We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly, poor service, won't stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, poor service, won't stay again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

On a road trip from West to East coast and this hotel was my third one for the week. I know Santa Rosa isn't the "Hot Spot" of the world, but this hotel could do a LOT better.
Lets start with the good; it's clean.
Now the bad:
1) TV didn't work; they have DirecTV service in the room however the signal goes out every 30 secs or so making the viewing impossible
2) Service; really poor. Asked for some advice on where to eat or what was available to deliver and got this look like I was an absolute moron for asking. I get that its a small town, but its not unreasonable to figure that some of your guest might need something to eat. Eventually, found out that a local pizza joint delivers; however when I asked if they had a copy of a menu; it was like I was asking for a hand signed copy of the declaration of independence. Guys, if there is only one delivery place in town .... you might want to have a copy of the menu on hand !
3) Air Conditioning: Positive: Room was very cool. Negative: The floor surrounding the AC was soaking wet from the unit.
4) Shower: Positive: It had water ; Negative it had only cold water !!! Yes I let it run for 10 minutes and not a bit of heat !.

On complaining about the above I was offered $10 off my bill ... which seems to me frankly insulting especially when there are these "service guarantee" cards all round the place saying if they can't fix the issue your night is free ! Well that's just a bunch of horse manure !

Look I wasn't looking from a FREE room, but an apology and some form of proper discount would have been nice, I know ice cold showers are supposed to be good for you but after a long road trip ...... probably not the best thing to experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear AndrewCA,
first of all let me apologize for all the issues you had here. Please reach out to me at sronmhie@yahoo.com I would like to discuss this issue a little bit more privately with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
66
74
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We will not stay here again, staff were great but the room needed help! The bedding was old and kinda grey looking, not nice and white, mattress had sink holes..the bed skirt was not put on correctly and it was so wrinkled that it made everything look worse than it had to be..the furniture is kinda sad looking and the TV did not really fit the cabinet in was in..did not have an updated channel guide.. Some broken tile in the bathroom..they also had 2 big pitchers holding the milk in the breakfast room and i prefer the individual cartons..especially when you see unkept things it makes you wonder how clean the pitchers were...Lobby furniture needs updating, not inviting to sit on!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear gglenda,
thank you for taking the time to write about your experience you had here. We do appreciate every feedback good or bad. We do hope you will give us another try to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a pet-friendly hotel and the rooms are quite comfortable and clean. Our room smelled like dog, but I suppose that's to be expected if people have dogs in there pretty much every night. However, it was tidy and well-maintained.

The free breakfast is a great perk. I took advantage of it very early, right when it started, so I did not get a chance to see how busy it might get later on.

We arrived at around 10 pm and it was quite a long wait to check in. There were 3 parties in line ahead of us and the single clerk was taking quite some time with each check-in. As this is a hotel frequented by weary highway travelers who may arrive late, I hope the hotel manager considers greater staffing in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi there,
thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We always appreciate feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Santa Rosa NM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were greatly disappointed with our recent stay in Santa Rosa, NM. We stopped for an overnight stay during a cross country vacation. We chose this hotel because of our great experiences with other Holiday Inn Expresses. We stayed in a 2bd unit with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The beds were comfortable but that is about the only positive remark I can make about the property. The bathroom floor was filthy, there were other bodily fluids on the bathroom wall and the room was musty smelling. The wake up breakfast was not very tastey but did have a large selection. The computer system was down the entire stay and I haven't received a receipt for my stay, nor have I been contacted by the front office staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeMooreTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear LikeMooreTravel,
I am very sorry to hear about your experience you had at our hotel. Please reach out to me at sronmhie@yahoo.com so we can talk about it some more. I hope you will give us another chance in the further to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were in the middle of an intercontinental move and we picked the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Rosa at random. I'm so glad we did. It was our first stop on a three day drive. I've stayed at Holiday Inns before but never at an Express. I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were phenomenal. So comfortable and soft, we could have slept forever.

We arrived in the late evening with two small children and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They were able to give us a room even though we did not have a reservation. They also gave us a military discount which we hadn't counted on- another pleasant surprise.

We stayed at another Holiday Inn Express after this because of the wonderful experience we had in Santa Rosa. Unfortunately that one, in Moab, did not live up to the experience we had in Santa Rosa. I've already recommended the HIE in Santa Rosa to anyone who will be travelling that way! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siastar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi there,
thank you for taking the time to write about your experience you had with us. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Our goal here is to make everyone feel at home. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Santa Rosa NM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall the hotel experience was just for one night. At first it started out great when I called in route and made a reservation. The woman named Jaid was very helpful and courteous. Once we arrived, she was quick to get us checked in knowing it was late at night. She told us of the breakfast in the morning as well.
The room was spacious and clean and so to was the bathroom. In addition, the hotel was relatively quiet for being close to the busy highway.
Another cool thing is that they have Direct Tv in the rooms.
In the morning is where the service went down. The breakfast area was out of everything when we showed up with two hungry kids. I had to keep asking the front desk for things. The tables and the trash were all dirty and overflowing. The people at the front desk saw this and rather than assist the worker taking care of the breakfast area, they just told her to do the tasks asked of her.
So overall, some service was really good while others were just average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Michael B,
thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our Hotel. I'm glad to hear that for the most part you were able to enjoy yourself and with the issues you had I will look into them. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped here mainly because it has been our prior experiences with HIE have exceeded our expectations but this was a disappointment. We were tired and road weary from traveling
Route 66 nearly 8 hours that day. The young man in the lobby at registration was not at all helpful with dinner suggestions I sincerely doubt he either lived here or he was at the very least new to the area<he did not even know old route 66 passed thru the city> the room was below par for HIE and was a little old and worn with a bad smell. The interstate runs right next to this hotel so if you are a light sleeper you will need ear plugs at the very least. Did not eat breakfast here. Coffee was cold and the food was the usual fare so we opted to drive into town for breakfast

Room Tip: you are right next to interstate 40 and the trucks are very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildflower514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Wildflower 514,

I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
Please reach out to me at sronmhie@yahoo.com so we can talk about it some more.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to let us know about your experience here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
#2 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
#3 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
#6 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
#8 of 15 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
Address: 2516 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Santa Rosa, NM. We are located on Historic Route 66, also near Interstate 40, and Hwy 84 and 54. We are also conveniently located near Blue Hole (Scuba Capitol of the Southwest), and minutes away from Santa Rosa Lake & state park, for boating, fishing and water skiing. Enjoy a leisurely cruise on Historic Route 66 on your way to Santa Rosa Softball Complex, Park Lake (with slide) and golf course, just miles away from the hotel. Begin your day with our complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar (6 AM to 9:30 AM daily). Relax in our indoor heated pool & spa, or play a game of pool in our game room, or exercise in our fitness room. You will be walking from one of the most unique lobby while making your way to your room, complete with the luxurious Simply Smart Bedding and high-speed Internet in all rooms. We also have two elevators in our hotel. Come enjoy our Southwestern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing