We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As recommended by Walter White on "Breaking Bad"”
Review of Tinkertown Museum

Tinkertown Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A "museum" built out of concrete and 55,000 bottles that houses 20,000 handcarved miniatures.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Remember the flashback scene at the start of the third-to-last episode, Ozymandias, Walt calls his wife from the desert with a fake excuse, then says, "Maybe we can head up to Turquoise Trail and stop at Tinkertown, maybe grab some lunch in Madrid."

Well, you can see that Tinkertown would enthrall a geek like Walter White, not to mention the rest of us. It is a private universe of characters who represent the life's work of a hobbyist whose widow operates the village as a tribute both to him and to joie de vivre in general. Scenes are painstakingly created with equal dollops of perspiration and devious humor. The running theme is that life is to be enjoyed, no matter how old you are.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ross ward"
in 40 reviews
"turquoise trail"
in 39 reviews
"glass bottles"
in 15 reviews
"hand carved"
in 10 reviews
"bring quarters"
in 7 reviews
"porta potty"
in 9 reviews
"miniature scenes"
in 5 reviews
"sandia crest"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 27 reviews
"all ages"
in 19 reviews
"fortune teller"
in 12 reviews
"wood carvings"
in 4 reviews
"old west"
in 10 reviews
"roadside attraction"
in 5 reviews
"folk art"
in 16 reviews
"could spend hours"
in 5 reviews
"his life"
in 4 reviews
Filter

233 - 237 of 325 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great place! Fun, funky, kitschy, nostalgic, and all around FANTASTIC! A good place to explore for adults and for children to learn about the past through the collections and creativity of the creator, RJ Ward. He collected and crafted things rarely seen anymore.The place is lovingly run by his wife Carla now, a most friendly woman who gladly shares info about the museum and its making. Take your time and look all around. There is a lot to see! What a great deal for only $3 a person. Watch your head though as many areas have low clearance for tall folks. just bend down a bit.
Great gift shop too with all sorts of items, large and small! We bought a locally made chainsaw-carved bear. That purchase was a terrific deal considering ones in local galleries were going for 3x the price. A five star experience overall! I didn't want to leave.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank EinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I loved Tinkertown Museum! It is a wonderful trip back to a time when toys and their presentation were a source of wonder to kids. The museum has an extensive collection and the display is great.
I felt like a kid, looking at Christmas windows!! The other aspect to the museum which kept a smile on my face throughout was the humor used in the exhibits and their explanations.
My husband and I truly loved our trip back to our childhood!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Jill R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

On a recent vacation to the area, I found one of their brochures in the lobby of our hotel. I knew I just had to visit this unique place. It was a lovely but remote drive to get there, and once there you could easily spend a few hours looking around.
40 years in the making, I loved the sign that read "while you watching TV I was fiddling". Old time machines like Esmeralda that read our fortunes, Uncle Sam machine, miniature railroad, wedding cake toppers through the decades, so many things to see you just need to stop and take it all in. A feel good place that is sure to delight the young and old, bring quarters to put in the machines and just enjoy at a leisurely pace. I would definitely recommend a visit for all ages.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank pemeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Amazing relics from a time long lost. Extremely inexpensive for what awaits your eyes. Very friendly curator. Exceptional talent and vision are brought to life in this magnificent museum. A definitely unique experience and a breath of fresh air in this age of fast paced frenzy.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Kindredspirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinkertown Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tinkertown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing