We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed Ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Bed Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

While on a road trip and tired of driving all day into the night we stopped in Socorro. We were in luck they had one room left. This place is very clean, quite, and great beds for getting a good nights sleep. As it turned out, we did not sleep. We got a quick bite after checking in before the nearest restaurant closed. One hour after going to bed, my husband began throwing up and this continued thru the night. We left early in the morning because my husband was so sick. As it turned out we were only able to travel on to Ruidoso where there was an emergency room. As it turned out my husband had food poison. Lesson learned, it is not good to go to a restaurant 30 minutes before closing. I would recommend this motel to other travelers.

Room Tip: I think all room are about equal at this location. Please note there is not a restaurant on the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunAndSun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    118
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
52
69
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although the town is very small, this hotel is very clean. They served a free breakfast that was pretty good as well. At 5 pm, they even served free snacks. I was here on a business trip and had a good time. Once again, I can't stress how clean the room and property were. My only issue was when a group of three of us went here, we all checked in and one of us didn't have a room even though they called him to confirm his reservation. The had the same confirmation numbers for two people, so this caused an issue. It was quickly rectified and we were all happy. If your going to EMRTC, this is the place to stay....we had a blast! (Couldn't resist).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. The room and the rest of the hotel was immaculate! The free breakfast is above average compared with other hotels I've stayed at that offer the same. The pool was not open though. It was being renovated so they let us use the pool at the hotel next store without a problem. Its is located right off the expressway and within walking distance to most of the better restaurants in town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superbee361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
276 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express. No surprises or disappointments. Good housekeeping throughout property & everything in good condition. Not much choice in this town, so this is probably the best quality facility. A Best Western right next door is owned by the same person -- the town's Mayor -- so it may be in equally good condition though we did not visit. Nearest town of Belen (40 miles) also has a Holiday Inn Express, & will be 25-30% less for almost identical accommodations. Socorro has a College & some State training facilities, so it keeps all motel room rates significantly higher than NM towns of similar size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

On a road trip in NM we stayed four nights at the HIE Socorro. The room was a king suite and we enjoyed our stay. The extra room was worth the price to us.

We had a problem with the first room we were given. A hamburger chain has a restaurant right next door and cooking odors came right through the a/c into our room. The staff was very helpful and moved us across the hall to the north side. This room turned out to be odor free and after a rough start, we enjoyed the rest of our stay.

You can bet that we will stay at the HIE on our next trip to Socorro. And, you can bet I will be asking for a room on the north side.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the hamburger joint on the south side of HIE Socorro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1eyeopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor which lead us to this place. Easy to find. Nothing special, the appearance of the hotel is okay. Inside is average. They offered afternoon snacks . This place a kind of busy with somekind of company meeting. In the morning again it's full of them in the breakfast area. Maybe we stayed there a wrong day & time. Other than that everything is okay. The one that I don't like , when I was in the elevator this man asked me, where I am going, who I am with ? That's scary. I hope every corner has a camera esp. inside the elevator .I am not sure if we will stay here again. Staffs were fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTRS-ANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sure this is a Holiday Inn Express, but there are little extras provided that set it apart from a second HI Exp. in another city that we stayed at the following night.
The in-room refrigerator was a plus, also had a coffeemaker and micro, however we didn't use those. There's coffee in the breakfast room all day and night, helpful when we were awake at 3am. Someone set out cookies and dessert squares in the evening, and also chips and salsa. We grabbed a couple of cookies, but took a pass on the rest, but it was a nice, unexpected gesture for weary travelers. We left at 5:30am before the breakfast was officially served, but found bagels, yogurt, fruit, and a few other items available at that time, so we took some for the road.
Bottles of water were available for the taking, kept cold in the breakfast room.
The room was spacious, clean, and everything was in up-to-date working order. The staff that we encountered were professional. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a night or two, while passing through town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btr-L8-thn-nvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Socorro hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#8 of 10 in Socorro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Socorro Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Socorro
Super 8 Socorro
#6 of 10 in Socorro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1040 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801-4268
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Socorro Hotel near New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.Business travelers will be pleased that our Socorro, NM hotel's convenient location provides easy access to a number of corporate groups such as BBS, United Mineral, Viva Motors, Allied Research, Dicaperl Minerals and the Macey Center. We offer a well-equipped meeting room, as well.Ideally located near historic downtown Socorro, NM, the Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from the area's Municipal Airport and the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, as well as a variety of exciting local sites.Guests of our comfortable Socorro accommodations can relax and enjoy local attractions such as historic downtown Socorro, the San Miguel Mission, the Hammel Museum, Bosque del Apache Wildlife Refuge, El Camino Real Heritage Center and the Mineral Museum. Visitors can spend an afternoon rock-climbing or hiking at Box Canyon and Water Canyon or golfing at the championship-level New Mexico Tech Golf Course.During your visit to Socorro, NM, take advantage of our free high-speed, wireless Internet access, well-equipped fitness center, spectacular indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour business center, on-site self-laundry facilities and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Be sure to check out our friendly Socorro hotel's excellent deals and rates while planning for your trip to beautiful New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Socorro
Holiday Inn Express Socorro
Holiday Inn Socorro
Socorro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing