We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treasure”

El Camino Real Historic Trail Site
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Socorro
Attraction details
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited this museum based on the recommendation of staff at our spa, and were delightfully surprised by the depth of the exhibits, and by the clear love and enthusiasm behind the museum's creation. The story of Camino Real is beginning to get the attention it deserves, as an integral part of the story of New Mexico, and of the United States. We left with a deeper understanding of both the everyday struggles of those early settlers, and of the camino's role in the developing nation. Well worth an excursion off the beaten path.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank margalo399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You have to visit this....”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When you are in the area don't skip this museum, very interesting and very, very well lay out. It is just a little way of the I25.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic facility not too far off of Interstate 25”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This multi-million dollar heritage center is fabulous and well worth the stop. when I went there the signs from the highway were confusing to say the least and it is easy to pass it by.

Helpful?
Thank wildwoodsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cool museum with minor issues”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very cool museum with interesting contemporary architecture - why are so many ofNew Mexico's state museums and visitors centers so outstandingly designed? Great displays about the historic route and its place in history, which is actually a pretty interesting story. I'd recommend that they do a better job on follow up guy at desk vague about their trails and made no effort to introduce site (which is actually part of a group of sites on the old royal road, would have been great if he had taken the map and explained that this museum is a gateway to learning more about the road. It made me a little sad that so many folks went to so much trouble to design this cool site and there seemed to be so little follow through.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Seide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S��͏D"
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you aren't familiar with the history, it's a good place to start.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My friends who are from Mexico really liked it. I had to drag them away. However, I've seen similiar things in the Albuquerque Museum and the El Paso History Museum, so I wasn't that happy about going to a Museum that's in the middle of nowhere, however it is near the Old Camino Real, so I guess it almost makes sense to put it way out there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CactusLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Camino Real Historic Trail Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing