We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm and Welcoming Gateway to the Refuge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Blanca Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The Casa Blanca matches our highest criteria for a b & b: friendly, comfortable, clean, with a delicious breakfast! Phoebe and Phil are engaging people who know the area well, especially the Bosque de Apache, where Phil used to be the manager. Phoebe has run the Casa Blanca for 20 years, hosting many wildlife enthusiasts, and understands their needs and interests. Coffee and snacks are ready for those rising pre-dawn to catch the astounding, daily "fly out" of the Snow Geese and Sandhill Cranes during the winter months. Paintings and photographs of wildlife, and samples of Phil's hand -turned wooden bowls fill the house, as well as bookcases reflecting the diverse tastes of two book-lovers. The Refuge is just minutes away, as is Interstate 25, so that even those just needing a good place to stay the night will find their own refuge at the Casa Blanca.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2010

I stayed in Casa Blanca for 3 nights. Here is what it was like...
Wake up from a beautiful sleep in well appointed beds. Shower in a newly renovated bathroom and enjoy the quaint adobe room. Grab coffee and homemade breads and fruit and get to Bosque del Apache before sunrise.
Watch 40,000 snow geese fly over your head and 17,000 sand hill cranes against an amazing sunrise. Drive around and catch sight of dozens of birds and mammals (we saw coyote, lynx, eagles, kestrels, hawks....we did not see the mountain lion).
Go home and have a delicious home made breakfast and chat with other birders. Ask Phil (the former manager of Bosque) all sorts of questions about what you saw.
Get Phil to show you his shop and watch him turn the most beautiful bowls which are for sale! Buy a few to take home. They are one of a kind and only available here.
Nap, lunch on your own. Cook if you want.
Make the sunset and watch the snow geese and sand hill cranes return.
Sleep and repeat. Amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Casa Blanca for five of the past seven years, always during the week of Thanksgiving, as an excellent bonus of Thanksgiving with Phoebe Wood (owner) and Phil Norton (former Bosque del Apache NWR manager, expect great stories!), is getting invited to their gourmet T-day banquet! This B&B provides proximity to the refuge (only eight miles, versus nearly 20, if you stay in Socorro), hot coffee and morning snacks (including excellent homemade banana bread!) for the predawn pilgrimage to the refuge for "Blast Off," and an excellent hot breakfast around 8:30 a.m. (a tad later for the diehard photographers who often arrive a bit late for breakfast), when you return from the chilly yet sublime mornings at the refuge. Also, their clean and welcoming B&B offers some of the coziest bedding and comforters I've yet come across in my travels. Plus, they are really nice hosts! And I am pretty sure you'd pay more for generic accommodations in Socorro, so why not stay at a place with welcoming hosts that is conveniently located just north of the refuge?!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jana_shaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a charming and comfortable place. Stayed in the Crane room which has a small but complete bath. The bed was excellent. The breakfast was complete and satisfying. Really looking forward to an opportunity to go back. Phoebe and Phil are interesting people to be around and they run a good house.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMB099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Did you ever stay in a place and feel so at home? Well, that is what Casa Blanca is all about.
The environment is very welcoming and so are the owners, Phil and Phoebe.
Picture an adobe home with beautiful antiques, wonderful breakfast in the morning and a stones throw to the Bosque Del Apache.
It is definitely on our list to stay when we are in the area. They will leave a light on for you.
LL

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithsonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Casa Blanca many times over the years. We keep coming back! You can probably guess why ... Phoebe and Phil and wonderful hosts / welcoming and accomodating to guests needs. Hearty delicious breakfasts - you'll never go hungry! Wake up to the smell of the coffee perking in the kitchen as you get dressed early to go out to the Bosque to see the 'fly-out'. Enjoy a cozy living room to read and relax in during the evenings.

You won't regret your stay ... and you'll probably come back again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank earthwalkerdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Very gracious and helpful hosts. Comfortable down home ambience with a well stocked cookie jar always available along with fresh fruit. Convenient outside entrance to our rooms. Very quiet at night. Close to Bosque del Apache and an easy walk to the Owl Cafe, and the Buckhorn Bar and Grill. Really wonderful breakfasts-all homemade and organic when possible. No wonder I gained weight despite all the hiking! Looking forward to staying here again when we come back to NM. Good idea to reserve ahead-this place seems to stay fully occupied during its operating months. Phoebe and Phil are the ultimate inn keepers. Phil retired after managing the Bosque del Apache NWR, and is a (modest) wealth of knowledge.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msburddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
10.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 10 in Socorro
248 reviews
11.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#8 of 10 in Socorro
169 reviews
10.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
10.9 mi away
Best Western Socorro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 Montoya Street, PO Box 31, San Antonio, NM 87832
Location: United States > New Mexico > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blanca B&B is a Victorian style adobe family home. It was built in 1880 and at one time was one of the largest houses in the village of San Antonio. The bed and breakfast has three rooms with private baths. The business has been in operation since 1989 and is still owned by Phoebe Wood. The bed and breakfast is open on a seasonal basis from October through March and primarily attracts guests who are visiting the Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge which is located ten minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Hotel San Antonio
Casa Blanca Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing