We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to many more stays at this wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Socorro Old Town Bed & Breakfast

Socorro Old Town Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Socorro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Socorro Old Town Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Socorro B&B and Inns
santa cruz, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looking forward to many more stays at this wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We frequently visit Socorro, as we have family nearby, and have always stayed in one of the motels in town. This last visit, we decided to try the Old Town B&B and were in heaven over our decision. We were with our son, daughter-in-law and grand daughter and it could not have been more perfect. Comfortable beds, clean, beautiful and comfortable interior. And a great yard out back to enjoy the beautiful warm evenings. Terri and JP could not have been more welcoming and accomodating. They even allowed a family member the run of the kitchen to finish off the wedding cake for the event we were attending. We walked to dinner at the Old Town Bistro and had a really great meal. What a find! We'll be back, thank you Terri and JP.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tarzan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Don't be put off or intimidated by the exterior--the Socorro Old Town Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful lodging once you get through the front door. Proprietors Terri and JP gutted an authentic adobe house just one block from the Socorro plaza and created a two-bedroom B&B with a comfortable, high-ceilinged common living room and a full kitchen. The outside of the house is not impressive, but the craftsmanship lavished on the interior will "wow" you. Terri and JP live in the house next door, not in the B&B proper.

We had the place to ourselves and had a choice of either of the two rooms. We chose the Green Room, which only had a shower. (The other room had both a tub and a shower.) Our room was adequate in terms of space, but could have had a bit more room for hanging clothes or storing our suitcases. The bathroom was small, with almost no space on the sink vanity for toiletries. There is a television in the common living room, but not in the bedrooms. The bed, a queen, was very comfortable.

Terri makes a hearty, delicious New Mexican-inspired breakfast each morning. We enjoyed talking to her and getting travel tips while we ate. Terri' s amiable husband, JP, joined us for breakfast one morning, and provided further guidance and suggestions.

Travelers planning to visit Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge will find the B&B convenient. It's about 20 minutes to the refuge from the Socorro plaza, and Socorro offers far more places to eat than San Antonio, a tiny hamlet closer to the refuge. If you like, Terri will accommodate your needs as birders, especially birders who want to get up early.

Terri and JP recently renovated a good (but not excellent) quality restaurant two buildings away fronting on the Socorro plaza called the Old Town Bistro. Consider having dinner there while you're in town. When we visited, the restaurant had not yet gotten its liquor license, so the bistro was not crowded, but it will undoubtedly become more popular when they can serve alcohol.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scott_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night because I was there photographing birds. The room is clean and comfortable. We had the entire house for ourselves that night. Terry cooks excellent breakfast. What sets her apart from other B&B experience is her flexibility with breakfast. I would get up before sunrise to photograph birds and return around 9:30 to have breakfast. No other B&B can have a schedule that can fit my need. But Terry does. She leaves food for me to take a quick bit before heading out. Then she will cook a full breakfast at time I return. What a service!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JF929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We spent two nights at Old Town B&B in September 2009. It has been open less than a year. It was great!
It is run by Terry and she cooks up a breakfast each day from fresh ingredients right before your eyes. There are only two rooms, which was great for us travelling as two couples. They are very nicely decorated with excellent mattresses and pillows. There is a common space between the two bedrooms with sofa, TV, kitchen and eating area. Enough space that I would not feel crowded if I didn't know the people in the other room. We were there to bird in Bosque del Apache which is about a half hour down the road. So much more fun and more "authentic" than the hotel chains that are around the area.
Great meals at Stage Door and the Socorro Brewery too.

Helpful?
2 Thank DCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Socorro hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 10 in Socorro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#8 of 10 in Socorro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Socorro Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socorro Old Town Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socorro Old Town Bed & Breakfast

Property: Socorro Old Town Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 West Baca Sreet, Socorro, NM 114 West B
Location: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Socorro
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing