We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Neon sign... A blast from past!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mesa Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mesa Motel
Save
You added La Mesa Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neon sign... A blast from past!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Vintage motel along old Rt. 66.
Small clean room with comfortable bed, and hot shower or bath. The management is very friendly, a family owned motel since 1962.
Plain but comfortable. Price is right, too.
When traveling we need only the basics at night. This motel provided everything to make a pleasant stay.
Doris

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
38
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SAN JOSE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great place, even better folks...
A total slice of well maintained Route 66 History!!
In the same family since 1962, owned by folks who love doing what they do!
Everything worked!!!
Great bed!!!
AC COLD!
+

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I found this motel while web surfing. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I called and asked for a reservation. The nice gentleman on the other end informed me he would hold the room without a credit card. Upon arrival, check-in was prompt and I was escorted to my room. The desk person gave me the grand tour, very refreshing! The room was great especially for the rate. Very clean, wall mounted flat screen, microwave and fridge that you could actually put something in. Bed linens were fresh and crisp, towels softer than some resorts I stayed in. I told the desk person I was very pleased and would be writing a review, so Here It Is!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Two friends and i just returned from two weeks in NM and CO- The VERY affordable rooms and comfortable BEDS at La Mesa was the best we had on the whole trip ( we stayed there after a long travel day at the start and before one at the end!) It really enhanced our energy level to sleep so well ! The rooms are super clean and we three women felt very safe and sound... Right on Rte 66 and only a few miles from Santa Rosa's infamous "Blue Hole!" , do yourself a favor and go see MIKE at La Mesa-!! Thank you Mike!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This cute little vintage motel was a great value for us. The price was very reasonable, the beds were comfy, the rooms were clean and quiet, and the owner was extremely helpful both times we (my two friends and I) stayed there. It's not fancy or luxurious, but you could do a LOT worse with a budget hotel.

Room Tip: (no pool or fitness center)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeLani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here on my way across the country driving by myself. It was just as nice and as clean and charming as all the previous reviews claimed. The owner was pleasant and accommodating. The price was perfect for traveling on a budget. The room I stayed in was small, but cozy, and didn't need to be any larger. I had coffee, a TV, frig and microwave - what more could I ask for at about $43 for a night! I prefer to support small businesses rather than big corporations if I can, and this place is an easy way to accomplish that. The nostalgia of Rt. 66 is a big plus. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I read the few reviews and decided this place was worth a shot. It is simple (like me) and very, very clean. Has everything a person needs ... maybe not everything a lot of people want - but worked wonderfully for me!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappySoloCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
#3 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
BEST WESTERN Santa Rosa Inn
#2 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Rosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
Hampton Inn Santa Rosa
#5 of 16 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
Quality Inn Santa Rosa
#8 of 16 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mesa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mesa Motel

Property: La Mesa Motel
Address: 2415 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM 88435-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing