We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place To Stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our first time in Taos and we found the Taos Inn to be the right place to be for our brief stay at Christmas. Staff was excellent and accommodating. The lobby decorations were great. The food at Doc Martins was superb. Our room of the courtyard which was quiet, well furnished, spacious, and came with a fireplace. The Inn is centrally located and very close to the Plaza.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are excellent. Also away from the Adobe Bar so they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    410
    133
    55
    23
See reviews for
202
648
90
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I love this place as it is a block off the plaza and most everything is walking distance. The staff feel is helpful hipster as they do their best to answer questions and facilitate an enjoyable stay. My room had a fireplace which was stocked with wood and easy to use since they included a packet that ensures a blazing fire. The bulidings are rustic as I imagine you would expect coming to the historic town center. The lobby Christmas decor is wonderfully done and compliments the wood floors, wrought iron, rustic furniture and exposed timber. It isn't the Grand Hyatt, but if that's what you're seeking I can't imagine why you're in Taos.

The Wi-Fi wasn't working the first 36 hours of my stay, so I was forced to head towards the plaza and found refuge in a coffee shop to take an early morning conference call for which I needed internet access. We had ants in the bathroom, which didn't bother me, but my gal wasn't impressed.

I look forward to staying here again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms that enter into the lobby will be noisy as live music is performed regularly. Many rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EAChinchilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Taos Inn is where I will ALWAYS stay when I visit this beautiful gem of a city. Friendly staff, locals hang out at the bar in the lobby, and there is always great music.
Love the food in at Doc's.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Taos Inn in twice. The location, staff and overall experience is what you hope to find in Taos. The live entertainment in the main hotel is the finest around. The rooms are truly historic in nature, a great value and well appointed, with the boutique, intimidate feel we had in mind this ski trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bgladu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at the Taos Inn - good rates and hopping place for drinks and music. Rooms in the main building are small (friends had one with no fireplace and little room) and can be noisy. We had a room in the adjacent building - very quiet, fireplace and able to keep the light out in the early morning. We slept in and did not realize it had gotten so late - nice when you're not on a schedule. Great location to walk around town/square.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, don't stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Comfortable rooms within walking distance from the plaza; we've stayed at this inn for 20 years. Although they are not pet-friendly, this hotel has remained a favorite. Doc Martin's restaurant is usually quite good. Their menu on our last visit was lackluster and their desserts were extremely disappointing, but they still have a great bar. The good news is our favorite, Lambert's, has moved to the plaza, just a short walk from the hotel. Good points are the hot water in the rooms is almost instantaneous and doesn't run out during long showers, the rooms although with leaky old windows, have good heat and fireplaces, and they have free parking within the hotel lot. Bad points are the hotel charges $7 per day for extra wood for your fireplace in excess of what the housekeeper provides in the morning and the rooms do not have coffee makers. In the winter, this means you must walk outdoors in single digit weather for your morning cup.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400's (Helen's House) have separate shower/toilet from sink/mirror. Those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarpleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here twice this year and both times were good. The location is great. The staff are friendly and interesting to talk with. At night they have music in the lobby area and I have heard good performances both times I stayed there this year. Doc Martin's right off the lobby is a very nice place to eat, quiet and great food. This made it a perfect location for my business dinner meetings.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are nice, parking in the back provides easy access to those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing