We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The inn was a great place to stay in Taos- lovely authentic buildings, we had one of the cheapest rooms but it was still really nice. It was next to the restaurant and patio area but we didn't notice any noise. Great margaritas out on the patio bar, and a very lively open mic night of live music. Seems to be a real social hub in the evenings. Staff exceptionally friendly- initially they couldn't find out reservation but immediately sorted the issue and charged our expected rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oishiocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

If your looking for a good location, this is the spot. If you want a nice relaxing room with good staff and clean rooms, not the place. The room was comical, it was sinking. The floor sloped at least 15 inches from one side of the room to the other. So much that I slid across the bed. The staff was all blahh, like I was bothering them by staying there. The worst being the tall short blond haired front desk lady in the morning. Over the top rude, highlighted by sighs and eye rolls with every snap and bark that came out of her nasty mouth. If you not a morning person, don't work in a hotel. Go hide in the hole you should have stayed in until your ready to function as a real human being.
Don't do it. Your better off in your car.
Stay somewhere else and go there for there bar and music.

Room Tip: Here is a great tip, stay somewhere else. Only go for happy hour and music at there bar. Then go s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love staying at the Taos Inn when ever I get a chance to go to this beautiful town. My only issue with the motel is the ancient window AC that was pretty loud, so loud that I had to turn it off. Otherwise I appreciate that they are trying to preserve the classic feel of the motel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great location in center of Taos...one block from Plaza. Room was just the right size and cozy with kiva fireplace and exposed beam ceilings. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Doc Martin's restaurant in the hotel was very good as we had a breakfast and dinner during our two night stay. We stayed in the Helen's house room 405 which was the newer part of the hotel towards the back...very quiet. Would recommend and stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GHDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loud! Dominated by Neo-Taosenos (Texas / California immigrant Taoseno want-to-be's). Actually have the audacity to not only delete the Fox News Channel from their cable TV lineup, but their internet service gateway actually "restricts" access to Fox News online. If you stay here, you're an idiot. Liberal or Conservative, this behavior, especially from a service related business, can not and should not be tolerated! I live in Taos two to four months each year. I assure you, the Sagebrush Inn on the south side of town, while being less convenient, is a much better value and a much more relaxing environment. Don't stay at the Taos Inn ... unless you're an Obama worshiper. If you are, then you'll fit right in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved the Taos Inn. We stayed in the Sandoval house and loved the room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We hung out in the patio area where we had a great view of the Main Street and good people watching. I'd recommend the 'small' (which was huge) prime rib nachos. It was plenty for two. You could also hear the live band really well on the patio. Very pleasant evening. If we make it back to Taos we would stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Old inn, but options exist for newer buildings. We stayed in the back of the courtyard....so it was very quiet. Super location for visiting the old plaza and walking around old town. Lots of options for eating and shopping.

Room Tip: Back of the courtyard is quieter....there are also newer rooms in separate buildings. Be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dwlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $93 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing