We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,396)
Filter reviews
1,396 results
Traveler rating
675
464
160
67
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
464
160
67
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadobe barlive musicdoc martinshelen's housenightly entertainmentmain buildingcourtyard roomgreat musicnew mexicowithin walking distancecentral locationmiddle of townhistoric taoskit carsonkiva fireplaceart galleriesadobe walls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 1,396 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I know it's old and historic, but it's really nothing special at all. If you bring a laptop, ask for a DSL cable as wifi in the rooms is non-existent. Wifi is only available in the lobby if you have a tablet. The staff is nice, there's coffee in the lobby before 6am which is good for the early risers. The rooms in the back are dark and tired. There was a sketchy character in the lobby, who hung around for a long time, and made both us and another couple we were traveling with uncomfortable. The staff knew him (his name starts with a "G", and as he was ordering refreshments, there was probably a legal reason why nothing could be done, but it was uncomfortable. I would not stay at this hotel again if I returned to Taos. But I would stop for the margarita's. If you have a chance, go into Doc Martin's and have that bartender make your margarita. It's great. In any event, the margaritas in the outside seating area at the front entrance to the hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent, right downtown, but it's on the main street, so it's very noisy in the outside bar area in the front of the hotel given the traffic noise. I personally think the room prices are high for what you get. For my money, "Old and Historic" wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Glad you found joy and appreciation in our margaritas!

In looking at the amount and consistency of scheduled capital investment we put into the physical stewardship of this historic property, it is disheartening, and quite frankly non specific and confusing, to hear your comment of the Courtyard or Sandoval accommodations as "tired". I assume that you did not book Helen's House as these rooms are recently built, feel new, and have a more contemporary look. Sandoval House, which was built in the late 1800's, and the courtyard rooms, built in the 1930's, we have tried to maintain their historic ambiance. but with attention to the needs and wants of the modern traveller. In your case we did not hit this mark, from a general standpoint.

We are aware and have been receiving bids to provide wifi through-out the entire property. While we do have DSL in most of the rooms, this does not serve our guests who would like to use a tablet or wifi enabled phone.

Regarding your unfortunate experience with another patron, there is no law that would prohibit us from not serving a guest, or asking a guest to leave that is bothering other guests. I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable. We are not in the habit of serving anyone that is behaving rudely. As we are an attraction for locals and visitors alike with our music program and affordable cuisine, and the challenges the physical proximity of our bar and lobby presents to guest service, we train our managers to be strict with insuring a civil and guest friendly environment.

Enjoyed reading your experience of Doc Martin's, and we are certainly hoping you will be back to taste our menu in your future travels to Taos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did not stay at the Inn, but did stop by the bar a couple times for a few drinks. The service was polite and friendly. they have fantastic margaritas and we also caught some live music one night in "the living room." We'll certainly stop back by next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCHearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are looking for authentic New Mexico, then the Historic Taos Inn is your cup of tea. It is located in the heart of Taos across from the plaza and two short blocks from the town square. Rooms are old, but comfortable and clean. The courtyard is an excellent room location for quiet and a respite from a warm spring or summer day. There is nightly entertainment along with a bar and restaurant. The staff is friendly. The restaurant is provides a good sample of southwest cuisine. The patio on the main street is fun while watching colorful traffic travelling through town. Taos is an eclectic community. Historic Taos Inn reflects this atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stay in the Courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DANHighlandsRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

It's about location at this historic inn near blocks from the plaza. Quaint rooms mostly on quiet courtyards - some with private garden patios. Although on a busy street, you wouldn't know it! Most rooms feature fireplaces, all are adobe, so you get the real deal at this hotel. Lobby is a jumping each evening with a live band. No seat? Look up and try for a balcony spot!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The inn has several positives going for it; its has a great downtown location; it has a wonderful lobby and bar area, and Doc Martin's restaurant is off the lobby. Unfortunately our room, in the original inn building, was circa 1960's Motel 6. The inn advertises quaint, individually decorated rooms: HARDLY. I trust the upgraded suites located behind the main building are more pleasing. A patio in front of the hotel is directly on the main road and fine if you want do breathe exhaust fumes. Doc Martin's itself was a disappointment; although the service was excellent the dinner was uninspiring. The hotel advertises "NM's best margaritas" but the one I had was dreadful (we were told it was the bartender's first night.) The is live music in the lobby area most nights and if you catch a decent band you're golden.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the original inn building, although I did not see inside the rooms in the newer, back sections.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews