We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“croissant perfection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gutiz

Gutiz
Ranked #10 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A favorite among locals and tourists alike, Gutiz serves creative Latin-French cuisine at affordable prices.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“croissant perfection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Small, cute little place. Friendly attentive service and reasonably priced. Came here for breakfast and had the best chocolate croissant I've had since visiting France,,,and it was still warm! They also had fresh cinnamon rolls and if the croissant is any indication of the rest of the baked goods, these guys need to open a bakery. The breakfast items I tried were also very good (nothing beat that croissant though), my coffee cup never empty. Also bought a box of chocolates that were very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedub16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    74
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Taos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We heard about this little restaurant in Taos for breakfast. Went there twice while we were there. Small but great atmosphere. Lots of locals there all the time. I had the BEST French toast ever. Loaded with blueberries, bananas, strawberries and a wonderful syrup over all. Wanted to have it the next time I went but tried something else. Something different is that they serve salads with most of the breakfast offerings. Go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caymancarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a french twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We read about Gutiz in Trip Advisor. We ate lunch, I having a salad and my wife having French toast. Good, but different. Would go back to see what other "goodies" they had to offer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“.......super breakfast........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

.........Amazing baked goods, very good coffee and stick-to-the ribs breakfast offerings. I had breakfast three of the four days while in Taos this year. I always return when in Taos for work or for pleasure. Everything that I have tried here the past few years has been excellent.......will be back!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My crepe with ham and cheese with bechamel sauce was pretty good, though the side salad was dull. But my wife struck out. Her salad Nicoise had the driest tuna ever. They probably nuke a frozen piece to thaw it then cook it to death. The rest of her salad had no excitement either. The next table did, though. The man found pieces of glass in his beet salad and had actually swallowed a small bit.

Didn't like the attitude expressed on the menu either: their automatic tip for groups is 20%, there's a $1 fee for separate checks and $1.50 if you want them to split a dish for sharing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gutiz also viewed

 

Been to Gutiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing