We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This was perfect. Excellent location, very comfortable room, good service. On a hot summer day there are very nice shaded areas to sit and relax. The breakfast was quite good - a nice lady even came around with a coffee pot and asked us if we wanted more! Even fluffy instead of scratchy towels. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    351
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
265
515
44
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We usually stay in a Best Western, but there were no openings even a month in advance in the Taos area. We looked for alternate housing and found El Pueblo Lodge. We were put in the south building, which is a one story structure with parking right in front. The rooms were very large and looked almost brand new. There was all kinds of room for our items, and the beds were very new.. We were able to walk to our restaurant, which was good because the traffic was bumper-to-bumper from some kind of weekend festival going on.
We were told it had snowed two days earlier, but it was nice weather when we were there. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the El Pueblo Lodge. The hotel is of typical New Mexican design, and is within walking distance of the shopping and galleries in Taos. We found the room to be comfortable, but there was a definite lack of "space" in the room. If we hadn't had a second bed in the room, we might have found it hard to put all our stuff away. The bathroom was a bit dated and could have used a refresh.

Breakfast was an ordinary continental breakfast. I was a bit disappointed that the waffles available were of the "toaster" variety, especially now that many hotels have waffle irons as part of their complimentary breakfast bar. The fresh fruit appeared to be canned. I did like the fact that they had tables both outside and inside, although the inside dining area was a bit crowded.

Overall, we were comfortable, but just a bit disappointed. But we would stay again if we were in Taos again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccsuwxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this place! My husband and I stayed May 24th through May 27. The hotel was wonderful, the room was clean and the bed was the most comfortable ever! The oversized rooms were well laid out and decorated. We had a fireplace in our room with fresh stocked wood to burn every night. You have a beautiful view of Taos Mountain from the office patio, as well as coffee, hot tea and fresh cookies served daily. There is also a great expanded continental breakfast available in the mornings. Bridgette at the front desk went out of her way to accommodate us and answer all of our questions. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. It felt more like staying with friends than in a hotel. The property is within walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping. It actually made us sad to have to leave! We will be making the El Pueblo Lodge a regular stop in New Mexico!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed the nights of the 24th and 25th of May. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was enormous!! Bottom floor with a walkout patio through sliding glass doors in back. Outdoor furniture was provided there, along with at the front door to the room. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful with attention to bringing guests together and enhancing the Taos experience.

It seems to be an older hotel but it is tastefully done and well maintained. Beamed ceilings and tastefully appointed. Centrally located and convenient to shopping, great restaurants and gorgeous views. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remuda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a long drive and arrived late to el pueblo first thing when I walk through the door the gentleman must have known I had a long drive he offered me some ice cold waters and fresh baked cookies.I was treated absolutely perfect and the room we stayed in was exceptional...old northern New Mexico style but hints of modern.Beds were awesome and everything was clean.Try this place out next visit to Taos you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Staying in hotels is always a bit of a gamble when you book online for the first time, so I always approach any place with a bit of a raised eyebrow. I was so happy to have my doubts removed when we checked into our room at El Pueblo. Booking was easy, and check-in was a breeze (It always amazes me at other big chain hotels when I book online and do everything in advance that the clerks seem to spend interminable amounts of time reconfirming everything and typing and clicking endlessly at their computer). The room is perfectly suited for us, was VERY clean, no odd smells, and the bathrooms were superb. I was immensely pleased at the decor of the room; very characteristically New Mexico, but nothing over the top. Perfectly located on the main drag of downtown Taos, everything is a pleasant walk from here. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willmuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#11 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Property: El Pueblo Lodge
Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing