We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, had character, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our room was clean, comfortable and had a charming fireplace, but no other amenities. There is no coffee maker, no tea, just glasses for tap water. The bathroom was very cold and had no heater. The hotel itself seemed good-people are friendly and they have a nice bar/lounge area with live music. We did not sample the food but heard it was good. Location is good too. Our particular room was also well sited as we were near the parking lot so not affected by the live music.

Room Tip: ask for one in the back if you don't want to hear noise from music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bskinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Bskinow-

We are of course disappointed to hear of such an underwhelming assessment, as we are usually hit with more of a "wow this is special" at check-out, which is certainly what we strive for. Your general comment about your perception of the amenities available is helpful, though difficult to address without more specificity. We are currently looking at changes in our linen presentation across all accommodations, and improvements in lighting options where they are needed. We understand that "luxury" is a cumulative experience of sensing abundance, beauty and care, with our guest's needs anticipated. There are many elements of a room that communicate such a feeling.

The lack of a coffee maker in the room is a conscious choice. We provide a much better locally roasted complimentary coffee and tea service in our lobby than could be made available in our rooms, which are all in short walking distance. We also find that such in room coffee and tea products are mediocre at best.

We would be open to hearing of your experience in more detail, should you be wiling to contact us directly.

Christopher Smith, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I love this place and no matter what, I stay there when visiting the Taos area. They have great music every evening and a very friendly group of locals that hang out there. The location is a block from the Main plaza, walking distance to the best of Taos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amazinggrace507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I've stayed here a number of times over the years--and I always love it. The rooms can vary, and it can be noisy because of the bar below. But the excitement is also part of the appeal. The bar/lobby is always bustling, there's live music and plenty of locals. And the restaurant has a great breakfast brunch on the weekends.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the potential for noise, stay in the main part of the hotel. If you know you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralee449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We reserved room 101 on the ground floor behind the bar. A little adventurous with two small kids but hey, why not. Upon arrival, the room was a bit dank but clean. We hung around a bit in the room but I snuck out to try one of the "famous" buddha cowboy margheritas...at $9.95, a bit steep for what ya got...switched to draft brews which were really nice. We left for dinnner but came back in time for the music...wow! Two guys from Santa Fe playing Mexican folk music on a gut string guitar and fiddle...the vocal harrmonies were really great! We sat on the couch with the kids in the lounge and had a great evening!

Room Tip: Further back from the road the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

While this hotel is centrally located and the rooms are updated, there are a few issues that made this review a 2 star rather than a 3 or 4 star review. 1) The wireless didn't really work. I hate when there's free wireless but then it has limited access; 2) In the middle of the night I woke up from the smokey smell coming into my room. It seems that if someone else is using the in-room fireplace and the fire goes out or something like that, the smell of smoke seeps into other rooms; 3) there is a little window in the door that overlooks the courtyard lighting. If one likes to sleep in total darkness, this makes for a sleepless night. Another reviewer suggested the Courtyard room instead of the rooms near the bar and restaurant and that was a good suggestion, but the windows overlooking the parking lot in the back seem a little unsafe. You can't really open your window at night and feel safe. That was a problem because the heat was on full blast and turning down the thermostat didn't seem to make a difference. BUT bar and bar entertainment was great so I do recommend coming there in the evening for dinner and music. Oh - coffee in the lobby; no breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are probably quietest but try not to get one that has windows overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verycriticaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I spent a night with my wife at the Historic Taos Inn in February 2014.

Our room was in the Sandoval House (Room 206). The furnishings were a bit dated (burn mark in chase lounge, bedding and bed were old) but overall the room was comfortable and very nicely decorated (not your standard chain hotel furnishings). We had a fireplace, which was supplied with starter pack and wood. The fire was a nice touch but it set off our fire alarm immediately and we had to have front desk come to room to assist in turning off. The biggest issue we had with the room was the water pressure in the shower. It was weak, almost a sprinkle. Really, the worst water pressure I’ve had in a hotel. In addition, the temperature fluctuated throughout.

The hotel staff we encountered were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel offers free parking right behind the hotel, free wifi and a bar/restaurant. There was a great happy hour with live music in the lobby that started at 4pm.

The Historic Taos Inn is located just off Taos Plaza and walkable to ton of shopping, art and dining. We were able to walk everywhere.

One star off for the water pressure and dated bedding. Otherwise, this is a very cool hotel in a great town. I recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is actually a collection of buildings and is very historic. Our room was located around a courtyard, was quaint and had a kiva in the corner. The ceilings were low but my husband who is 6 ft 3 had no problem with it. It is in a perfect location as you can just walk down the street to the Plaza and be in the heart of things. I would not want to be in the main building in one of the rooms near the bar as there is live music and it is probably noisy. The musicians there were very good. The room gets a bit hot at night.
However to me, this hotel was overpriced for what you got when I compare it to our hotel in Sante Fe where we had newer rooms, a great location, and an excellent buffet breakfast for less money. However I would not be afraid to stay here if location was important to you or if you wanted a nice clean place to stay. The rooms were older which gave them a certain charm but I feel they should reduce the price as this was the most expensive hotel I had in New Mexico.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 14 in Taos
684 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Taos
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $87 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing