We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Not a Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Great Location but Not a Great Value”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place is a great location but a little expensive for what it is. We were pleasantly greeted and the staff is very nice. The pillows are hard and the beds are not super comfortable. It was nice enough - but I have stayed in much nicer places for less han what they charge. We were on the end of the unit and the noise of cars coming in and out of the parking area all night was quite disruptive.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms that are adjacent to the parking lot (which is in back on the east side (far ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Viviette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    387
    129
    51
    23
See reviews for
185
610
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Historic Taos Inn is a great place to stay with a kind of Old town charm to it with really good margaritas. The staff is friendly and the rooms are all very unique. A fun place to stay with lots of New Mexico charm. Location is right in the middle of everything that is happening in Taos. A must stay at least once.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bwfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A group of friends and I stay here every Super Bowl weekend for skiing, shopping and site seeing. Taos Inn would be like any other well ran hotel except for the fact of the live music in the lobby every evening. This is high quality music in a intimate setting. Drinks can be served directly to you as well as a great menu to order from. Property is old but that's what gives it character. The staff is great, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Court yard is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank trchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Price was ridiculous. I had to pay $40 more to assure we didn't trash the room. I never got the money back and all we did was sleep there.... well actually we didn't the heater was broken and on all night. we were unable to sleep because of how hot it was and when we told the managers about it they laughed and said it's better than being cold. Everyone at the hotel was rude, and I will never stay there again. It was hard to open door and the smaller than a closet room was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunniep11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear sunniep11-

We are very disappointed to hear of your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can make it right. Since more than three weeks have passed, I would appreciate your letting me know more specifically of your service interactions, so that they may be addressed immediately.

I'm perplexed by your feedback regarding the heat issues in room 201, as I have been unable to replicate. It is functioning as it is set up to perform, as an on demand gas heater with a controllable thermostat. I turned it on and off several times without any problems, or instances of noise outside of a little clicking in the metal when it expands, but nothing that would keep someone awake!!

I am also confused about your claim regarding $40 "for trashing the room" and that this was not returned. Per our records of your folio, as with all customers, an authorization was processed in the amount of $50 for incidentals incurred. We hardly anticipate, nor expect, nor have a charge for guests "trashing the room". Your bank would have removed this hold on your account shortly after your stay. This is not a charge. You did have a dinner that was roughly $40 and charged to your room, and paid at check-out. By chance have you confused the two transactions?

I can be reached at csmith@taosinn.com.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nice lounge, mediocre restaurant in a quaint downtown setting. But the room was awful-small, quaint but dated, with uncomfortable furniture. The bathroom was tiny and no tub. The shower head barely provided water and setting the temperature was an ordeal.

I don't recommend this inn and will not return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear jim p,

Thanks for your feedback on value and amenities. After some review into your reservation, I was surprised to hear of such disappointment, as you were booked in room 305, which is one of our larger king rooms with a fireplace in the courtyard. And unfortunately, there would not have been anything larger that we could have upgraded you into. In a historic adobe, while there is much we can and have upgraded in terms of amenities, we can not alter the structure or walls of the building. We are a registered historic landmark, and our bound by certain provisions. Once the room becomes unoccupied, we will certainly look into and fix where necessary your concern about shower control!

Should you have a change of heart, it might behoove you to check out our rooms in the Helen's House, as they are more contemporary in design and may be more appropriate for your needs. Most of our guest's like the experience of history we preserve, but this should never be at the expense of amenities and appointments feeling "antiquated".

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to speak further about your experience.

Christopher Smith
csmith@taosinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Since I lived in Northern New Mexico, and had a 100 year old adobe home, my title is made from experience. There is something unique about an adobe building. I've heard many statements about them as living entities that die when not inhabited. The Historic Taos Inn has been maintained with love and care as a result it's soul is a viable thing. I was there during a slow period and stayed in the main building. I had no problems with noise. My room was quaint and comfortable, just as pictured on the website. I found all staff members of the hotel, bar and restaurant to be friendly, helpful and professional.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Inn was a fine place to stay in Taos during September. The room was clean and very attractive and the assistance from the staff was excellent and friendly. The Inn was close to shopping and the Inn's restaurant provided a very good meal.

Room Tip: We followed the advice of others to choose a quitter room away from te evening entertainment in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert12203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing