We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Town Bistro - CLOSED

Old Town Bistro
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Old Town Bistro is a family owned and operated restaurant.Nearly everything we serve is made from scratch in our kitchen by our staff.We cut your steak from the finest Choice Roasts available, hamburger meat is ground fresh daily, never frozen, most of the Chile we serve comes from our Socorro Val Verde (Green Valley), grown by local farmers and processed by us in our kitchen, the recipes we use for sauces, salad dressings and everything else are our own.When you dine at the Old Town Bistro you will be tasting real food prepared that day in our kitchen.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Deceiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The "Bistro " from the outside was inviting and it appeared we had found some good eats. We were greeted politely and seated. The menu had a descent variety of foods, ranging from New Mexican to American fares. Some in our group ordered hot wings. They initially looked great, but as my group found out....also a bit on the undercooked side. I had ordered salmon, apprehensively ... Upon it arriving table side the appearance looked a bit off. It did however have the aroma of salmon. I had tasted it and it tasted ok. I disregarded the comments of my colleagues and ate my meal. As three of our group found out hours later, we should have paid for our drinks and found food elsewhere. Needless to say, I would not eat there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ok if you're not in a hurry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We tried the Bistro for dinner while vacationing in the area. It has a unique atmosphere, with some local musicians providing background music. Our food was ok, once it arrived. It took over an hour from the time we ordered until delivery of our food. Thankfully we were not in a rush, but that's a bit too long.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lots of friendly locals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Also a return to this place. The food is fine but the opportunity of meeting friendly locals makes the place special. They also have gifted local musicians and singers that are excellent and mostly, do not blow your ears aways with loud music.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDUARDO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Probably the best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We ate here twice and both times the food was great. The stuffed mushrooms are real standouts while the general menu items are all very good. You can't go wrong.

Come on a night when they have entertainment and you'll be amazed at the talent. The two cowboys (locals) who were on stage the night we were there were exceptionally talented and a real treat for all.

Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuckshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Homestyle Cooking but with much better taste than at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went in for a business dinner with about 8 others. This is a traditional-style restaurant located at the end of the Plaza in Socorro and is equipped with a long bar. Service was excellent and the size of the crowd didn't seem to bother the cook or the servers as everyone was very pleased with their meal. I ordered the Eggplant Sliders (they have Vegetarian friendly offerings) and they exceptional. Several in our group ordered the special and they all had positive things to say about the dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing