We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, Friendly, Idiosyncratic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2005

We stayed at La Dona Luz for two nights with our two sons (aged 7 and 4). On our American holiday we tried Luxury chain hotels, trendy boutique hotels, everything; but in Taos we opted for La Dona Luz - on the internet site it just looked like a really cute and fun B&B. It was!

We took the Madonna suite. It was charming.

Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank georgesdelatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 345 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed May 2, 2005

This is NOT our idea of a good bed and breakfast! Although the location was good (actually the best part of it), the food was unbelieveably bad, and the room looked like it hadn't been upgraded since the place was built! You can do much better in Taos.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2004

We spent 3 nights at the Dona Luz Inn and had a really great time! The location is great - right in the center of things, and it was nice not to have to hunt for a parking spot downtown. The decor is nice and the folks are friendly (although not intrusive). Although the inn shows its age (it is a historic inn) in certain places, overall the inn is well maintained, and our bed was comfortable. There is a nice selection of videos downstairs, cable television, and a refrigerator and tea/coffee maker in the room. The air conditioning system was a bit peculiar in our room (we needed to leave a window open when we had the air conditioner on because it caused a vacuum in the room?), but seemed to work fine. Breakfast is not extravagent, but a nice selection of cereals and breads, some homemade yogurt, and some fruit (generally defrosted berries, and some fresh fruit). For the price, comfort level, and location it is a great deal for the area, although it is not super luxurious.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2004

My husband and I had only one night to stay in Taos so I did a lot of research trying to find an authentic and wonderful place. I chose La Dona Luz and splurged on the most expensive room that had a private rooftop jacuzzi. We loved the time we spent under the stars looking down on Taos, sipping champagne and watching the snowflakes fall (the temp. in the jacuzzi was perfect!) Our room was incredible, two stories of perfectly clean and wonderfully comfortable decor and artifacts - truly this place is both a museum and an incredible experience. In all ways I found it to be a bargain. I loved our simple breakfast and the wonderful conversation shared with the staff. I was so interested in this place the delightful lady at the front desk took my husband and I on a tour of all of the rooms (the place was virutally empty in early December.) We will be going back with our two kids this October - this is a perfect place for a family to spread out - there are quite a few rooms able to accommodate four or more people. If you like art, especially folk art, you have to check this place out - it's an artistic explosion! I love to travel and have stayed in all kinds of places all over the world; few compare to the experience this wonderful, funky place provides. If you like to really experience your environment and create wonderful memories, check it out!

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theresebrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas
14
Reviewed July 13, 2003

My wife and I weren't quite sure what to expect when we checked into this eclectic B&B, but it certainly reflected the romance of the area.
Our room (La Dona Luz) had a fascinating decor and the ancient/old (no new!) ambiance really set us in the mood for the "relaxed" part of our vacation. Old Taos is an artist colony and mexican/US outpost attached to a pueblo in a very beautiful, high-desert landscape. It seems to live in its own time zone (is there really no Navajo word for "hurry"?) and La Dona Luz beautifully reflects both this and the residents' (native and transplanted) love of art.

A real beauty, but if you're looking for a nice, quaint, NewEngland sort of B&B, go someplace else.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2003

For anyone considering a stay in Taos, the B&B to stay at is La Dona Luz. You'll get the feel of old Taos...not only is the building historic but the rooms are decorated with authentic artifacts and original artwork which really make them cozy. The owners themselves are a part of Taos history...and they're real friendly.

What other B&B has their own trading post and museum? Talk about convenient, it's half a block from the historic Taos Plaza in the heart of town. You get all this and for less than the other B&Bs in Taos!

Despite what some other reviewer says, the plastic plates and bowls used to serve breakfast do nothing to take away from the charm of this wonderful inn.

4  Thank QuartzSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2003

When one thinks of a Bed & Breakfast, one thinks of a cozy, comfortable room and a well prepared home cooked breakfast. Well, if that is what you had in mind, think again when it comes to La Dona Luz. Their room was good-had a fireplace. Their breakfast was the most basic continental breakfast (cereal out of a box, canned bagel, yogurt and canned fruit) served on a plastic plate and in a plastic bowl. My advice: Skip this B&B and stay at the Hampton Inn for half the price.

10  Thank neo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,278 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#3 of 23 in Taos
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing