We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taos Historic Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Taos Historic Inn”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fun people and great atmosphere. Enjoyed the bar and the music and the location of the hotel was perfect for walking around. No pool or spa. Really not a town for kids. We did drive out to the Rio Grand gorge bridge which our two boys enjoyed. We enjoyed the Taos Diner for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mde504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    400
    130
    54
    23
See reviews for
188
629
87
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What a special place. 4 of us ladies and our 3 year old shared one large room with a fireplace and it was great. Loved having coffee in the lobby in the morning, and the food at the bar and Doc's was outrageously good! Great fun lively bar music scene in the evenings with locals, and the staff were so helpful. I'd make this a destination!

Room Tip: Call the staff and discuss options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank julsmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed in author Daoma "Dee" Strasburg's room. Very nice. After a great and well prepared dinner at Doc Martin's restauarant the evening continued to listen to live music in the bar area, Relaxing to sit and be served here. Breakfast very tasty and great. Lovely experience for two nights here in Taos.

Room Tip: Enjoy the live music in the bar and a great dinner at Doc Martin's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stay at the Taos Inn many times over the years. We come to Taos once or twice a year to Ski and love to stay there. We like the bar, music and being able to have breakfast in the morning at Doc Martins so close to our room. The rooms can be small, but that's part of the charm. This is the "Historic Taos Inn" built many, many years ago. Great place for a couple. We plan to go back many times, hope they stay around forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely experience in Taos at the Historic Taos Inn. Husband and I went for a late Christmas present the week of Feb 3 to Feb 8. Had a room in the quiet courtyard, king bed, kiva fireplace, etc. Comfortable and warm, just what we needed to wind down at the end of the day. Had a birthday while there and the Adobe Bar treated me to a free cocktail! Very sweet of them and made my day. It was our base as we explored the Ski Valley and the casinos, shopping and sites in the area. Second time to stay here, will stay here again. The bathroom is small, but not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Always get a room in the courtyard (unless you prefer gas fireplaces, then go with one of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kamac2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

friendly, fun inn -good music and margheritas
accommodation was a cute little adobe room, perhaps a little expensive, but a lovely atmospheric place to stay with adobe fireplace in the corner of the room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Siegrun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
335 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and is wonderfully historic. The staff is very good. The room has a good size and a wonderful kiva fireplace in the corner. The room's furniture was oddly rococo and didn't really fit a southwest adobe theme. The bed was a little noisy and not that comfortable. There were two paintings that were really not in keeping with the room. Blank walls would have worked better. I'd stay again, but I think some changes could make this a better experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing