We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See”
Review of Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.00*
and up
Private Tour: High Road to Taos from Santa Fe
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #3 of 100 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taos Pueblo is the only living Native American community designated both a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and a National Historic Landmark. The multi-storied adobe buildings have been continuously inhabited for over 1000 years. We welcome you to visit our village when you travel to northern New Mexico.Taos Pueblo Hours: Monday - Saturday 8:00am-4:00pm and Sunday 8:30am-4:00pm.Guided Tours available daily starting at 9:00 am.Pueblo Shops open daily.Taos Pueblo is expected to be open for the winter season. Any closures would be due to unexpected events within the community and will be posted on our official website.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is not often that one has the opportunity to walk in and participate in an UNESCO Historical Site. We enjoyed a beautiful, crisp autum day at the pueblo. Sitting along the Red Willow Creek and just looking at these beautiful adobe buildings was worth the admission. Every person we talked to was friendly. We enjoyed hearing about their artwork and their history. The frybread was delicious. Of course, we left with pottery and jewelry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,292
    541
    193
    107
    84
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unique in the world”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Taos Pueblo has the unique distinction of being the only UNESCO World Heritage Site that is inhabited. We had never heard of the Pueblo until we were in Santa Fe. So we drove up for the day to Taos on the "Low Road" enjoying the splendor of the Cottonwood and Aspen trees changing color. The Pueblo is a little out of Taos and on reservation land owned by the Red Willow people. It has been in continuous habitation for 1000 years and is set on a plain at the base of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. A river runs through the heart of the community. For $10 we had the privilege of walking the ancient dirt alleys and entering some of the pueblo shops in the ancestral homes. Ladders still lead to upper homes and mangy dogs lie about in the bright sun. The Red Willow people go about their daily lives with the same limitation of ancient times of no electricity or running water. We bought baked goods straight out of a Horno outdoor adobe oven, and had a lovely local artist bless us with burning sweet grass. In one shop we learned how labor intensive a project it is to make the wooden and leather drums. Native college students volunteer to lead tours every hour, and our guide Flowers expressed the history of her people in stories that will remain with us. The tours are free but tips are encouraged. All proceeds go to support the tribe and the maintenance of this treasure of humanity. We took the "High Road" back to Santa Fe. Be sure to drive both routes to view the tiny mountain villages and beautiful views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very interesting - a must!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We really enjoyed visiting this site. We took the tour (a must!) and learned so much about the history and culture. We browsed the shops and found the pueblo people so friendly. We also learned so much by talking with them. The fry bread is delicious - we added honey and powdered sugar. I highly recommend visiting this site. If I remember correctly the entrance fee is $12 per person and $6 for each camera.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank decoydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit when you come to Taos”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is the original Taos -- the Taos pueblo has been home to the Taos people for 1000 years or more. Now the central pueblo dwelling area is open to the public. Many of the dwellings also contain shops where you can meet Native artisans, see them at work, and purchase their authentic artwork. If you want authentic Native art from the Taos area, skip the galleries in town and come out to the pueblo where you can meet the artists in person and purchase directly from them. You know the work is authentic and you get a better price buying directly from the artist, plus all of your purchase is going directly to support these Native artists.

It costs $10 per person to visit the pueblo, unless you are Native American, in which case it is free. Photography is allowed most days, although there is an additional cost to get a permit for your camera. I think it is something like $6 per camera. Please be respectful with your photography.

Well known Native American musician and performer Robert Mirabal has a shop in the pueblo, but there are a wide spectrum of fantastic artists specializing in jewelry and silverwork, painting, sculting, carving, pottery, drum making, etc. Be sure to visit one of the traditional bakeries and pick up some pueblo bread and plum pies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JWBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A not to miss”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you are going to Taos, do not miss the Pueblo for the historic value. It is not a particularly exciting visit (in my opnion), but I think it is necessary to understand the history of the region.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pueblo also viewed

 

Been to Taos Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing