We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience from a small town hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Tucson
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great experience from a small town hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to stop for the night without a reservation traveling home from a road trip. No problem getting a nice room. Clean comfortable rooms, modern with all the basic comforts. Very surprised when we checked in and entered our room. Small town yet very comfortable hotel. Personable staff. Breakfast room very comfortable with nice selection for this type of establishment, we left before the official start time yet enjoyed enough food for a breakfast. . Walking distance to several eateries, very close to brewery with great food. We did not realize this was here and will plan our travels to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbjcartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    118
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
52
69
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Traveled to Socorro NM to take first responder training at New Mexico Tech. Hotel stay was great.

Location: Right off the main drag in this "bustling" town. Sonic & Other restaurants within walking distance. Was easy to find off the interstate from Albuquerque. (its about and hour and 15 min south of the airport)

Room: I don't remember what floor/room I stayed on but I had a room with two queen beds to my self. Was always clean when we got back from class.

Service:The rate was direct billed to the college so I did not have to deal with too much on the service side but the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had a week of dinner plans to make and the staff always had a suggestion and never let us down.

Food: Breakfast was well average at best. I'm never a big continental breakfast person but i was less than impressed still. The bonus was during the afternoon time (4-6pm?) they offered a snack in the breakfast area, usually consisting of cookies or fruit. This was great to grab on our way back in from class.

Extras: Never used the Gym but adjcent to the lobby was a small gym which hotel adequate equipment (Treadmill, Elliptical, weight system). Pool & Hot Tub I did however use. They were always clean and the temperature was great. There was a sign about hours but I don't believe they were enforcing it as I was in there somewhat late. Parking lot was big and well lit, always had a space right out from.

Final Impressions: I already booked my stay here for January 2013 for the next class at New Mexico Tech. I would recommend this location

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This newer hotel was attractive, and in good condition. The lobby is very small, but the breakfast room is large so there isn't congestion in the morning. The room is well laid out with a sofa and sitting area, desk, table with 2 chairs, small enclosed closet, full length mirror, refrigerator and microwave and free internet connection. Ground floor room window opens slightly. Climate control draws air from outside, but lacks a "fan" setting, so it runs only when heating or cooling. There is no way to run the fan to circulate air in the room otherwise. (strange!). The bathroom is large, but surprisingly, there is no soap tray in the shower/tub, a strange and annoying omission. Parking is free. There was no traffic noise. Staff was efficient and accommodating, including keeping the breakfast items refreshed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel during a road trip. It was clean and the staff was very nice. I know that the hotel was full because my in-laws were unable to get a room. I was impressed by how quiet it was. The breakfast had a nice variety of items to choose from. The only downside was the faint cigarette smoke smell in my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

In town for the week for a class. The hotel and room was immaculate and well maintained. The room was very big with a couple of beds, work/eating table, chair with ottoman and a small couch. The breakfast bar had a better than expected food and there were always snacks for around dinner time. If I ever go back to Socorro I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinman566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night and were really glad we did! The front desk person was super nice!! The room was clean and comfortable. There was tea and coffee and a small coffee pot in the room. It was nice to have a fridge in the room as well. There were plenty of outlets to plug our electronics into. The free breakfast was decent with hot and cold options. The only drawback was that the bathtub stopper was broken.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellehcim472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This relatively new hotel in Socorro (it used to be located just next door at what is now a Best Western) is really a nice place to stay in Socorro. Close to Socorro Springs Brewing Company, which is a very nice brew pub with good food (no small task in Socorro). Amenities are great, with a pool, spa, and great full breakfast. Good value also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Socorro hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#8 of 10 in Socorro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Socorro Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Socorro
Super 8 Socorro
#6 of 10 in Socorro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1040 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801-4268
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Socorro Hotel near New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.Business travelers will be pleased that our Socorro, NM hotel's convenient location provides easy access to a number of corporate groups such as BBS, United Mineral, Viva Motors, Allied Research, Dicaperl Minerals and the Macey Center. We offer a well-equipped meeting room, as well.Ideally located near historic downtown Socorro, NM, the Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from the area's Municipal Airport and the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, as well as a variety of exciting local sites.Guests of our comfortable Socorro accommodations can relax and enjoy local attractions such as historic downtown Socorro, the San Miguel Mission, the Hammel Museum, Bosque del Apache Wildlife Refuge, El Camino Real Heritage Center and the Mineral Museum. Visitors can spend an afternoon rock-climbing or hiking at Box Canyon and Water Canyon or golfing at the championship-level New Mexico Tech Golf Course.During your visit to Socorro, NM, take advantage of our free high-speed, wireless Internet access, well-equipped fitness center, spectacular indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour business center, on-site self-laundry facilities and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Be sure to check out our friendly Socorro hotel's excellent deals and rates while planning for your trip to beautiful New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Socorro
Holiday Inn Express Socorro
Holiday Inn Socorro
Socorro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing