We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for those on a budget!”
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel for those on a budget!”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Me and some girlfriends stayed here while we were in Taos snowboarding. The rooms were very clean and spacious (which is saying a lot...four girls with tons of bags plus boarding gear). Definitely an older hotel but has been kept up well. The staff is very friendly and always gave us great recommendations on places to eat, shopping, and other stuff to do in town. It's a 10 minute walk from downtown which is a plus! It's great for people on a budget who are looking for a deal and just want a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    391
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
302
586
53
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I took Tripadvisor's recommendation and decided to stay in a double queen bed room with a buddy of mine the night before we were going to ski. Let me list the good things first: nice staff, unique grounds and southwest decor, nicely redone bathroom, decent continental breakfast, and good location relative to the ski area.

However, I rated this poorly because we could not get a decent night's sleep. At 1:30 AM our next door neighbors decided to take a shower, and it sounded like they were right in our bathroom. Additionally, our ceiling creaked anytime the people upstairs walked around. My buddy said that he heard the unusual gas heater kick on once an hour through the night. Finally, the beds were not very comfortable, but given the price range of this hotel that was what I expected.

I didn't expect much from this particular hotel for the price, except for a decent night's sleep. Unfortunately, it couldn't even deliver that. I'll stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Get an end room of a building on the upstairs floor. Or better yet, just pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ColoradoDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

El Pueblo Lodge was a relaxing place to come home to after a day of sightseeing.

One wing allowed pets. Rooms have a private patio fronting a grassy area which our bulldog and chihuahua loved. We had dinner out one night but picked up some local gourmet items from a nearby food store for dinner on our patio the second night. Very nice tilework on the efficiency area counter and in the bathroom gave a wonderful New Mexico feel. The swimming pool was refreshing. A very good continental plus breakfast was available in the main building and could be eaten outdoors on the attached veranda. And the price was reasonable.

When again in Taos, we will stay at El Pueblo Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is an older property with standard motel rooms. Beds are a bit firm, pillows are flat. Rooms have decent decor with nice, updated southwestern style tilework. Bathrooms don't have any kind of exhaust, so if you want fresh air you need to open the window. Breakfast is pretty standard continental fare. We visited in the winter but it looks like the grounds would be pleasant in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Perfect lodge that is located closest to TAOS ski valley in the historical part of Taos. Only a 10-15 minute walk to centre of town. Get to town early as every shop except one closes around 7pm. The lodge actually has a few different section to it in the form of different buildings. The front office area also contains the breakfast room. Breakfast is a serve yourself buffet offering visitors a choice of eggs, cereals, fresh fruit salad, pre-made waffles and toast, packaged oatmeal and home-madepastry cakes. Enough protein and carbs to fuel you for the morning portion of your ski day. Hot daily chocolate chip cookies every afternoon. Coffee and juice machines are offered all day/evening. The staff were super accommodating. 2 computers with full internet access available. The more modern part of TAOS is only a 10 minute drive. Everything your own town offers from Walmart to Applebees to a movie theatre with 6 or 7 screens. We saw Mission Impossible...2**. HOtel is located directly off the main street and the room in which we stayed (110) was very quiet. As well...clean and comfortable. The heating and air system worked perfectly. Room was cleaned daily. No signs of any bed bugs or other insects. The mattresses (we had 2 queens) were old but quite comfortable. Would certainly not hesitate to stay here again. Of course, this is my review and thoughts. My 18 year old also enjoyed the lodge. Our yearly ski travels have taken us throughout the united states and I have no problem offering to say, " if you're looking for a friendly, comfortable place to lay your head and have a good hot shower in a clean setting," then you'll be great with checking in here. If, however, you're looking for a 5 star, valet parking, massage experience...move on. :)

Room Tip: Room 110...Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastDriver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is an older, budget motel, but it's clean and spacious. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The room was very large. We spent Christmas there and had gifts for 3 plus ski stuff and had plenty of room. The pillows were fine. The bed, while clean, was not the most comfortable, but we were really looking for an affordable place, and it was perfect for us. We will be back and will opt for a room with a fireplace next time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3skippingtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Great location and charming. Nice SouthWestern ambiance. Good breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Property: El Pueblo Lodge
Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing