We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our stay was awful. You have to pay for internet. The room was dirty. Our toilet did not work properly. We told the front desk and they brought us a toaster??? They do not understand English well.We again told them of the problem with the bathroom but they would not move us and instead gave my husband a plunger. He worked awhile and got out a towel that someone had flushed but the toilet still did not work properly and plunging someone else's toilet did not seem a good way to spend our night. We will be visiting again but will not stay here. The breakfast room was dirty. Food was put out sparingly. Terrible!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agawam58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

I am very for this inconvence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 189 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our room was very clean but needs some renovation. The owner told us he is in the process of improving it. It was very quiet, too. The bed was comfortable, and three pillows was plenty! Service was excellent. We're birders so the early breakfast was a plus. The manager told us if we wanted breakfast even earlier, he would be happy to accommodate us. Breakfast things were set up by 0430 so if you wanted,you could go down and fix yourselves a breakfast. It wasn't fancy, being your typical motel fare, but still..when you want to hit Bosque del Apache before dawn, it is nice to have a breakfast in your tummy before you head out.
The price was more than reasonable at $52. We would stay here again if we ever get back down to NM.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing SOCORRO ABVI....
Thanks to again giving us good feedback...
Keep Smiling...Smiling Face Wins The World...
We Always Try to give best service to all our guest,we want to verry happy to all our GUEST.
Today also we are working very hard to upgrade our property.so, you can always some change
in our property.
so,Thank you again for giving us GOOD FEEDBACK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

In my bathroom it was difficult to turn off the water....taking a bath the shower constantly dripped. The room had a sloppy paint job -- paint on the "No Smoking" sign. Heater was hard to use -- either too cold or too hot.

The mirror was cracked and a big chip out of the bathroom tile right on the threshold where you could trip on it.

I asked the owner to move me to a room without a broken bathroom. He assured me all the rooms were the same, then he met me there to demonstrate that I just wasn't doing it correctly, he knew exactly how to hold the handle to turn off the water. He then replaced the showerhead, which wasn't the problem.

I don't know how this hotel got such a good rating...it would be an OK place for $27 a night, but not worth it for $50/night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

I am very apologiez and i am very sorry about some kind inconvence.But when the costmore came at front desk next mornning around 9.15 am and shs explain me about situation at same time i went with costmore for check problam in the room. so,imediately i called my maintence person and we fixed everything in the room so, and i all ready talk with guest If you have any problam please call me, i will change your room but she never call me back.so, how this called poor service ? beacaues we are doing very hard work with our property for our costmore wlii stay with us very friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms are fairly basic and you can see the wear and tear, but in general it was a great place for just over $50 per night. My bed was comfortable and the the room was clean. Each room has a fridge and microwave. We were there doing photography in Bosque del Apache which was right down the road. We mostly just used the motel for a bed and a shower.

It was nice that the manager (owner?) was up very early every morning, putting out a simple breakfast in time for those of us leaving an hour before sunrise.

Two things they should fix: in my room I could always see a wireless internet signal but I was never able to actually access the Internet. Also, the coffee every morning was fresh, but luke warm and very weak. We were wishing the local coffee house opened earlier.

Room Tip: Just don't get too close to the main office/lobby, There's a fair amount of early morning n...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganymebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank You for Gave us Good Feedback,Yes I know we have sometimes Internet problem with our Guest,but we all ready order High speed new Internet Modem service with centurylink , so Centurylink are commimg on 01/02/2013 for fix our new internet service so, after that I hope so we can get very strong signal for our Guest Internet Service.we always try to provide very best hospitality service to all our guest.and sorry for some kind of inconvience.
Thank You Again for giving us Good Review and Thank you again for Choosing Socorro Americas Best Value Inn,nm-87801.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place just needs some work and some good, old-fashioned customer service. My room was not cleaned one day, Wi-Fi service was intermittent, the in-room refrig needed repair, the family upstairs was very noisy, the bed was uncomfortable...need I go on? All the other places in Socorro were full.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

I am very Apoloziez for some kind of inconvience, but you stay with almost 3 nights , and you never inform us any kind of problam, if you call at front desk i can make solution and i can also inform to first floor guest,but you never inform about any kind of situationwhen you came for check i all ready reserve top flor room for you,when you request me for down stair room , i imediately chang yoor room and i gave you down room.so, please next time you visit we will give you The Best Service To You.with Good Discount Price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A very basic establishment. Not new like two other hotels in the area. Just an older, outdated room. Yes, the in-wall heater/air unit was loader then normal. The free WIFI was a little slow. The room was very clean. no insects. Cleaning crew were outstanding each and every day. The desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was basic, but healthy. It was approx. 10 minutes to training class. Very close (walking) to all the best eating and drinking establishment. If those two other hotels are booked, I'm here again!!

Room Tip: get room near office,. across from pool and easy walk to breakfast. south part of property.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for giving us good feedback,we always try to make very happy to all our guest with us.and in future also we will provied you the best Hospitality service to all guest.we hope you also give us very best review on this web side.Tripadvisor is top of the best webside for all Hospatality Management service.All the Guest love this Tripadvisor.
" ALWAYS KEEP SMILING...."
Thank You Again , See You In Future.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a clean and simple motel for a food price. Only gripe is the slow Internet service during the evening. Also, management is trying hard to please.
I need to write 200 characters and I just don't have that much to say.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Taylor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank You For Choosing Socorro Americas Best Value Inn....
I am very apoloziez for some kind of inconvience, but we always try to give good service to our all Guest, We always try to make our all guest very Happy with us,i give you promiss for your next visit with us we will provied you The Best Level Service to you.just you have to manson us.
so, see you in future , Thank you again ,,,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Socorro hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 10 in Socorro
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#9 of 10 in Socorro
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Best Western Socorro Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Socorro
Super 8 Socorro
#6 of 10 in Socorro
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Socorro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Socorro

Address: 1009 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801-4267 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Price Range: $74 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Socorro 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Socorro located off I-25, exit 150. We invite our guests to enjoy our free continental breakfast in our lobby. We invite business travelers to take advantage of our meeting space. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless Internet access in all rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, free local calls and wake-up service. Children age 14 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small charge. Americas Best Value Inn Socorro offers comfortable accommodations, affordable rates and a friendly front desk staff to help you feel at home. Socorro, ideally located in the Rio Grande Valley is full of a multitude of outdoor recreation including hiking, rock climbing, biking, and fishing. Our Socorro hotel is close to several attractions including Sedillo Park, Hammel Museum, El Camino Real International Heritage Center, Very Large Array (VLA,an astronomical radio observatory), Escondida Lake Park, Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge and Water Canyon Campground. Join in for our annual events including Community Youth Fishing Derby, NM State Science Fair NM Tech Campus, and Socorro County Arts Spring held in March. Be sure to check-out local eateries such as Socorro Springs Brewing Company and Restaurant-Barbaras Dream Kitchen and LJ's Branding Iron BBQ. At Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Socorro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socorro Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Socorro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing