We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Last resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Route 66 Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Route 66 Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Idabel, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Last resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Pros: very good air conditioning. Microwave/fridge. 3 beds. 2 tvs. Nice pillows. Big room. 1 bed in front area and a second area with two beds. Decent service.

Cons: language barrier with the people who run it. The bathroom sink was in bedroom area. Very small bathrooms. Outdated. Its a motel ( not our preference). Stain on skirt of bed. Found a cigarette burn hole on bed sheet.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mncwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    7
    6
    16
See reviews for
8
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you are very tolerant of the absence of luxury and can overlook many things for an affordable price, it's not going to kill you to stay here, and it is superb compared to someplace like Haiti...but overall, this is not the best place to stay. This is a motel where all the rooms are on the ground level in a long row and each door exits directly into the parking lot. I reserved a non-smoking room and was initially given a smoking room. When I asked to change, I got a room that still smelled bad (but not like smoke). There were two bugs crawling on my bed. The refrigerator was unplugged when I got there, which was an inconvenience because I had a cooler full of food that had sat in the car all day and I was counting on getting it into a cold fridge. The carpet was stained. The curtains didn't completely shut and couldn't be adjusted without having a clothespin or something. I could stand on the sidewalk outside the window and see right into my room. The deadbolt of the door was not lined up with the slot that it was supposed to fit into, so I had to manhandle the door to shut it. The air conditioner was on high but did not cool the room, even arriving late at night with the outside temperature under 80 degrees. Bathroom fixtures were old and not very nice. Paint was a robin's egg blue color interspersed with various patches of yellow in random places. The pillows were lumpy. The room was so small it felt like there was hardly a place to walk. When you can pay $15 more to stay in a place that is clean and nice and normal, it seems like not the best trade-off.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ask them to plug in the refrigerator in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank securehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The people we were traveling with picked this Motel.

Pros: Clean, affordable, nice family who runs it, good coffee and I asked for a blow dryer and they gave me one at the front desk and the bed was comfortable. Plus, there was a good restaurant right across the street, so we could walk.

Cons: The room was sprayed with massive amounts of Febreze. Not sure what smell they were trying to hide, but febreze is gross smelling. We had to keep the door open for about 30 minutes, but that still did not help. Then the hot water did not last that long and my husband had a cold shower the next morning.

All in all, we paid $49 a night and that was what we got. They did give a military discount.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verkin, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Remember you get what you pay for. If you want a quick overnight place to stay, then this is the place. The price was right. The room, building, and grounds were run down. We had to shove the door closed with our shoulder to get it closed. The bathroom door did not shut or lock. The fridge was unplugged and by the time it was cold we had to check out the next day. The breakfast consisted of package oatmeal or mini-mini doughnuts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stay in hundreds(yes, hundreds!) of motel rooms every year and rarely do we second guess ourselves, but I'd advise everyone to think twice about staying at the Rodeway Inn in Santa Rosa. This is an older motor court style motel on Route 66. I know it was charming once upon a time, but the room we stayed in was not charming. Mis-matched frayed towels, see through thin sheets. Noisy in room heater-air conditioning unit - we used the heat and it was loud, can't speak for the AC. Barely a dribble coming out of the shower. I know old motels didn't have many outlets, but while trying to remodel they definitely should have added a few. On the plus side, fresh paint all around. Unfortunately, they painted over everything, original woodwork, counters, you name it, a shame. Scant breakfast, one table with four chairs. The upside to that was we shared the table with a nice couple who felt similarly about their room. Perhaps we should have checked out after seeing the room, but we were tired and figured we would give it a go. We still wish we had moved on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

good place to stay, friendly front desk staff. room with continental breakfast. clean and we are glad the heater was working. Nice Mexican restaurant across the street with reasonable price and very good food. check in and check-out process was so easy. free Wi-Fi.
I think they just renovate or clean the place. we really did not see the bad side of the room.
Just for one night is ok I think. nothing special around the area.

Room Tip: ask for the room far from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alangkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Made a reservation before we arrived because the price was good and it looked nice in pictures. It looked like they tried to cover up it with paint and the room was dirty. The front office smelled like Indian food cooking, which didn't impress me. The room didn't look anything like the pictures. The carpet was dirty and the sheets didn't look clean plus there were hairs all over. New bathroom appliances didn't help any and there wasn't an outlet near the bathroom sink. Old couch that looked dirty, also. Worst motel I've stayed in and it wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Don't spend your money here. It's an older motel that is dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenholder90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
#3 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
Days Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
#10 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
#2 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
#8 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
#5 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Inn

Property: Route 66 Inn
Address: 1818 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435-2766 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Route 66 Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ground floor rooms, free wireless internet, free breakfast, fridge and microwave in all rooms, satellite TV with 120 digital channels, AAA, AARP, seniors, government rates, weekly rates, pet friendly hotel, truck and RV parking. We are also within walking distance to bar/lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Route 66 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing