We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived very early on Saturday morning to pick up vouchers for a day of skiing at Sipapu Ski Resort. We were unable to check into our room due to it still being occupied. the staff allowed us to store our luggage in the meeting room while we went skiing. It was locked up and safe for the day. when we returned to check in, the process was effortless. We arrived in our room to a wonderful surprise. The room was huge with at least a 40 inch flat screen TV. The beds were covered with a fluffy down comforter and big pillows. The room had brand new mattresses that were very comfortable. There was a lot of space for walking our two very large dogs. The next morning, we had the continental breakfast. There was so much selection to chose from.

Everything at this hotel was great from the moment we arrived to the time we left. I wish we could have stayed longer than the two nights. Hopefully we will get to return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on court yard are great for pet owners!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowlover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for El Pueblo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked here because of tripadvisor reviews...was very happy! We usually stay at chain hotels, so we really took a chance on this one. Room was large, CLEAN, big comfy queen beds, nice big TV, etc etc. Was so nice staying at what our family thought was a great representation of New Mexico! Close to town and skiing. Delicious breakfast and friendly staff too.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Despite all the lovely upgrades and efforts made with interior and external improvements, the room was absolutely filthy and coated with layers of dust that must've been at least a month old. The housekeepers only change the sheets and clean the bathrooms but they refuse to dust and in this dusty NM town, that makes a huge difference! The nightstands were so coated with dust, I took one of their sparkling white washcloths and with just one swipe across it, the cloth was covered with brown and black dust! After I literally cleaned my own room I inquired with the front desk and they informed me the room had been used the night before, so the housekeepers just refuse to dust! The concerning part is if they are not doing that essential task, what else aren't they doing?? I was unfortunately too tired to look for another hotel and after spending one night there I am still coughing and hacking! I know that room and its thick coating of dust made me very very sick! If you insist on staying there, make sure to have a handy supply of antibiotics the next day for a respiratory infection. Oh and the breakfast server has no idea how to make coffee! He made me a pot of coffee with no filter and literally handed me a cup full of coffee grinds explaining he doesn't drink coffee so doesn't know how to make it... who are these people hiring?? There are plenty of other nicer and cleaner places to stay in Taos.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelaGNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skibumsIdaho, General Manager at El Pueblo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello AGazzara: First, let us apologize for your inconvenience and dismay. We certainly recall speaking to you about your concerns while you were here and we hope the compensation offered was satisfactory. As your primary concern is with the dusty room, let us address this first. Our standard procedure is to re-inspect (and re-dust if necessary) all expected arrival rooms for that day. Walk-ins (ie same day arrivals with no prior reservation) occasionally pose a challenge on the dust issue, especially if the room has been unoccupied for several days. As a walk-in, we were happy to allow you to look at four separate rooms, and as it happened, you opted for one with a fireplace. Unfortunately, that fact alone could have caused some of the dust you encountered. Contrary to your recollection, that particular room had not been occupied for four nights, and it is inevitable that some dust will build up in that amount of time. Again, we apologize for this. You also imply that, because of the dust issue, other “essential tasks” are not being attended to. We would like to assure you that all guest rooms are thoroughly cleaned both before arrival and during guests’ stays. Yes, Taos can be a dusty place, and sometimes it is a challenge, but we do take pride in the condition and cleanliness of the rooms. Thank you for the kudos regarding our upgrades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

New Mexican style with nice rooms and convienent location. We stayed in one over the older rooms that was surprisingly spacious . Very clean with nice linens, comfortable beds. The staff very friendly and a nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Has a feeling of old quaint times. Location was excellent. Close to the Plaza and shops, within walking distance to restaurants and bars. Staff friendly and helpful with places to eat and see. Dog friendly which is important for me. Matter of fact my dog got sick and we were able to find a vet to see her within hours. Would highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

El Pueblo Lodge offers good value and a friendly, unpretentious setting in a convenient location. Parking is adjacent to the comfortable rooms in the original one-story or newer two-story sections. It’s generally quiet here, since there are no loud activities close by. A small buffet breakfast area has complimentary choices that are adequate to get you started for the day. An exercise facility, outdoor pool, grills and a picnic area are nice amenities. The central Taos Plaza, restaurants and galleries are within a few blocks walking distance or a short drive. The Taos Pueblo is a few minutes drive. After staying at El Pueblo Lodge three times in consecutive years, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been coming to Taos a few times a year for over twenty five years. This was our first stay at the El Pueblo. We were pleasantly surprised. It is an easy walk to the plaza. Our room with a fireplace was small but very cozy. Bathroom had been remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good for continental fair. Nice perk; warm fresh cookies in the afternoon when returning from skiing. All the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We will return.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the property are quieter. There is some road noise at the front. The pool a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $108 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing