We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fite Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 6 nights at Fite Ranch while visiting the Bosque del Apache and White Sands National Park. Our stay was absolutely delightful and the BnB is conveniently located near the Bosque. We stayed in Dean's room and had 2 bedrooms, a full living room, kitchen and bath. If you want to get away from it ALL, this is the place to stay - 21,000+ acres, limited cell service and no wi-fi....We spent New Years Eve, a new moon night, out on the ranch photographing star points and star trails. Linda and Dewey stock the kitchen well with breakfast items. If you don't want to make the 20+ mile round trip to Socorro for dining and food, we suggest shopping when you land in Albuquerque and just make the best of it. We had lunch at the Owl's Bar and the San Antonio Cranes Mexican restaurant. Unfortunately, the Buckhorn was closed every time we tried to visit and we hear from locals that place has the best burgers....maybe next time. Thank you for providing a great place to get refreshed to start the New Year 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patteski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Rolls Mountain Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Fite Ranch and we loved it! We stayed 2 nights for a trip to Bosque del Apache, which is only 15-20 min away. You cannot find a more gracious host in Linda, she was wonderful-even though we had to change our plans to visit several times before we got there. The ranch is scenic and the rooms are beautiful and full of character. As a photographer you could spend a lot of time shooting around the ranch! The rooms were so comfortable and inviting that I found it hard to leave the ranch to go out and about - just liked hanging out at the ranch.
The kitchen was very well stocked with juices, coffee, milk, cereals, drinks and every day Linda brought wonderful muffins. We had a chance to look at other rooms at the ranch as well (we stayed in the Evelyn Fite suite) and they were all beautifully done. This will not be our last trip to this destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Fite Ranch for two nights while visiting Bosque Del Apache refuge. This place certainly has some magical quality to it. My wife absolutely loved it. Each unit is like a super nice large one bedroom house in a full natural ranch setting. Host Linda stocked the kitchen with everything needed for a nice breakfast, particularly muffins are great.

Mornings we woke up to the chirping of the birds and nights went to bed after seeing the night sky star-struck! I took my first night sky photos here. Bosque Del Apache is just 15 minutes from the ranch. After seeing the ranch I thought we should have planned our NM trip based on staying at the Fite Ranch.

What a lovely place! My only regret is only staying there for two nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

While planning a photographic trip to nearby Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge, one important factor was to select a quiet inn located relatively close to the wildlife refuge. Not only is Fite Ranch B&B in close proximity to Bosque del Apache NWR, the inn is also one of the most welcoming and comfortable places at which I have ever stayed.

First of all, Fite Ranch B&B is situated near the entrance to Bosque del Apache, about 25" away, a plus when rising at 4:30 am in order to be in place for the morning blast off of upwards of 40,000 migrant snow geese overwintering at Bosque in late Fall into early Winter. Our mornings were long at the refuge for there is so much to observe and photograph in the warm autumn sunlight. Since our lodging at Fite Ranch was so near to Bosque, my husband and I would return to the inn around 11:30 for a quick lunch, a short rest and downloading of photos before venturing out to Bosque again in late afternoon for the pm sunset show of returning sandhill cranes. Bosque is a splendid place and well worth the time for bird/wildlife watchers and wildlife photographers. One may also see coyotes, deer, javelinas and all sorts of other feathered and furry wild critters.

My husband and I stayed in two rooms at Fite Ranch (while this seems odd, when we left Fite Ranch for another New Mexico destination, we ended up cutting that short in order to return to Fite Ranch and Bosque for more fabulous wildlife opportunities). The Evelyn Fite Suite and the Cody Riddle Suite were both attractively decorated as well as comfortable. Best of all, they each had a full kitchen, a plus for our stay. Nearby Socorro, about 15 miles north of Fite Ranch has grocers that came in handy for food supplies during our stay. Since we spent nearly every waking moment at Bosque del Apache, having quick meals available for dinner and a refrigerator to keep treats for forays into Bosque at the ready was perfect. There are a couple of restaurants available in San Antonio but we never did get to one of them due to being so busy with the birds. One can also drive farther north to Socorro for more meal choices if intent upon eating out. I confess we were so tired at day's end that we enjoyed the ability to prepare easy meals in our suite at day's end.

Hostess Linda is charming, a very nice helpful lady who obviously takes great pride in making her guests welcome and happy. The two rooms we stayed in were decorated by Linda with good taste and an eye for color and design that instantly made us feel we were at home. There is no cookie cutter same-old-same-old motel room experience at Fite Ranch! The inn has panache and style. Additionally, the rooms were spotless, a huge plus in our book. Considering ample dust in the area, I don't know how Linda keeps the place so clean. (Note: as a courtesy toward Linda I would suggest removing one's shoes upon entering one's suite and using a pair of house slippers indoors to keep the dust down.) The price for overnight stays is reasonable considering a full apartment is part of the tariff....that beats a cramped motel room any day!

I value quiet in lodgings; hearing someone clumping around overhead with a heavy tread or being subjected to loud snoring or talking from a room next door is a pet peeve of mine. Fite Ranch was so quiet with none of those problems. Located outside of town on a working cattle ranch, about the only noise you'll hear is the occasional lowing of a cow. Desert views are lovely from the inn. Step outside at night to have a look at the inky velvet blackness filled with glittering stars overhead while listening to the desert silence. What a special place this is.

Breakfast is self serve in one's room at Fite Ranch. Linda provides muffins on a daily basis (they made an excellent mid-morning snack for us when out at the refuge) plus milk, several types of juice, fruit (apples and bananas) and cereals are also on hand. You may wish to supplement your breakfast with other items from a Socorro grocer if accustomed to a huge breakfast.

One thing to note is that a nearby missile range occasionally performs missile tests. When this happens, Fite Ranch must be evacuated for the duration of the tests. One may be asked to leave one's room from 6:30 am to 11 am or some other prescribed time frame. This is not a problem for early risers but if you enjoy sleeping in, you sweet dreams may be interrupted. During our visit there were a couple of missile launchings but since we were out of the inn by c 5 am, this never inconvenienced us. The missile tests are infrequent and may not occur for a couple weeks and then two or three will be held within days of each other.

During our stay in December 2012 there was no Internet service provided at Fite Ranch. My cell phone was occasionally able to pick up a weak signal at Fite Ranch but mostly I just checked messages on my phone while in the environs of Bosque del Apache where a strong signal was often available.

If you prefer a motel/hotel setting with Internet service perhaps the Fite Ranch B&B is not your style but if you fancy staying away from city lights and noise with only brilliant stars overhead, check Fite Ranch out. It is a winner in every way.

Room Tip: The Evelyn Fite Suite offers two bedrooms, perfect for a small family or travelers wishing for two s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whalegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at Fite Ranch while visiting Bosque del Apache NWR. The place was just perfect. The accommodation was large and spacious, and beautifully decorated in a western motif. No detail is too small not to be "western"-- the plates have a brand pattern, the furnishings are western ranch, and the wall hangings are of horses and cows. Very, very tasteful. The peace and solitude were wonderful, and the stars were gorgeous. The housing unit was spotlessly clean, the bathroom and kitchen were both large and fully stocked, and the porch and yard added a nice touch. You are right on the ranch, and far removed from all the sprawl surrounding the interstate. We could easily live in the unit we stayed in.

The owner Linda is gracious and accommodating; she told us something of the ranch's history and is obviously proud of her accomplishments. She also delivers great muffins each day for the upcoming day's breakfast. There are plenty of breakfast makings -- make-your-own is the way we like it, as we were getting very early starts for bird watching.

It will be hard to ever stay at an interstate chain motel after experiencing places like Fite Ranch. I would recommend Fite to anyone and everyone without hesitation. We have already made our plans to return next year. We are so glad that places like this exist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

When looking for a place to stay close to Bosque, I found this B&B. We came for the birds, but found another treasure in this ranch. Cows, quiet, unique decor, comfy bed, and all you need in every room. Attention to detail for the kitchen and bathroom and all of the rooms. Spacious accommodation as we stayed in the two bedroom(Dean's room) and we were able to spread out all of the photo gear we had to get ready for each day. Clean and spotless. The owners brought fresh muffins each day and the frig was stocked with breakfast items. Sometimes I am disappointed in my housing and the location, but this was absolutely perfect!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
237 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

this was by far, our favorite place on our vacation. Stayed 3 nights while visiting the Bosque del Apache. Remote- beautiful- and only 20 minutes from the Bosque. Stars? Have never seen so many! The lodging itself was wonderful! Every attention to detail in the furnishing, linens, decor... there was nothing amiss at all! Roomy-- full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath. Bedroom had a queen bed, dressing table, large wardrobe--
Breakfast was not what you'd expect for a B and B, but.... we liked it even better. Cupboards and fridge were stocked with coffees, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and milk. Fresh muffins arrived each evening for the next morning's breakfast. It is quite perfect for those pre-dawn departures to the Bosque.
I cannot say enough about how perfect this place was inside and out!
Even better than the lodging was the hostess and owner. WHAT a doll! You'll not find a sweeter person anywhere. She sat and chatted with us for quite some time and in the course of converstaion, I mentioned our new found love of the local green chiles. Would you believe she placed 2 bags of frozen chiles she'd harvested in our freezer for us to take home. How cool is that? My husband and I agree that we've not stayed in a better place in the 7 years we've been taking road trips. 5 stars, this place! Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wings1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 10 in Socorro
243 reviews
15.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
102 reviews
15.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#8 of 10 in Socorro
157 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Socorro Hotel & Suites
14.6 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#9 of 10 in Socorro
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fite Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fite Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fite Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fite Ranch Road, PO Box 205, San Antonio, NM 87832
Location: United States > New Mexico > San Antonio
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing