We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One visit is not enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gutiz

Gutiz
Ranked #10 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A favorite among locals and tourists alike, Gutiz serves creative Latin-French cuisine at affordable prices.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One visit is not enough”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stopped in on a whim during a stay in Taos. This resturaunt is now on our short list of "must do's" any time we're in Taos. The menu is a remarkable blend of European and local Southwest. If you're looking for large and hearty, try the Drunken Chicken - a 1/2 chicken (real chicken with identifiable parts) baked pot pie with chunks of vegetable, and whole mushrooms marinated and simmered in a red wine sauce, under an incredible bread pastry top. The menu is loaded with lighter breakfasts and delicious sandwiches as well. Save room for the ever-changing deserts. Best of all, after a few visits - even if they're a year apart - the staff will remember you. They let you know that they are genuinely glad to see you again. If you're undecided, give them some preferences (hot/mild, light/hearty, creamy/spicey/mild) and ask them to suprise you. I've never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    72
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Delicious Breakfast in a Quaint Cafe”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have a habit of checking Yelp in each town we visit to get the local perspective on restaurants (sorry Trip Advisor but we love you too). Since we had arrived into Taos at breakfast time, we checked on highly-rated breakfast spots and found Gutiz prominantly listed and highly touted. We weren't disappointed. The food was rich, flavorful, beautifully presented and fairly priced. I had the Egg Tower - a scramble with yummy veggies and cheese, while my husband had the very filling brie omlette. Both were served with a lovely salad. The service was genuine and advice kindly offered. Although we're not local, we recommend Gutiz when you're in Taos. Well worth the stop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaseyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great little restaurant right off the main road to Angel Fire. Nice menu with good variety of freshly prepared items.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NMTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gutiz is good”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Four of us stopped on a whim and we're happy to have foundd this gem. We had sandwiches and breakfast and everyone was extremely pleased with their choice. The menu sounds a little strange with the blend of French cuisine with local influence but it's refreshingly different and more importantly, tastes great. The service was friendly with being too intrusive. The desserts, blueberry crisp and carrot cake were excellent. We arrived late in the day, about 30 minutes before closing, and did not feel rushed, with no evidence of food having been kept under a warmer or lights. This is a great little breakfast/lunch spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place for Breakfast”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

When I tire of burritos smothered in green sauce, this is my alternative in Taos. The menu has a variety of options, the food is good, and the service friendly. I like the Brie Omlet, but the menu varies. Its location keeps it from being over run by crowds, but I would still arrive before 9 on weekends. Only open for Breakfast and lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gutiz also viewed

 

Been to Gutiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing