michael's Kitchen for breakfast anyhow; Michael's has good food and great prices. For dinner, any nearby restaurants are acceptable. We ate at Doc Martin's and Grahams's, both good but not great.
Unless you ski or shop, your winter activities are probably limited to the Pueblo, the Bridge west of town and San Francisco de Asis Mission Church.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank haroldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

South West Mexican cuisine is a real find. Had dinner and all dishes were beautifully presented and with the right amount of heat. Absolutely authentic and reasonably priced. Atmosphere is rustic and very casual. Service is exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing