We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place of Rest...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“The Place of Rest...”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My family have stayed at Rhulani 6 times over the past few years. Each time we return we fall a little deeper in love. The staff are amongst the best rangers you will ever encounter in SA. The food is sublime and the accommodation luxurious and beautifully appointed with private plunge pool and outdoor shower.

My 3 year old has been spoiled for life but in a good way. On her first expedition to the African bush she saw Lion Cub on a kill, a lazy leopard some 10 meters away in the crook of a tree, buffallo, wild dog and "tons" of elephant (the later from the comfort of our own deck and plunge pool.) Nothing was impossible for the team there, they even hid my love letter in the bush for my wife to discover on a sunset drive. (It was our anniversary)

We love it there. It is our place to re-connect with ourselves, our earth and each other. This is why Rhulani means the place of rest...

Room Tip: They are all equally excellent and very private. The best room is next to the water hole as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    27
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
94
110
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at Rhulani Safari Lodge for four nights and it was fantastic! We had a very confortable chalet of our own and a private plunge pool facing the bush. The food was very good : huge breakfasts, delicious homemade specialties for high tea and lovely four course dinners under the stars.
Game viewing was very exciting and the rangers were experienced. They explained a lot about wildlife and showed a lot of enthusiasm. We saw the big five and many more animals!
Staff was very friendly and caring.
We enjoyed the tranquility of the area as well as the luxury of the lodge. Definitely a place to stay and to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatAurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The guys at Rhulani gave us the perfect safari experience.

The accommodation was magnificent with a true African style lodge keeping us away from the beasts of the jungle including a very nice splash pool and incredible outdoor shower which we made great use of!

The service was impecable with hot towels and a glass of port waiting for us on our return from the safari drives and the food was 5 star.

Lastly the drives were fantastic with a very knowledgable and enthusiastic Kenneth making sure we saw all of the Big 5!.

Overall I would definitely recommend Rhulani.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I are return guests. Our experience there has always been fantastic and each time we visit it just gets better. The staff and warm and friendly. The food is fantastic, nothing can beat eating a four course meal under the stars. Our room is like our own private hideaway, we love our little private plunge pool to relax at during the day, luxury in the bush. We can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani8306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Rhulani Madikwe Safari Lodge was magical!

Our accommodations were luxurious and beautifully situated with an elegant African style and all the comforts of modern life. The people - staff as well as visitors - were all so nice and we met intresting people from all over the world.

The three course meals of breakfast, lunch and dinner were gourmet class, very lekker.

All the rangers are extremely knowledgeable in their field and we learned many facts about a variety of animals. The game drives were fantastic and the rangers were full of smiles even at 5am!!!!! We enjoyed the coffee breaks in the morning and the sundowners in the evening taking loads of pictures of the African rising and setting sun We got the most beautiful pictures of all the animals. Lions, Cheetahs, Rhinos, Elephants, Vultures, Giraffes - just to name a few.

I will be happy to recommend your exquisite safari lodge to my large Ocean Basket family of 144 stores.

Thank you for all your professionalism and friendly staff that made us feel like part of the family. It really couldn't have been any better, and our memories will stay with us forever!

An especially big thank you and hugs to Kenneth and Chantelle!

Our warmest regards,
Ocean Basket Kolonnade Centre
Pretoria

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthea a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My family and I returned to Rhulani for a little rest and relaxation in mid-December. The three nights there felt like a three week holiday elsewhere. Relaxing on the deck, watching the ellies at the waterhole; sipping wine; fine dining and interesting game drives with experienced and enthusiastic rangers. Well done! We will be back, AGAIN!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We are ex-pats living in South Africa, and always look forward to family visiting so that we can take them to Rhulani. Madikwe Game Reserve is as good as it gets for 5-star game-viewing, and Rhulani always provides the extra service, personal attention and atmosphere we want. Grant is an amazing guide, and Maryka and Chantel are awesome hosts as well. Upon our arrival, we were greated by an elephant at the watering hole. We saw 4 out the big 5 in one morning. We can’t wait to go back to finally see the leopard!

Room Tip: Each chalet is pretty much the same- with the exception of the family unit. If you have a bigger gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
349 reviews
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
423 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhulani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Property: Rhulani Safari Lodge
Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing