We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
284
29
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
29
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhigh teagame driveswatering holedriving skillsdried fruitoutstanding guideoutdoor showerthe reservenight guardsinging and dancingamarula coffeemid morningearly morning drivesprivate deckhot towelsawesome experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 326 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The design of a lodge melting into the magnificent African bush is exceptional and even more so upon getting engaged under a maroela tree on a private deck with star filled skies, fantastic food, great staff and great game viewing! The staff has been very accommodating in making the engagement a surprise and special occasion.

Christian Krone

Room Tip: Chalt no 5 in front of the waterhole.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Christian

We are pleased that your engagement in a unique scenery was a complete success - congratulations! Although we did not organize the magnificent starry sky (it is automatically present there for the current season most of the time), we are pleased to hear that we were able to contribute with a good service and little surprises for your special dinner on the deck. It was an honor for us that you have selected for such an occasion Rhulani, and also for our team, your celebration was a special moment.
Again, good luck to you and your future wife, and hopefully, we can welcome you soon again at Rhulani.

Marisa & Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 days in rhulani. We had the most outstanding week. This lodge has everything to make a person feel like royalty. First of all the staff are wonderful, and as the reviews before said, nothing was too much and everything was one with a wonderful attitude. The smiles and cheery greetings started our days off. The food was of a very high quality and my husband and I enjoyed every meal. The suite was great and overlooked the waterhole where we watched some of the animals come to drink, everything was spotless, kept so by Ruth. A wonderful touch was a fire in our room at night.....loved it.
Jacques our guide was wonderful. So knowledgable and loved what he did and it rubbed off on us. We alo loved what he did.He showed us all the animals we wanted to see including Leopard and cheetah, so fantastic. So we thank him for making our trip so special as well as Grant and the rest of the staff.
We have one small thing to say that is a negative. We felt that the camp needs a little more security at night walking back to the room with just a flashlight, was not really good enough. Maybe the camp needs a little ore fencing to keep it more secure.
We are back in Néw York and keep on dreaming about our wonderful and exciting trip to Rhulani and hope to one day return to that little slice of heaven. Thanks to all who made it so special.


Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bobbaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Guest
After 7 days at Rhulani we were very curious to get your feedback, and we are grateful that you have taken the time to share your impressions with us. With your gracious comment you have encouraged many travelers to experience the wilderness for more than just a quick safari aiming to see as many animals as possible in a short period of time. We are very pleased to know that you and your husband have found a little piece of heaven in Rhulani, and that our lodge and the staff have all helped to make your visit an unforgettable experience.
We are sorry to hear that the walk back to the chalet after dinner was perceived as not a hundred percent safe. We will arrange a brighter light as soon as possible and we want to assure you that you were actually very safe at all times. In addition, Grant is an impressive guy and wild animals immediately get scared when they see him :-).
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rhulani is a great place to stay when you're visiting Madikwe. Not only is the staff wonderfully accommodating, but the lodging is excellent, the game drives were first-class, and the food was wonderful. First, the staff has a can-do attitude, which, as I've mentioned in other reviews, is often sorely lacking in this region. Anything you want, they will bring. Our chalet was nicely appointed, and we had a great deck from which to overlook the bush. In fact, I really like Rhulani's view: you have a sweeping view over the surrounding valley and hills. Our game drive was top-notch, enough said. The ranger was knowledgeable about everything (even the stars!) and he was in constant contact with other rangers about the location of wildlife, including the tracking of a huge herd of buffalo. Finally, the food was excellently prepared and diverse.

I highly recommend Rhulani.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest

First I want to thank you very much that in your frequent trips to Madikwe, you and your family have recently visited our Rhulani Safari Lodge. I have carefully read your TripAdvisor comments, also the ones from your previous experiences at other lodges. I must say, I am very impressed with how in such stressful times, where the demands are getting higher and higher, you succeed in enjoying your leisure time to the fullest, and I congratulate you for the ability to focus on the wonderful experiences the bush and the wildlife have to offer.

Of course we are very pleased to hear that we were successful in offering you a wonderful stay at Rhulani also. Especially one of your points I would like to comment: The "Can Do"-mentality of our staff. Since my wife Marisa and I have taken over this magnificent lodge, it is very important to us that not only our guests can spend a fantastic time (which is our first priority), but also our employees at Rhulani are feeling very well, and almost like home. We have an ambitious goal to constantly improve the working conditions of our staff, and to listen to their concerns and wishes. It is our belief that the friendliness of the staff can not be trained, it must come out naturally, and be the result of a general satisfaction with the environment, the daily work, and with a great team, so it is important for us to constantly work on all those aspects.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you continue to make wonderful experiences in Madikwe, enjoy leisure time in the bush, and I hope you will also soon come back to Rhulani.

Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had travelled a long way for what we hoped would be a truly magical experience of a lifetime and we were not disappointed in the least.

The Rhulani Lodge accommodation, game drives, hospitable service and very experienced and knowledgable ranger in Jacques exemplified what a safari holiday should be and we came away having experienced one of our best ever holidays.

In fact our two young boys now want to become game rangers themselves when they grow up!

We hope to return one day to find the elusive Lalapanzi!

Thank you Jeanette, Jacques and all the staff at Rhulani for a magical experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARONBUFFREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear guest

we are very pleased that you have had such a nice time with your family at our Rhulani Safari Lodge. But we would especially like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences on Tripadvisor.

My wife Marisa (from Argentina) and I (Swiss) live currently in Brazil and have taken over this wonderful lodge recently. We have an intensive contact with the Lodge Manager (Grant) and make regular trips to Rhulani, but it is of course very important fur us that we are informed about guests experiences via this channel, and know how Rhulani´s infrastructure, service and friendliness of staff is experienced on-site. It's our main ambition to continuously upgrade the five star quality of Rhulani at a reasonable price level, and that all our guests have such a unique experience as you had.

Thanks again, and have fun with their children on the way for becoming a real Ranger!

Sincerely,
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our first time in South Africa and at the Madikwe reserve. We chose the Madikwe Reserve and specifically the Rhulani lodge due to its reputation of being family friendly. My husband and I and our twin 6 years were at Rhulani during the Easter weekend and we were not disappointed. Right from the start of the experience, we were treated to a five star service. The rooms, the lodge, the food, guides and lodge staff were unbelievable. We unfortunately didn't see a Leopard but we saw all the other big 5 numerous times. Highlight was tracking the male lion at night in the middle of the bush and then watching / listening it "roar"...amazing. Our guide (Grant) was clearly one of the more experienced guides within the whole reserve...many of the other guides seemed to refer to him and he always was in the right place at the right time. Grant was fantastic with the kids. The lodge staff were especially fantastic. They tailored every meal for our children how have food allergies and also assisted with a surprise easter egg hunt while we were on a morning game drive. Every request was met with a kind smile and a sincere "my pleasure". The food was lots and was very delicious. The individual cabins were very spacious and the private individual decks with soaker tubs were used lots in between game drives. All in all, if you're looking for 5 star service at a reasonable price, Rhulani is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbarrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews