We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to go experience this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #3 of 93 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taos Pueblo is the only living Native American community designated both a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and a National Historic Landmark. The multi-storied adobe buildings have been continuously inhabited for over 1000 years. We welcome you to visit our village when you travel to northern New Mexico.Taos Pueblo Hours: Monday - Saturday 8:00am-4:00pm and Sunday 8:30am-4:00pm.Guided Tours available daily starting at 9:00 am.Pueblo Shops open daily.Taos Pueblo is expected to be open for the winter season. Any closures would be due to unexpected events within the community and will be posted on our official website.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You need to go experience this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Taos Pueblo was not only a wonderful opportunity for my family to experience what a pueblo is like, but also the wonderful residents of the pueblo. We met friendly craftspeople who told us the stories behind their pottery, jewelry, paintings, etc... This is a great place to go. It is well worth the drive to Taos from Santa Fe. We took the High Road and stopped in Chimayo (which is known for its weaving). Before we left Taos we ate at Orlando's. The best restaurant we experienced on our trip to NM.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihavemypassportready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    513
    182
    101
    81
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
186 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Waste of time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I don't get what other people saw that I missed. Admission fee to walk around and look at jewelry that looks like it could have been made in Bali. I had some fry bread, and wished I could take the woman with me who made it! It was delicious. Other than that, I give it a big "so what." I really wanted this to be better.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_from_Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Authentic small houses in an amazing site. They're surrounding by beautiful mountains. If you want to take picture you have to spend more $. We stayed only a hour, but would have stay probably more time if it wasn't that cold. It's a great place to bring your kids and teach them about the pueblan people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic and Moving Experience at Christmas Festivities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband, daughter and I attended the Christmas Eve bonfires and procession and the Christmas Day Deer Dance at the Taos Pueblo. There are no cell phones or photos allowed which was very respected by the hundreds in attendance. The bonfires occur at sunset and are throughout the pueblo, ranging from medium to large, and are completely dramatic against the mountain sky. This festivities are very genuine and heart-felt for the Pueblo residents and the activity is really fantastic. The Deer Dances involve many of the pueblo people and occur in stages. All is done with no explanation and you are not allowed to ask. In the cold, the performers wear lovely but light dresses, some of the men are bare-chested, there are real animal skins and heads worn. We were amazed by the depth of connection for the participants and felt a welcomed and respected audience. We would highly recommend these activities if you are in the Taos area around Christmas. The ceremony times are approximate and we stayed for several hours. If you were coming on a regular day, you would spend less time here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLadyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A look into the past, Taos Pueblo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Approaching the Taos Pueblo is a buliding block ot structures on the on the edge of the earth. The Taos Pueblo is a collection of small houses stacked one on another. Colored in bright colors the pueblo will leave a lasting impression. If you happen to be visiting on fiest days don't miss it, tasty indian tacos and other Taos indian foods, mixed with the dancing. This is a day you will tell your friends about for many years!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donnell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pueblo also viewed

 

Been to Taos Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing