We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Return Visit”

Joseph's Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Return Visit”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The service and food were decidedly different this time around. The waitress came and took our order, then proceeded to vanish. Our beverages weren't replenished after 45 minutes of waiting. I had to go find someone to refill our glasses. Someone came and filled my glass ignoring the other and left! Around 50 minutes from ordering, our food came out and it was only lukewarm. Very hard to understand why there was such a problem with service and time to prepare food as the restaurant was only half full. I was very disappointed as I was looking forward to the same dining experience as my first visit. I am not sure I will readily return to Joseph's the next time I am in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    148
    73
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining after arriving in Santa Rosa”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent advice and one has a choice of either American or Mexican food. It was enough that one had to stop at a Dollar General store for "Tums"

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent place to dine for American and Mexican Food. The Receptionist recommended it and it was fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious tamales, wonderful wait staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was too good! I over-ate both nights that I went there, partially because I had been diving all day and it was my first meal, and partly because I lacked self-control :-)
Seriously, the carne adovada and the tamales were delicious. The wait staff was friendly in spite of being tremendously busy. The prices were very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank breckmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a yen for mexican food and went to Joseph's on a recommendation from the desk clerk. It may sound silly, but an important factor I use to judge a mexican restaurant is their beans. Too many places serve you a light brown bean paste. Not Josephs. Their beans were dark and rich, consisting mostly of whole beans. Lest those who read this review think I eat only beans, I also had the chicken enchiladas which were excellent. Service was good and the prices fair. I would make a point of returning there at the next opportunity.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Burton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing