We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes the whole experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2516 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Falcon, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff makes the whole experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Spent a week and a half here, while on business. Very comfortable, and conveniently located. Enjoyed my stay thoroughly, but it was made excellent by the staff. Michaela and the entire staff really make the place special. If I'm in the area again, I will most certainly stay here and I will recommend it to my friends.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyH277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello there ShelleyH277,
We are very excited to know that your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express was more than pleasurable. Our team here at HIEX in Santa Rosa, New Mexico stride to provide excellent customer service to all our guests. We are happy to know that as a team we have exceeded our goal. We will be sharing your comments with our team to remind them this is why we "Go for the gold" when it comes to our guests. We do appreciate you for taking the time to write this great review. We do hope to see you and your friends whenever you are traveling through eastern New Mexico.

Front Office Manager,
Dallas T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    64
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
56
65
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First - the manager (owner?) is GREAT. He actually remembered me! That's nice and his customer service rocks. However, not all who work there share his enthusiasm. This is not my first stay here; I was disappointed on my first visits, so I knew what I was getting into when I made my reservations. The only reason I booked here is because I wanted to get our hotel points. I crisscross the US and when I’m on the West Tour, Santa Rosa is a perfect lay over point. For a 1-night stay, this hotel is ok. The beds sleep ok – I’m usually so tired by the time we get here that I could sleep on just about anything. The bathrooms aren’t as clean as they should be, but it’s not awful, either. The rooms aren't too dirty, but they're not really clean, either. I really hate looking at the ironing board hanging up by the TV. The best things it has going for it are the manager and the Silver Moon (a restaurant that’s been there since 1959), just a couple of blocks down the street. Appearances here are deceiving. As grand of an entrance it has, the customer service, the cleanliness, and the maintenance have yet to live up to the standards the lobby suggests. Will I stay here again? Yes, but not for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear CharlieCN2011,

thank you taking the time to leave us a feedback about your recent stay. We have shared your comments with the rest of the staff. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we always want to provide excellent customer service to all our guests. We love getting feed back good or bad, it helps us to improve.
Please feel free at anytime to reach out to me at 575-472-5411 or sronmhie@yahoo.com to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely

Michaela Dodson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

On a recent roadtrip, I needed to stop for the night in Albuquerque or Tucumcari.... I took a chance and booked in Santa Rosa.
Best thing I ever did!
Dallas called me the morning of my stay to discuss my special request I made online for a quiet room. I was so impressed and more impressed when I arrived. Jorge at the front desk was wonderful, and lo and behold! Dallas showed up outside of his shift to help Jorge. I was so impressed that the employees care and do such a great job for their customers. The next morning, manager Michaela was on duty, along with Dallas. The nicest people! I had the best time and it was only one night!
This Holiday Inn Express is the cleanest and neatest, by far. I can say that because I drove for 2 more days and stayed at 2 more Holiday Inn Express,and Santa Rosa blew them away.
I needed to use the washer and dryer and they were unbelievably clean.... seriously. You know there is always bits of sludge and detergent around the lid of a public washing machine. Not here. Again, duly impressed and so happy with my stay.
Consider stopping in Santa Rosa if you are roadtripping on the I-40 and see that Albuquerque and Tucumcari are larger cities on the map. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: I requested a room on the 3rd floor, which is the uppermost and asked for "a quiet room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonexrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi there Simonexrez,
We are very pleased to know that you decided to give us a chance here at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Rosa, New Mexico. To let you know that here at HIEX we stride to provide our guests with excellent customer service and a great place to relax after a long day of traveling. When we did share the great comments you left for Jorge he was amazed. This is reminder to us that pulling together as a team is what we do best and that we shoot for the stars when it comes to our meeting our guests needs. We are so happy to know that you took the time to leave us this awesome review about our team and our hotel cleanliness. Most of all we are very excited to know that you were beyond satisfied with your one night stay with us. We do hope that when you are traveling through New Mexico that you do visit us again. It was a pleasure serving you and great to know that your stay was an impressionable one.

Front Office Manager,
Dallas T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the HIE on a recent trip back from Colorado. I was very pleased and surprised at the amenities offered, especially for families. We usually stay at Hamptons but they had no vacancies. The HIE offered great things for families traveling and this one was PET FRIENDLY! It had a great "leisure room" game room with two really nice pool tables, an indoor pool and spa ( filled with laughing kids!) and most considerate for traveling families on vacation--a washer and dryer on every floor. I was also pleasantly surprised at the complimentary breakfast. They offered alternative to the waffle, bagle, and cereal/yogurt routine including some VERY tasty cinnamon rolls. AND the bed and pillows were every bit as nice as the Hamptons we usually stay in. Good job HIE. BTW are all HIEs pet friendly now (we stay at La Quinta when traveling with our dog because it's well known for pet friendly and I don't have to guess if a hotel is or isn't)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mtm124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello there mtm124, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Rosa, New Mexico. Our team strides to offer the best for our traveling families. We will be sharing you awesome comments with our staff to remind them that we shoot for the stars. We thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review about our hotel. We do hope to see you for future visits. We would also like to let you know that not all Holiday Inn Express properties are pet-friendly. We would recommend you to call the hotel to follow up on their pet policies or to look on their hotel website.

Front Office Manager
Dallas T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This property is an average Holiday Inn Express with comfortable and quiet rooms. The breakfast included was ok. Good location off of the interstate. If you just want a clean room overnight while traveling this is a good choice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GWandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear GWandCD,
We would like to thank you for taking to the time to give us a review about your previous stay with us. We do apologize that we were just an average Holiday Inn Express and we do hope to make an impression the next time you are traveling through the area.

Front Desk Manager
Dallas T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Have stayed at four newer,nicer HIE this trip, so was a little disappointed. Given this is an older property, it wasn't bad but could use a remodel. Bed and linens were as good as newer places, but room was dark and bathroom needed some attention/repair. Bathtub was slippery, almost fell. Fruit at breakfast bar was sad at best. If you just need a good clean bed, it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkat818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear travelkat 818,
first of all thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all comments good or bad.
We hope that you still will stay with us the next time you are in Santa Rosa NM.
Please reach out to me at sronmhie@yahoo.com if you would like to discuss the problems any further.

Sincerely
Michaela Dodson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was our second time staying in 3 years. The hotel could use a little sprucing up, but overall not bad. 2 Queen beds, good linens. Nice TV. Actually had a Directv box in room. Only real complaint is that the room could use a good cleaning, especially in the corners of the bathroom. Not saying the room is dirty, because I feel they do a good cleaning between guests, but I think it could use a thorough cleaning to scrub the corners and tile, etc, to get it back up to a 5/5. There aren't alot of restaurants in the area.....a couple of local joints that we have not checked out, and a DQ, McDonalds, and up on the hill a Carl's Jr or Subway at the gas stations...so plan ahead. A good place for an overnight stop on a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoeverywhere05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello there letsgoeverywhere05,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad to know that you were comfortable in the room that you stayed in. We appreciate your feedback about our hotel because it helps us identify the issues that we need to be improved on as a hotel. We do hope that when you are traveling through New Mexico that you do decide to stay with us again.

Front Office Manager
Dallas T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
#3 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
#1 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
#5 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
#9 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
Address: 2516 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Santa Rosa, NM. We are located on Historic Route 66, also near Interstate 40, and Hwy 84 and 54. We are also conveniently located near Blue Hole (Scuba Capitol of the Southwest), and minutes away from Santa Rosa Lake & state park, for boating, fishing and water skiing. Enjoy a leisurely cruise on Historic Route 66 on your way to Santa Rosa Softball Complex, Park Lake (with slide) and golf course, just miles away from the hotel. Begin your day with our complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar (6 AM to 9:30 AM daily). Relax in our indoor heated pool & spa, or play a game of pool in our game room, or exercise in our fitness room. You will be walking from one of the most unique lobby while making your way to your room, complete with the luxurious Simply Smart Bedding and high-speed Internet in all rooms. We also have two elevators in our hotel. Come enjoy our Southwestern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing