We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2007

The inn's web site gives an accurate view of each room and in our case, understated the amount of room we ended up having - which included a tv in the bedroom as well as the sitting room.

The room decoration made it feel like we were in New Mexico. A bonus was the GRANTA books and various travel magazines left in our room so I had a nice selection of reading material.

BUT, the stairway up to room was very narrow and the only thing worse than going up was....going down.

The inn keeper was also determined to show us everything avaialbe in the place which was nice,,,,,but she kept on answering the phone so what should have been a 5 minute tour turned into a 20 minute drag.

Breakfast was also a lovefest among the other guests, trading their present and past gourmet feasts- sorry, it just wasn't really interesting to me who abhors spending $50 for an elk steak, etc.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank wasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at La Dona Luz, in the Yellow Bird Deer room (actually more a suite, but they call it a room). It was very reasonable at 109.00 a night.

After paying more than twice that much in Santa Fe, Taos was a welcome change. We found the dining out to be just as good (if more limited) and less expensive as well. The hotel's breakfast was adequate, but it was more a deluxe continental than the typical B&B cooked breakfast we're used to.

The room, while large, had limited space for luggage. There's just SO MUCH in the room. We were also disappointed with the placement of the TV, in the corner up on the wall of the sleeping area, instead of in the sitting area which would have made more sense. We didn't feel the need to watch TV (open mike night at Doc Martin's was much more entertaining). The room also came equipped with a stereo system and DVD player which we didn't
use, either.

The location of the Inn is perfect for shopping, dining, or getting out of doors. Less than a block off the main drag, it was extremely quiet as well. We were very happy with it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank seattletravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

Not elegant but comfortable and clean. A bit noisy, we could hear every word spoken in the kitchen making it hard to sleep if they were in there. No phones or TV. No Internet. But, there are individual thermostats in the rooms. Or at least there was in our room. Continental breakfast served. Very nice people. Convenient to shops and galleries.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatherMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Interesting place, great location to the plaza and surrounding restaurants. Breakfast nothing special, great fireplaces in the rooms, jacuzzi tub was a nice touch. Room was small, and mattress too firm for my taste.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joisagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

We stayed for only one night and wish it had been longer. The staff provided personable and helpful service. We felt like we were in our own home away from home. The historic location, the beautiful artwork and collectibles displayed throughout gave us a feel for the real Taos experience. Our room was the Madonna room. It had it's own private entry via spiral staircase. The breakfast room is next to a pretty little courtyard. All the comforts of home are provided. The rooms were clean and very cozy. The adobe fireplace was already set up for us to light a
welcoming fire. Breakfast is simple and healthy. The location is great. Walk one block and you are on the main square. Marvelous shops and dining options all nearby. We hope to return in spring!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

My husband and I visit Taos several times each year and always look forward to staying at La Doña Luz. The rooms are charming and filled with Southwestern art and antiquities: our recent week's stay in the Angelitos room was most comfortable. The staff is friendly, helpful, and courteous; the location is excellent, less than one block from the Taos plaza and within easy walking distance of most Taos sights. Fellow guests are always interesting, often from other countries. An excellent value in all respects.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMNativo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

When they say the stairway is steep, believe them! Narrow spiral stairway to the 3rd floor is difficult to navigate with a suitcase in tow. Room was nicely decorated and clean. Definitely an experience for the travellor wanting to experience "Old" New Mexico. I opted to forego the breakfasts and eat a full breakfast at Michael's up the main road. This B&B is centrally located in the historic district of town, directly across the street from Kit Carson's house/museum and within easy walking distance of the Taos Plaza and stores. The major detraction was the lack of Internet connectivity, but the plaza had a wireless area available during shopping hours. There are more modern accommodations available in the area, but for the experience of staying in an historic adobe dwelling from yesteryear, it was certainly worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,279 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#3 of 23 in Taos
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing