We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Several years ago, I made reservations at the Inn, paid a deposit and got a written confirmation in the mail. My wife and I drove all day (14 hours) and when we arrived, the desk clerk informed us that they "didn't have any rooms left". I asked for the manager and was told he was not at the inn, and the clerk would not call him. I was left with no options, and the clerk did not offer to assist us in any way. It made me so angry, I hold a grudge to this day. Don't go here. Ever.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redleg0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

Funky & friendly. Staff is marvelous (they were helpful at check-in, check-out, and were gracious about delivering room-service dinner in a snowstorm); good restaurant (breakfast!) in the lobby; great lobby bar for a nightcap. If you like your hotels brand new or prefer a completely anonymous hotel experience (which, admittedly, is occasionally appealing), Historic Taos Inn probably isn't for you. If you prefer atmosphere + comfort and charm, you'll love this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wstrnedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The Inn is located in the heart of downtown Taos and is in walking distance of many attractions. The rooms are charming and clean and the service was friendly. The Inn is connected to Doc Martin's and the Adobe Bar, which are two great places to wine and dine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusandChlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Historic Taos Inn is a landmark worth patronizing. The perfect location for walking around Taos, the Inn is situated in a series of old buildings. The on-site restaurant, Doc Martin's, is good and the bar is crowded with patrons and locals listening to live music. This is an expensive place--go to hang out and not just for a place to stay. But, if you want to immerse yourself in the Taos scene, this is a good place to hang your hat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

we booked room 312 (in the courtyard) just a few days before leaving to taos, and we were welcomed by some very friendly people. the place is old, but that is what we liked about it. the courtyard is very peaceful, and a great place to sit outside and relax. our room was clean and quiet. in the evening there was music at the adobe bar and overall there was a very friendly and festive atmosphere. we had breakfast at doc martin's (the inn's restaurant), and loved their yam scones. oh i loved the little table in the little room in the corner with the french doors/windows on the neon sign side of the restaurant. it was hard to leave. the only two things that were not perfect: our mattress was a bit saggy, and the night light outside our door shone on my face quite brightly through the colored glass that was on the door, which can be a bit unpleasant when you are trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I just returned from an annual weekend stay at the Taos Inn. What can I say...this place is so charming. I prefer the older rooms, which have been recently updated, for their charm and comfort. The staff is pleasant. Doc Martin's the onsite restaraunt never lets me down. Not too kid friently, however, but romantic and a great quiet, comfortable place to stay while in Taos. A block from the historic plaza and walking distance to many restaraunts and shops. A must stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveloversw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

After hearing for years about what a great place the Historic Taos Inn was I finally had the chance to experience it for myself. What a wonderful hotel. It's romantic, historic and charming. Our room had recently been remodeled and it was lovely with a fireplace and nice sitting area. The staff was very accommodating and at night the bar in the hotel was the busiest place in town. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tallyholiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
675 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing