We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.00*
and up
Private Tour: High Road to Taos from Santa Fe
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #3 of 100 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taos Pueblo is the only living Native American community designated both a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and a National Historic Landmark. The multi-storied adobe buildings have been continuously inhabited for over 1000 years. We welcome you to visit our village when you travel to northern New Mexico.Taos Pueblo Hours: Monday - Saturday 8:00am-4:00pm and Sunday 8:30am-4:00pm.Guided Tours available daily starting at 9:00 am.Pueblo Shops open daily.Taos Pueblo is expected to be open for the winter season. Any closures would be due to unexpected events within the community and will be posted on our official website.
Worthington, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

How can these amazing people live so true to their ancient culture? They are welcoming and kind. We met a fantastic artist in her studio (the front room of her home). She was good to answer all of our questions, to explain her love of art and her purpose in the pueblo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    542
    193
    107
    84
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“History and cultural lesson”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Taos Pueblo on a very cold day. We joined the 30 minutes guided tour. We were told that the beautiful dwelling has no running water, tollet and heating. It makes you appreciate the modern comfort and respect the native american culture. The place is gorgeous and you can feel the time has stopped.

Helpful?
Thank MTR5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best place we saw on New Mexico trip”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best place we saw on our trip to New Mexico. Hard to explain - the vibes are just so incredibly relaxing, the Indians who live here are really, really nice people. The pueblo buildings are fascinating. I wonder what it would be like to live here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMD_and_LFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
449 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Don't miss this UNESCO site!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you have an extra day in the Santa Fe area, don’t miss Taos Pueblo. This was my second time there (first time was about 2 years ago) and I enjoyed it more this time as I knew my way around. This is an excellent place to purchase jewelry and crafts made by the Tiwa Indians, the inhabitants of Taos Pueblo. Prices are good and many take credit cards. The best part is that looking in the store gives you entree into the adobe homes.

If you don't have a car, you can take a day tour with Great Southwest Adventures 505-455-2700 - they also stop at a famous church. I went to Taos Pueblo the first time with them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprising Time Capsule”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Unexpected. My first visit to a Pueblo and glad I went. Practical info: only 5 minutes or so drive from central Taos, $10 admission, ample free parking, last admissions at 4:30, visitors out at 5:00.
The pueblo area is smaller than I expected and can be walked pretty thoroughly in about an hour or two. Real people do live their real non-tourist lives in the pueblo, which by choice does not have electricity or piped water, and the houses are a mix of open doors with art and crafts for sale and private back lanes with "no visitors past this point" signs. It's a nice opportunity to see what real adobe construction and it's maintenance is like. The crowded cemetery is a profoundly poignant place with handmade crosses and heartfelt inscriptions to the recently departed. Recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SomewhereOnTheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pueblo also viewed

 

Been to Taos Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing