We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could use more focus on Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice but could use more focus on Customer Service”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a newer HIE and has all the normal amenities for the chain. They do have a pool table which is nice. The people are just going through the motions. More customer focus would really enhance the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the lack of customer focus we will make sure to work on that. Please consider the oppurtunity to make your stay more enjoyable the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
68
76
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are many options for hotels in Santa Rosa but the staff at this hotel go out of their way to make your stay just a little more special. If you are a Holiday Inn club member there is always a nice welcome sack waiting for you with bottled water and snacks. Nice touch. Rooms are very clean and have nice amenities. There are many choices for the complimentary breakfast. Food is very fresh. Rates are excellent in Santa Rosa so don't stay in Tucumcari at HIE where they charge much more for same rooms. You can't beat the staff in Santa Rosa!!!

Room Tip: First floor is great. Top floor is pet friendly so not a good choice if you have pet allergies. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your kind rewiev. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are coming through Santa Rosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The first room we were given had an overwhelming odor of excrement as soon as we entered the room. We were immediately reassigned an upgraded room, but unfortunately this room had used towels and what appeared to be a dirty bathtub. What I thought was an unclean tub was actually a stain that couldn't be removed. The front desk clerk who was the only person on duty came to the room and quickly and efficiently removed the dirty linen and cleaned the tub and sink area. I believe this experience is not typical of the hotel and because the front desk person was so willing to make everything comfortable for us, I am giving the hotel a higher recommendation than would be expected. The upgraded room was large with a comfortable king bed and a sitting area. The microwave and refrigerator were larger than the standard hotel room size. Breakfast was disappointing in that there was not much selection and the room was not very inviting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Rosa NM. We deeply apologize for the initial problems you encountered upon arrival. We were happy to hear that our front desk clerk took care of the situation promply. We would appreciate the opportunity to better serve you the next time you travel through Santa Rosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was travelling from Lake Havasu Arizona to Plano Texas and had planned to stop overnight, approximately half way, in Santa Rosa. I arrived late and tired with no reservations but was able to get an excellent room in short order. The next morning I accidently left my ipad in the breakfast area of the hotel and didn't even realize it until Deanette Madril, the general manager of the hotel sent an email to my home which I viewed on my phone. I had been on the road for over 4 hours when I checked my email and couldn't turn back to get it. When I got home I called Deanette and she told me not to worry that she would box it and ship it back to me priority mail. I received my lost Ipad in two days in perfect condition. I am very appreciative to Deanette and her staff for finding my Ipad and returning it to me. This was a very convenient place to stay relative to I-40 and the accommodations were excellent.

Plano Traveller

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel has always been good to us, pool and hot tub has always been clean " a plus". Breakfast is the usual Holiday inn express. Staff has always been friendly. Close to the Blue hole for a morning swim.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvstravelX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there this is Deanette Madril, with the Holiday Day Inn Express in Santa Rosa, New Mexico , I personally wanted to thank you for staying with us and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and also for giving us a good review. You have yourself a good day and hope to see you visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Traveling to the American West from far East Texas requires a break somewhere and Santa Rosa has been that place for me on four different occassions in the past 18 months. I finally hit the right spot for a little work before the night's rest.

I have to admit I wasn't so sure on first glance - we got there just before the night clerk rolled into the parking lot with the windows down and the music blaring - but by the time I was dealing with him at the counter, it was clear he not only knew what he was doing but was efficient in doing it.

I had a couple of other small needs that had me making a couple of late trips to the counter or out to the truck - the guy was (is) his own kinda young man but I ended up feeling impressed with him as well as pleased with his care of guests.

The room was just what you'd expect - nothing extravagent but spot-on clean and with reliable Internet service - just the kind of thing a business traveler is looking for. The value was a fine one too - we had stopped at another "traveler's brand" up the street and walked right back out owing to bad vibes.

I've got my place to light next time I'm through Santa Rosa - enjoyed enough that I even signed up for the rewards program. If you don't have your own favorite, I can strongly recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Greetings!, Hi this is Deanette madril from the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Rosa, New Mexico. I wanted to thank you for the good review and im beyond glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you bakc soon and if you have any other suggestions please let us know. Thank you again, and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

They had space for us, for which I was grateful - but when I checked out on Saturday morning, I told the person at the front desk that the a/c in the room was leaking water onto the carpet --- when I came back through on Wednesday, I was put in the same room and by Wednesday, the carpet was drenched - ICK -
OK, so the room had problems - I just didn't know how disapointed I could be in my travel experience. I was traveling with family and we were leaving on Thursday morning. The person that works the front desk decided that breakfast at 6:00 a.m. meant he would start putting things out at 6:05 a.m. - He was VERY RUDE to my 83 year old father when my dad was trying to get something to eat - this employee of the HIEH stomped around, slammed on lights, and if you are a coffee drinker (which I am not), he finally had some coffee out about 6:15. I would have thought rather than being mad at the guests for being there waiting to get something to eat at 6:00, a prudent person would have had the food out & ready starting at 6:00 - This guy made a fool of himself - If I were not a priority member, I don't know if I would be interested in staying with Holiday Inn for further visits.
*
(I tried to turn in the room key when we left and wanted to tell him, or someone, that the carpet was soaked in the room, but this guy continued to exemplify what a great customer service person he truly was - he stood outside smoking glaring at our party as we were leaving - no offer to take the key, or inquire if he could help in any way - what a great guy! If I were the manager, I would be looking for a replacement front desk clerk and quick)

Room Tip: Maybe your experience would be better - but I don't know that I would bet on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lstew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your feed back and bring this to my attention. Its our goal to consistentently provide superior service and accommodation and yor comments are very important to us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We would love to extend out an open invite for you to our home. Offering you a rate of 79.95 for any preferred room you desire, once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.


Sincerely,
Deanette Madril G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Santa Rosa Inn
Best Western Santa Rosa Inn
#2 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
#3 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
#5 of 15 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
#8 of 15 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa
Address: 2516 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Santa Rosa, NM. We are located on Historic Route 66, also near Interstate 40, and Hwy 84 and 54. We are also conveniently located near Blue Hole (Scuba Capitol of the Southwest), and minutes away from Santa Rosa Lake & state park, for boating, fishing and water skiing. Enjoy a leisurely cruise on Historic Route 66 on your way to Santa Rosa Softball Complex, Park Lake (with slide) and golf course, just miles away from the hotel. Begin your day with our complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar (6 AM to 9:30 AM daily). Relax in our indoor heated pool & spa, or play a game of pool in our game room, or exercise in our fitness room. You will be walking from one of the most unique lobby while making your way to your room, complete with the luxurious Simply Smart Bedding and high-speed Internet in all rooms. We also have two elevators in our hotel. Come enjoy our Southwestern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing