We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taco bell is better less $”

Comet II Drive-In Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taco bell is better less $”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Very small servings for the price. No child menu. Plates are not served w rice and beans. Bean burrito 5.50, cheese quesadilla on a 5 inch tortilla 5.50 served with a tomato and onion slice...the chimichanga looked and tasted like one from Allsups this plate did have rice n beans but was not worth $12. Smoothered burrito was just that burrito w wolf brand chili....como say what! Skip this one....best mexican food in town painted on the outside but I hope this is not the case.

Helpful?
Thank jet396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    77
    47
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Good South West Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great Margaritas.

Food was really great. The Chili was hearty and the protion very good, as were the Green Cheese Enchillatas which was to big to finish..

South West Route 66 decor was nothing special but clean and interesting.

We would go back again in a heart beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly place with great food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stopped in for dinner while staying overnight on a road trip from Texas to California.

I didn't expect much when I walked in. The restaurant definitely isn't fancy, but it's bright and clean, inexpensive with a very friendly and attentive staff. When I was there, I seemed to be the only "non-local"...clearly this is a "locals favorite."

I had the blue corn tortilla chicken enchiladas covered in Chimayo sauce. In short, they were excellent. The chips and salsa, usually something I don't even bother with, were terrific. Chips were fresh and crispy...the salsa was excellent...very fresh.

Even the iced tea was fresh. Tasted recently brewed. Obviously a small detail, but tells you they care about their restaurant.

If you're in Santa Rosa, Comet II is worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Don't believe the haters-this food is the best!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great, freshly prepared food. You will not be disappointed. Excellent meal, friendly staff, a great experience. No, I'm not related to the owner. And not afraid to admit that it was above-average meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
604 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Really tasty and very friendly”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We went in for lunch. A few locals and a couple of tourists besides us. The food was very tasty. Not pretty, more authentic Mexican. The wife/owner was super friendly - even brought us a couple of little extras like adding rice to my son's burrito because she heard him mention rice when she walked by. The husband/cook/owner came out to check on every table.

Be sure to order a slice of pie. We had apple and peach and they were both tremendous.

Helpful?
Thank MileHighJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comet II Drive-In Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Comet II Drive-In Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing