We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor management made for a disappointing stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
1 review
“Poor management made for a disappointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We traveled with our dog and were given a room near the "pet" run. As soon as our dog stepped in the grassy area, her feet were full of pickers. She dropped right to the ground and could not walk. We were able to eventually get them all out, but it certainly wasn't a pleasant experience. In the morning, we talked to an owner about another issue. She refused to give us a discount. The room was way overpriced and management's rudeness added to our unpleasant stay. Next time through Santa Rosa we will stay at the Best Western Adobe Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UPMich_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    230
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
319
319
89
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

The room was comfortable quiet and a good value, I liked it that we could park are car right in front of our room easy access to the room especially when unloading the car. The staff was very pleasant and helpful would stay here again. Had a very nice breakfast

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

My criteria for a hotel in Santa Rosa: clean, safe, and outdoor pool.

This hotel may be the only one in Santa Rosa with an outdoor pool. Another reviewer complained that the pool is small, and, yes, it's on the modest size. However, all I wanted was to sit beside a pool in the sun following a long drive, and this fit the bill. The pool was clean and the water temp just right. There were plenty of lounge chairs, and not many people at the pool.

All rooms are on one floor -- basically an old-fashioned motel or motor lodge set-up, which is generally not my preference, but other guests seemed to appreciate, and it was kind of a nice change to pull your car right up to the door and wheel bags inside.

The rooms are basic and standard. Clean. A bit dark inside. Decent-looking furniture, in good condition. If you're accustomed to awesome pillows you'll have to adjust to these old-fashioned lumpers. Staff is helpful and friendly. Free wifi with strong signal and no passwords etc. Breakfast was just fine.

This is not the sort of place you'll find yourself lounging around for fun or luxuriating. It's basic and utilitarian but comfortable. In another setting, I'm not sure I would give this 4 stars, but for Santa Rosa it's good. And, again, if you're looking for an outdoor pool, this is it.

  • Liked — pool - great free internet access - nice TV - comfortable bed - PRICE!
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cest_vrai_quoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

So, this wasn't a luxury hotel - I didn't expect it to be. It was nice and clean, seemed to be somewhat updated. Especially enjoyed the double sinks, one in the room area, one in the room with the tub and toilet. It was a non-smoking room, but smelled a littly smoky when we first walked in. Once we turned on the air, that seemed to clear out. The desk staff was friendly and courteous. We were travelling on a budget and this place fit our needs perfectly - providing us with a clean, comfortable place to spend the night on the road.

  • Liked — It was clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — There was nothing I really disliked, it was just a place to stay on our way to our final destination.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveln_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Nice. one story building. able to park right in front of room door.

Clean, quiet, roomy.

Would stay again.

  • Liked — conveniet parking,no stairs. quiet
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank born2travelLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

Around 3 am, we attempted to get a room up the street at the Holiday Express (don't recommend them - front desk staff is apparently comprised of zombies), and instead drove over to the Best Western. The manager/front desk attendant was friendly and courteous, and gave us a terrific rate. The room was clean and smelled great with fresh sheets, soft fluffy towels, and an immaculate bathroom. We even got extra pillows that late at night - with a smile. I have stayed in far more expensive places and received far less for my money - this place is a gem of a value.

  • Liked — The bed was awesome - soft, fragrant sheets and lovely pillows
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sarathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

Stays:
April 2001,
June 2001,
Sept 2007,
Nov 2007,
Dec 2007

This is the Best Motel I have ever stayed at while going cross country. The rooms are large, they are one story, No one above to stomp around all night. Well lighted parking lot, park in front of your room. There are about ten resturaunts in town that are all good, there is a clean Dennys next door. and you always wake up to the Chrisp Fresh Clean New Mexico Morning air....

We used our AAA card at check in and received our discount, we never have had to make reservations. Anyway its our favorite, I just wish we made it our destanation for once, seems like there is a lot to see there, And its quiet countryside..... Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Large room, Quiet, Easy access, CLEAN !
  • Disliked — cheap continental breakfast, donuts and cerial
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
#3 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
#6 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
#8 of 15 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
Address: 2491 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have all ground floor rooms with room front parking and plenty of trailer truck parking also, the rooms are very well appointed with 2 Queen beds or single king with desk and ergonomic chairs also with a 40 inch LED flat panel tv's with 100+ channels in HD in all rooms,very clean comfortable with large rooms and large his and her vanity,inroom coffee,iron + iron board, hair dryer and most rooms will have fride and microwaves, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing