We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Memorial Day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Memorial Day!”
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed here on accident! After checking out of our other hotel this property was the only one in Taos that had a room available after a cancellation. The first night of our stay we stayed in one of the main building rooms upstairs. Our room was beautiful and had a nice bathroom. It would be good for a history buff or someone looking for historic rooms. The second night we moved into a room in the courtyard. It was more modern and had an incredibly nice bathroom (on par with a new westin). Our housekeepers moved all of our luggage between the rooms for us so we didn't have to hang around. The service was continuosly excellent. If you are looking for a more luxurious room as opposed to historic I would recommend the rooms in Helen's House (an addition to the inn). The atmosphere was amazing, live band and lots of socializing. When booking get on the taos inn website because after you click on accomodations you can click on a room number and see a picture that specific room. Then you can book that room, not just a type of room! The other reviews are outdated. After spending several days in Taos we found this to be the best hotel there!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lauriemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    415
    140
    57
    23
See reviews for
204
666
90
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prosper Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We just returned from a ski vacation in Taos, and stayed at the Historic Taos Inn, and we just LOVED IT! It was the essence of Taos, in that it had character, charm, and lots of ambiance! We stayed in one of the renovated courtyard rooms, and the bathroom was beautiful with all new fixtures, pretty marble, a good sized shower, and a very oversized sink with a pewter faucet. We had a smaller room, but it had a beautiful black metal canopy bed, and a get this, a good sized Sharp plasma tv on the wall by the bed, that had great reception! I didn't have anything like that while staying at the Ritz in Florida! Now it isn't the Ritz, but doesn't purport to be. There was a wood burning corner kiva fireplace, which had the wood replenished each day by the the maid. The Adobe Bar at the inn was quite the place! Each evening around 6:30 they had different featured musicians. One day there was a jazz band, wth a good saxophonist, and the next day there was a Celtic musician, the next day there was a folk band, etc. The electic people coming in were so cool, as the locals hang out there, meaning the artsy type, the diverse types, but then also the tourists. You have to see what I mean to understand, but it was ultra-cool. The inn's restaurant , Doc Martin's, is quite well-known, and very good as well, and had lots of offerings, including organic items for those that enjoy that sort of food. The other food was good too, though a bit pricey. My husband tried the buffalo, not my cup of tea, but he said it was good. Skiers were there from all over, including a Japanese contigency, and a group from London, I think. All and all the weather was great, the skiing was good, and coming back down the mountain to the historic part of town where all of the stuff was going on at night proved to be a great choice! If you look on their website, you can see exactly what your room will look like, and can ask specifically for the room you need. Next time I would like to try the area called Helen's House, as this is a brand new group of eight rooms, with a fireplace that turns on with a flick of a switch. If you want action, get one of the older though charming rooms in the main building. I think that if you stay in Taos, and love all of the adobe thing going on like I do, then you can not go wrong with the Historic Taos Inn!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smallness of room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank judyfairProsperTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We had never been to Taos before this weekend. I had checked out this website for places to stay and not to stay. Before logging off at work on Thursday, I read about Doc. Martin's as being the place to eat and drink. Once we arrived in Taos, we parked and started walking to check out the town. We looked up and saw Doc. Martin's, the place I had read about. I highlly recommend this place!! Apparently, Doc Martin's is the restaurant for the Taos Inn. Just what we needed, a great place to eat and stay.

The hotel has a new section that has just opened and we got one of the new rooms, Room #402. When we walked in it looked great, just what we wanted a place within walking distance to everything and the room was very nice with a fireplace lit at the push of the button, nice linens and plush towels. Our only complaint was that our room's built in blinds wouldn't close, remember, this was the first time they had rented the room and they weren't aware of this problem, when we told them about the blinds they were very helpful and offered us a discount. The bed was great, it felt like home.

The location is only steps away from all of the restaurants and galleries. They had a great band playing at the Taos Inn from 7-10. The next day we had breakfast at Doc Martin's and our waitress recommended an egg dish with a sweet potato biscuit that was delicious! Great suggestion.

My recommedation: Stay at the Taos Inn and enjoy eating at Doc Martin's! We enoyed our stay, thanks to Eric and the staff at Doc Martin's!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
16 Thank Dianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2006

A friend of mine booked a block of rooms at this inn for her wedding guests which were coming from out of town and across the country. The Inn didn't bother to inform her, or any of her guests that the Inn and courtyard were under construction and that the construction would run from 8am every weekday. We did get a discount rate on our room, for the inconvenience, but they should have informed us ahead of time about the construction. The pool is closed, unfilled. The airconditioning unit in our room was so loud it startled us every time it came on. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, but if we didn't have a discounted rate, we would've been very disappointed in the room for the amount of money they wanted to charge. The bar and restaurant are very good and there is friendly service in both. I have mixed feelings about the Inn and am not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I made reservations for this hotel in April after I reviewed there internet site. On the internet the rooms and Inn looked great. When we arrived late May, the rooms were terrible and smelled. The Inn was under construction, the pool was not even filled. I would not recommed this place to stay for anyone. It's old and smells.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

The whole place is under construction. It is at this time a shambles. The best I can say for it is that it was clean. The only unpleasant person we met on a week's vaction in New Mexico was a desk clerk at the "Historic Taos Inn." It was $140 and not worth half that. Maybe in 2 or 3 years it might be rebuilt and liveable.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittykat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2006

My wife and I just spent 4 days at this establishment. Several friends had suggested we stay there. They were right. We found the staff friendly, rooms cozy and comfortable and the food at Doc Martin's really terrific. We had a upstairs room in the main part of the hotel. Every evening there was live entertainment in the Adobe Bar. All very good in their own right. After skiing all day we only visited the bar for a few momments each evening, then retiring to our room while enjoying the music eminating from the bar below.
We found that even with the noise from the bar really loud as we walked through the lobby. Once you closed your room door (90%) of the noise was filtered out, leaving just the music to listen too until closing which was around 9:45 each evening.
The only downside items we encountered was the limited parking on some days. I think this will correct itself eventually as they are going through an extensive rehabilitation of the Courtyard rooms. The other was the price of the items on the menu at Doc Martin's. While very tasty. There are other establishments in town just as good, but less expensive
We do plan to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank pdooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
623 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing