We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo Hills Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We spent three fantastic days at Buffalo Hills and would gladly have stayed for another three if only we had had the time. Our cottage was clean, comfortable and charmingly rustic, the view over grazing zebras and antilopes was delightfully exotic and the game drives and walks were truly enlightening. But Buffalo Hill's very best asset is the lovely people we got to know there: Tony and Maria who provided delicious meals and interesting conversation at the dinner table, and the very knowledgable Kurt who took us for amazing walks in the African wilderness. They all made our stay very special. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne_rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Buffalo Hills has rooms and cottages, and a lot of animals: giraffes, zebras, bonteboks, springboks elands and - of course - buffalos.

There are a lot of game reserves, but buffalo hills is special, for 2 reasons:

First there are amazing tented lodges right within bushes and trees in the middle of the game reserve. With a spectacular view all around you, especially because you can roll up the whole wall and have the biggest possible window (with flyscreen, no worries). The Tents have solid wooden floors and a ensuite bathrooms with big windows too. So you can sit in the tub watching birds and giraffes right around you... :-)

Second Tony & Maria Kinahan make the best braai (BBQ) we have met in RSA. All guests meet around the big fire, have a first drink, while Tony is preparing the meat, game and fish on the live coal. Lateron everyone sits together at a large table and enjoys a delicious 3 course menue. A little bit like King Arthurs table. :-) Even so we had to get to bed earlier than the rest of the circle (kids...), we had two wondeful nights at the Kinahan's braai. Thanks very much!

Very friendly and lovely hosts, amazing nature, wonderful views, many anymals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Buffalo Hills for 2 nights, and were actually so charmed by this amazing and quiet location that we decided to spend 2 more nights there on our way back.
I have very rarely been in such relaxing place, offering a magnificent view on the wide land, where we could enjoy and observe the peaceful wildlife while taking a sun bathing outdoor breakfast, cooked by the lovely Maria.

She and her husband Tony always made us feel like at home (only better!) thanks to their extreme kindness. We ended up every evening having late conversations in the Boma around the fire and a delicious meal (homemade, of course!), providing us various tastes of Africa! Among one of them you would definitely like to try out the Mampoer, traditionnal African liquor distilled within the Reserve.

Being located along the Garden Route, we could enjoy our days by driving to various attractions such as Tsitsikamma National Park, the city of Knysna, Pletenberg bay, etc...
But before that, we enjoyed listening to Curt and his incredible knowledge of flora/fauna (especially snakes!) during a pleasant and invigorating morning walk.

To sum up, it was for me and my girlfriend an extremely pleasant stay, where I felt very close to nature as well as very comfortable: a highlight of my South African journey!

Room Tip: En-Suite Bedroom
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathieu_dupuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had an amazing couple of days at Bufallo Hills. The luxury tents were above our expectations. Decorated with love and attention to the detail and equipped with all you need to make your stay enjoyable and pleasant. Even the heaters were on on our arrival, fresh flowers and a chocolate next to the bed. I had a bath in the jacuzzi early morning, sipping a cup of coffee and watching the monkeys playing in the trees. The evenings were just a spectacular, relaxing on our privte the wooden deck, with a glass of wine and enjoying the sunset and the view towards the hills, while zebras and wildebeast were entertaining us.
The ultimate treat was the outside dinner around the fire. Maria cooked up a storm every evening and served the most delicous meals every night.
Plettenberg has so much to offer, but we couldn't bring ourselves to leave the Lodge, but rather enjoyed the wonderful surroundings, the peace and tranquility and the well guided safari walks or drives on the property.
Than kyou so much for your excellent hospitality Tony and Maria.we hope to be back soon. Kristin, Stefan and the girls

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggyvisserfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Maria's home cooking and Tony's skill at the fire (barbeque) makes for great breakfasts and dinner (with lots of homemade and homebaked treats - like ice-cream and croissants). Dinner-time conversations around the fire and the dining room table are very relaxing and a good way to end the day.

Game drives and morning walks were very interesting - thanks Kurt for sharing all your knowledge and experience with us (yes, even the snakes!).

Tented accommodation close to the Mampoer distillery has seen its heyday a few years ago and even though it is time for some TLC and maintenance, our tent still provided a comfortable room and bathroom with fantastic view. Afternoons can get very hot in and around the tents, with nowhere to hide or sit in the shade!

Overall an enjoyable experience in a relaxed setting.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMT555_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Location was nice as they have a lodge in an area with some "wildlife" like zebra's, giraffes, wildebeasts and antilopes.

We booked this as a 4 star accomodation like pointed out on the website but actually it was terrible. The certificate of the council for the 4 stars is valid untill july 2007 and the place has been dusted around that period for the last time also... It is old and we also got a terrible meal the evening we arrived.. We decided to do the morning game drive wich was nice due to the efforts of Curt (he knows a lot about the animals). Had dinner in Plettenberg Bay and got out the next morning as early as we could.

If you are allergic to Dust or are astmatic in any way than stay out of this accomodation.

Must say the owners are very kind put that doesnot make up for lack of comfort especially when your travelling with small kids like us. This was the 5th accomodation we stayed in in South Africa and we stayed only in 4 stars accomodations and this had nothing to do with that, 2 stars at the most...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FascinatioFamilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We booked the accomodation including BBQ, the game drive and guided walk

accommodation:
- the cottage was really nice and spacious, a bit rustic but thats basically the intention (this was a complimentary upgrade thx again)
- tony, maria and carmen were really nice, helpful and friendly
- food was very good and extremly nicely decorated; exceeded expectation
- BBQ: excellent food, very nice atmosphere, good to learn a bit about the country and the situation of the people

Game drive / guided walk:
- not worth to do it, if you know Addo or other bigger reserves
- good information about the animals like zebras, gnus and wildebeest (tour deducted by Curt)
- interesting demonstration of different snakes (thx Curt)

priceing policy:
- a bit confusing is if you book via the website becausw it was for us not so clear that we purchased basically 2 packages on top of the accomodation
- the flyer in the lodge is much clearer: accomodation is seperated form the game drive and the guided walk in the morning
- Recommendation: Phone them up an make clear what you want and intend to do

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeinMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris

Address: R340 Wittedrift Uniondale | near Plettenberg Bay PO Box 1321, Buffalo Hills Game Reserve 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Buffalo Hills Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo Hills Game Reserve
Price Range: $250 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buffalo Hills Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty and tranquility of Africa in the unique, malaria-free Cape Garden Route. All our accommodation rates include Safari Game Drives & Safari Game Walks! Accommodation rates include dinner, bed & breakfast in our Luxury Lodge or our Luxury En-Suite Safari Tents and you get a free afternoon Safari Game Drive, a Guided Morning Safari Walk and a tour and mampoer tasting at our unique cultural attraction - the Nyati jjj Distillery. What's the greatest luxury when you're on safari? A hot shower in the outdoors, of course - and that's exactly what you'll be able to enjoy when our four new luxury tents open for guests later this month. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing