We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
347 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Location and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Historic Taos Inn is a landmark worth patronizing. The perfect location for walking around Taos, the Inn is situated in a series of old buildings. The on-site restaurant, Doc Martin's, is good and the bar is crowded with patrons and locals listening to live music. This is an expensive place--go to hang out and not just for a place to stay. But, if you want to immerse yourself in the Taos scene, this is a good place to hang your hat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    380
    127
    48
    23
See reviews for
182
598
79
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saint louis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

we booked room 312 (in the courtyard) just a few days before leaving to taos, and we were welcomed by some very friendly people. the place is old, but that is what we liked about it. the courtyard is very peaceful, and a great place to sit outside and relax. our room was clean and quiet. in the evening there was music at the adobe bar and overall there was a very friendly and festive atmosphere. we had breakfast at doc martin's (the inn's restaurant), and loved their yam scones. oh i loved the little table in the little room in the corner with the french doors/windows on the neon sign side of the restaurant. it was hard to leave. the only two things that were not perfect: our mattress was a bit saggy, and the night light outside our door shone on my face quite brightly through the colored glass that was on the door, which can be a bit unpleasant when you are trying to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I just returned from an annual weekend stay at the Taos Inn. What can I say...this place is so charming. I prefer the older rooms, which have been recently updated, for their charm and comfort. The staff is pleasant. Doc Martin's the onsite restaraunt never lets me down. Not too kid friently, however, but romantic and a great quiet, comfortable place to stay while in Taos. A block from the historic plaza and walking distance to many restaraunts and shops. A must stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveloversw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

After hearing for years about what a great place the Historic Taos Inn was I finally had the chance to experience it for myself. What a wonderful hotel. It's romantic, historic and charming. Our room had recently been remodeled and it was lovely with a fireplace and nice sitting area. The staff was very accommodating and at night the bar in the hotel was the busiest place in town. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tallyholiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2010

we came in and had to wait over check-in time for room to be ready. We both have knee issues and were given a room upstairs, no elevator, and to top if off...very lively music (acid country rock) until late....also for the price...room was TINY..didn't even have a table...i can only recommend this hotel for party-goers

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radicalchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

so this is my first time in Taos, after seeing the town, I believe that the Historic Taos Inn is genuine. It really hits a fun spot as well because they have live entertainment every single night!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMUfrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

the Taos Inn is bang in the centre of Taos, a very lively, arty, quirky town surrounded by beautiful mountains and countryside. we arrived in Taos late afternoon, drove past the Inn assuming it would be very expensive from its appearance and location. we stopped for a margarita in the patio at the front and enquired about rooms and rates and were shown a 'basic' room by a very friendly helpful staff member. when he told us the rate, which was very reasonable, we liked the room so much we took it for 2 nights. at that point he told us he liked us and showed us a courtyard room, at the back of the complex, and offered it to us have it for the price of the basic. this was obviously a smart business move on his part because the inn is not just a place to stay, it has a bar, a restaurant, live bands and open mic, and is lively and clearly an attraction for the interesting locals as well as travellers. it is also close to downtown shops, galleries coffee houses and restaurants. the room itself was amazing : massive bed with lovely clean crisp linen, modern quirky decor, a lovely big power shower with unlimited red-hot water, and loads of space to spread out. it also had an open fireplace, which was great considering how chilly it can get at night here in april. although the Inn is situated bang in the heart of Taos, many of the rooms are set back from the main road and ours was very quiet and beautifully situated in a lovely courtyard.
overall, this place was fantastic value, and is so much more than just a place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,116 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
569 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing