We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, horroble accomodation. 2 stars maximum. Stay away if you like comfort of 4 stars and up!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo Hills Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Location was nice as they have a lodge in an area with some "wildlife" like zebra's, giraffes, wildebeasts and antilopes.

We booked this as a 4 star accomodation like pointed out on the website but actually it was terrible. The certificate of the council for the 4 stars is valid untill july 2007 and the place has been dusted around that period for the last time also... It is old and we also got a terrible meal the evening we arrived.. We decided to do the morning game drive wich was nice due to the efforts of Curt (he knows a lot about the animals). Had dinner in Plettenberg Bay and got out the next morning as early as we could.

If you are allergic to Dust or are astmatic in any way than stay out of this accomodation.

Must say the owners are very kind put that doesnot make up for lack of comfort especially when your travelling with small kids like us. This was the 5th accomodation we stayed in in South Africa and we stayed only in 4 stars accomodations and this had nothing to do with that, 2 stars at the most...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FascinatioFamilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

We booked the accomodation including BBQ, the game drive and guided walk

accommodation:
- the cottage was really nice and spacious, a bit rustic but thats basically the intention (this was a complimentary upgrade thx again)
- tony, maria and carmen were really nice, helpful and friendly
- food was very good and extremly nicely decorated; exceeded expectation
- BBQ: excellent food, very nice atmosphere, good to learn a bit about the country and the situation of the people

Game drive / guided walk:
- not worth to do it, if you know Addo or other bigger reserves
- good information about the animals like zebras, gnus and wildebeest (tour deducted by Curt)
- interesting demonstration of different snakes (thx Curt)

priceing policy:
- a bit confusing is if you book via the website becausw it was for us not so clear that we purchased basically 2 packages on top of the accomodation
- the flyer in the lodge is much clearer: accomodation is seperated form the game drive and the guided walk in the morning
- Recommendation: Phone them up an make clear what you want and intend to do

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeinMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Buffalo Hills sits at the end of a gravel road, about 20 minutes outside Plett. You enter through a steel gate, heeding the signs that wild animals are on the loose. But the greeting is warming and we found the hosts Tony and Maria and all their staff to be unfailingly charming, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. And of course giraffes, gnus and assorted antelopes and zebras roaming, plus who knows what you might find with one of the rangers!
Most people seem to stay for only 1 to 3 nights but we spent a week here, making us long term residents. There are game, river or forest walk every day at 07.30, and a game drive at 16.00, ending up in the lodge's distillery. The Mampoer Chili, hot as hell and 60 proof, is a hooch for real men! As for the food, breakfast is fab, and dinner is a treat. Extra kilos guaranteed. It is a great place from which to explore the many attractions along this stretch of the Garden coast, whilst not unpacking and repacking every other night, if you stay as long as we did.
One important word of warning - dinner is only at 8 so children need a bit of staying power until then (they all seem to manage it, and our 2 and 6 year olds did!); but if they then need putting to bed, you are strongly advised to book accommodation in or near the main lodge so that you can then get back to join the other adults. Make sure you don't book a tent on the other side of the river, some ten minutes' walk away, or you'll end up on babysitting duty ealier than you want! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

How is it ever possible that this place can have a 4 star SA Grading? Then Botlierskop, Buffelsdrift and Aquala should be 7 stars!!! My family of 6 never stay in 3-star places and the website definately looked 4 stars but even my kids of 6,8,11 and 12 were horrified to stay in the Lodge!! If it wasnt for the kindness of the Jewish girl and her husband, we would not even unpacked our bags! The rooms were very uncomfortable with no suitcase racks, and the bathroom was a nightmare!!! No workingspace. I had to put my Vanity case either on the toiletseat or on the floor to use my toiletries. After one person showered, everything was wet because of awfull bathmats and in the morning there were wormlike things in the bath. The Springbokvelletjie that was very worn next to the bed was the last place I wanted to wipe my feet before I got into the bed. The gamedrive was a joke. We travel a lot but this was the worse stay ever. I am definately going to ask the SA Grading Counsil to explain to me how they justify 4 stars to this establishment.
I would seriously recommend the owner to check into his individual rooms and feel how much it is lacking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bolandivory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The staff are very friendly and welcoming.thats were the good points end we had the room next to the breakfast room and were woken at 5.30 am by screaming children and even louder parents.the game drive was full and we had no where to sit.so we packed our bags and left.I would not advise couples to stay unless you are deaf.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buggsi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I loved Buffalo Hills. Its exactly as it says on the tin; a small, friendly reserve where you really really spoilt. The rooms are big and attractive, and whilst there isnt a huge amount of game, it doesnt bother you when you're sat eating breakfast in the middle of it all. Its small but that means it feels intimate and friendly. On an evening Tony & Maria (great hosts) hold a big braai with GREAT food. We ate in very good restaurants but the home cooking here was wonderful!!!
I would definately return!!! (In fact i will, next year!)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

What an amazing place to stay overnight ! Its the Gardenroute - but it seems to be in the middle of Africa. Wildlife pur, wonderful setting, luxurious Safari Tents for the "Out of Africa" feeling - but the most stunning of all: true peace and silence. No noise pollution,
only the bucks , Zebras , Elands ...We liked the little Baby Giraffe most, so cute !
Can really recommend a stay here , its absolute value for money, delicious dinner ( we had Eland, great !) at the boma , an excellent Game drive Guide and last but not least the morning walk - as close to nature as you can get. It was like getting an extra lesson in botanic ! We'll come back, we promise! John and Annette, Berlin

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettiBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris

Address: R340 Wittedrift Uniondale | near Plettenberg Bay PO Box 1321, Buffalo Hills Game Reserve 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Buffalo Hills Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo Hills Game Reserve
Price Range: $276 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty and tranquility of Africa in the unique, malaria-free Cape Garden Route. All our accommodation rates include Safari Game Drives & Safari Game Walks! Accommodation rates include dinner, bed & breakfast in our Luxury Lodge or our Luxury En-Suite Safari Tents and you get a free afternoon Safari Game Drive, a Guided Morning Safari Walk and a tour and mampoer tasting at our unique cultural attraction - the Nyati jjj Distillery. What's the greatest luxury when you're on safari? A hot shower in the outdoors, of course - and that's exactly what you'll be able to enjoy when our four new luxury tents open for guests later this month. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing