We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great place with lots of history! So convenient with the bar and restaurant right there, both of which were excellent. Staff super friendly and helpful. Beautiful courtyards outside the rooms except in the main part where the rooms overlook the lobby. Right downtown so you can walk everywhere. If you want to be where the action is, a good place to relax, delicious food and drinks, and a piece of local history, this is your place! You can settle in and spend all your time here if you want. Don't even need a car to get around.
An added little surprise is the awesome shampoo, lotion, etc!
The only complaint I have is that the bed in our room (203) was not the most comfortable although it was tolerable. However, the pillows were pretty bad. Both of these things were worth all the other pluses of the wonderful place but if the owners wanted to make it absolutely perfect I would upgrade these.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Also recommend the Cowboy Bhudda margaritas!

Room Tip: We loved room 203 even though the mattress and pillows weren't the most comfortable. It was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 734Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spend summers in Angel Fire. Decided to have a night out in Taos. It was wonderful!
Nice accommodations in great location. Food and service were also great.
The history of the inn is interesting. Be sure to read it.

We'll stay there again. Lunch is great also. Be sure to have the chili rellenos.

Room Tip: Note: I would not stay in the main building. The buildings behind are quiet and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper22683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are expecting anything modern, this may not be your hotel. We stayed for the Mumford concert and loved it. Old world charm is what we expected and it certainly upheld our expectations. We had a spacious room with a fireplace, sofa, and king Bed overlooking a well manicured courtyard. We sat on our porch sipping wine and watching the rain fall just before the concert. The entire town and inn were very crowded. The inn was next door to the venue and all the people in line waiting for the rain to clear were packing the inn resturaunt and bar, but, they still made space for us. Great service. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed here many times and will continue to stay here when we visit Taos. It is a little pricey but worth it to sleep in a piece of history. Very good food and live music every night! It is located within easy walking distance to many attractions and restaraunts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFdgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Taos Inn. I returned for the charm, location and music. My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed the food and entertainment in the bar/lobby. A great locals scene especially on open mic Monday. If you want to get a feel for the real Taos this is the place. A friend told me Michael Martin Murphy is the owner. Maybe that's why they have quality live music every night. Its not the Ritz but its uniqueness is unlike any other hotel you might find. You can stay in the old Inn or in numerous rooms behind the Inn surrounding quiet courtyards. We choose a back courtyard room for that reason. Everything in the historic district is an easy walk away. Except for a short delay in getting the heat going (early Sept cold snap) we had no problems.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear courtyards are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are expecting anything modern, this may not be your hotel. We stayed for the Mumford concert and loved it. Old world charm is what we expected and it certainly upheld our expectations. We had a spacious room with a fireplace, sofa, and king Bed overlooking a well manicured courtyard. We sat on our porch sipping wine and watching the rain fall just before the concert. The entire town and inn were very crowded. The inn was next door to venue and all the people in line waiting for the rain to clear were packing the inn resturaunt and bar, but they still made space for us. Great service, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have enjoyed several times staying in the Historic Taos Inn. The rooms are clean & well furnished, most of the staff very efficient and friendly, and the grounds are lovely. The restaurant is great. You are walking distance to local shops and eateries. If you stay in a room off the courtyard, it is a peaceful place to sit with your morning coffee and read. And the morning coffee in the lobby is fabulous! If you like music & nightlife, you can enjoy the free evening music in the Adobe Bar. On our last visit there we had trouble with the a/c, and they switched us to another room the next day, no problem. Breakfast is not included, but fabulous restaurants are with in walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms away from lobby quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#4 of 15 in Taos
652 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $100 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing