We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment and bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although we didn't end up staying here, everyone we spoke to recommended that we go here for the evening live music. It's a great, funky, hip place to hang out - we saw families, skiiers, couples, young and old. The entertainment of the night was great (seems like the place geared more towards bluegrass) and the drinks were good. A great and relaxing place to hang out at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Bui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had another Great stay @ the Historic Taos Inn, last weekend. Julie and each of the friendly, helpful staff, collectively again, helped to make 'our time away'.... so Nice :). This is by-far our Favorite Taos (actually New Mexico) place to stay. In addition, to the wonderful people, we love the ambience, nightly music, & historic surroundings... all cozy, comfortable, & convenient. We normally never need our car, we are able to walk where-ever we wish to go... it is so conveniently located within downtown Taos.
Tammie & Michael

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Dinner at the Taos Inn is one of the better things to do in Taos, and that's saying a lot in a town that offers many possibilities. Our recent dinner on a weekend featured pork and another one was steak. Well presented, delicious in every bite. But the various tequila drinks added an extra enjoyment to a wonderful evening. We sat in the bar while dining and were able to listen to some local entertainment that had everyone totally immersed in their style, gypsy jazz.. I'm only sorry that I haven't been here before on previous visits to Taos, but be sure I'll go when I come the next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upstatelakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The last time I visited the Taos Inn was in 1976. I was pleased to discover that almost nothing has changed in the interim. Check-in was a breeze, thanks to Stacy and the very helpful front desk staff.
We had a separate room just off the patio (which was closed, so no noise), which featured a canopy bed(!), a wardrobe and nice bathroom just off the bedroom. As with most of the rooms, this one, too, had a traditional beehive 'horno' (oven) in the corner, and was supplied with pinon logs and matches.
Being a long-standing, rustic hotel, you can expect that things have aged somewhat: for example, there was a bit of warping in the carpeted wooden floor, but everything is very well-maintained. There was just a bit of traffic noise in the early evening, but later at night it was very quiet, and we slept very well.
As pointed out by other reviewers, the Margaritas are Excellent, and there is live, local music in the lobby every evening starting at 6 PM - Recommended! The Taos Inn is just a block away from the Plaza, where shops full of local artistry abound. And Taos is very near the best New Mexico ski areas. The only complaint that I might have is that it IS somewhat pricey for the offerings, but is worth the experience of Old World New Mexico.

Room Tip: Can't comment on rooms in the hotel proper, but the rooms with the courtyards are very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveGarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Historic Taos Inn has large, comfortable rooms with charming historic decor and wood burning fireplaces (which we used one chilly afternoon). The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The Inn is very quiet in the evening - slept well on king bed. The inviting lounge area serves excellent drinks and food and provides evening entertainment. The restaurant has excellent food and service. A good value at a historic Inn with character and charm.

Room Tip: Rooms with woodburning fireplaces a nice feature in winter. Older room have quiet and comfortable h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a two room suite. We had wanted to invite a local couple to our room for drinks, but the "living room" was not large enough. This suite was more suitable for a family with one or two young children who might want to put them on the sofa bed. It was great to have a second bathroom since the bathrooms are so tiny. For the same money spent on this suite, we could have had a really nice room at El Monte, but it would not have been downtown. We also would not have had the convenience of music every evening at Doc Martin's. Maid service was inconsistent. We had to request items like kleenex and toilet paper as they did not replace during daily service.

Room Tip: The two bed room suite is really not a suite. It is a tiny "living area" with a second ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Haven't stayed at the Inn, but spent a wonderful evening in the bar. Food was worthy and the music was unbelievable. Very lively, friendly atmosphere. Worth making a trip to Taos if you're traveling to Santa Fe. If you're staying in Taos, the Inn has gotten great word of mouth. But, the music scene was tremendous. Original music performed by locals. Loved every minute. And, the margaritas are tasty!

Room Tip: Can't address rooms as we just enjoyed the food and music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JerseyKukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing