We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Music, music and more music”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Music, music and more music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Imagine pulling up at the Taos Inn after an eight-hour road trip,and finding a cozy lobby filled with live music and a friendly crowd enjoying happy hour. We promptly found a table and ordered drinks and a plate of nachos. Welcome to Taos! That experience began a thoroughly enjoyable three night stay at the Taos Inn. Live music every evening, friendly staff, and great food. Highly recommended for a memorable experience..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    380
    127
    48
    23
See reviews for
182
598
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Adobe Bar and Doc Martin's Restaurant within the hotel are definitely worth a visit. The room that we occupied for several nights was okay--not good, not bad. Odd electrical wiring made turning on the lights a scavenger hunt/safecracking experience as one has to get all the switches in the room in the right string sequence to work. Housekeeping and desk staff were all very, very cordial and helpful.

Room Tip: go the inn website. It helps you to choose a room that has the noise level that meets your needs. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very nice. We stayed in a new part of the hotel that had a/c. Would not have had good stay without a/c. Restaurant very nice. Location in Taos, is very central -- for the few things to do in Taos.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We wanted to stay in a convenient location and loved that about the Taos Inn. The live music in the evenings was great fun and the Happy Hour was wonderful. The room (308) was on the old open courtyard and was old school. Attempts had been made to update it. The bathroom was nice and the bed was comfortable and there was a sweet little adobe fireplace. It sounds trite to say the walls were thin but simply keeping the headboards from knocking against the walls would help. The furnishings were a bit tired and just a too crowded for the space. Mostly the carpet was not lovely and had soft spots. We did enjoy our stay and found the reception desk friendly and helpful and I think maybe other buildings in the complex may have been a step up, I hope so because overall it is a fun, old school type Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300-320 might be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Right smack in the middle of town...I would be remiss if I didn't begin this review with the fact that the lobby is the overflow for the infamous Adobe Bar located in the Taos Inn. I have sipped many a Cowboy Buddha margarita in the lobby bar, truly Taos' favorite watering hole. The historic hotel lobby also houses one of the great Taos restaurants, Doc Martins (try the blue corn chili rellenos). That said, if you want peace and quiet you must stay in one of the outer buildings or stay some place else.  The main building has two stories that overlook the large central living room space. The outlying buildings are my preference because you can escape the bar scene to a cozy one story building adjacent to the back parking lot  (motor inn style).  This is no 5 star accommodation but it is comfortable, decorated in an adobe style with a warm fireplace and down comforter.  Quintessential Taos... New Mexico style, good food, great margs served with a slightly hippy vibe. Fun!

Room Tip: Stay in rear of hotel to escape the bar crowd at bedtime :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Castlerockmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

First, realize that this is Taos. Most of the staff at all properties are from Taos and haven't lived in communities that have different service expectations. Service is friendly, but it is a different world. Second, this is a lovely property that has character and location. It is not a renovated Motel 6. Because it was once a home, every single room is unique. Visit their website to see a map of the small property and pictures of each room; if you do this you know exactly what you're getting. We stayed in room 311, which was lovely and exactly as advertised. I do think that it is too expensive (as are most properties in Taos) and the food is hit or miss. I like the non New Mexican options better (I'm a native New Mexican, so might be especially picky). for some reason, the shower didn't have a full door, which resulted in a very wet bathroom.

Room Tip: Visit the website to know exactly what you're booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saroybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the smallest rooms there, a double bed in sandoval house, room 201. The room was rustic eclectic in its decor, not my style but its style is well suited to the region. Their toiletries are fantastic, I am very picky, hardly ever open what they provide and use my own, but I took their soaps with me. The cable reception was spotty, there's no wired or wireless internet in the Sandoval house, information that I could have used but would have made little difference. We ordered room service and it was difficult to find a place to put it! The rooms can be noisy at moments. Overall, great service in a charming room which was relatively clean with a decent bed, a wonderful restaurant and an excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing