We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of a return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visited Motswiri Private Safari Lodge not once, but twice, in January, 2013. I enjoyed it so much my first time, I returned the following weekend. It was a convenient getaway for me from my base in Gaborone, Botswana. Both times, my companions and I were treated like royalty. It helped that they lodge offered a January special to encourage patronage after the holiday season. Our safari guide was very well informed and tracked lions and wild dogs for us. The food was top quality, and the overall experience was peaceful, intimate, and relaxing. The lodge has a total of 5 chalets (double occupancy) with a 6-person self-catering option, as well. I can't hesitate to recommend Motswiri for a luxury safari experience.

Room Tip: chalets 3-5 have a view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 161 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been visiting various game parks for more that 30 years and Madikwe is perhaps one of our favourites. Motswiri lodge provides a wonderful base from which to view this Malari free park. In common with most other guests we too were reluctant to leave, 4 nights suffering the superb food, the warmth of all the staff, the quiet knowledge of Ranger Coenie and the incredible array of animals that he found for us could so easily become addictive.
Manager Zede has organised the lodge to a very high standard, his input is almost imperceptible, a quiet nudge here and there, a nod of his head and everything just happens but always with the warmest of smiles indicating the joy his staff experience in their efforts to ensure your stay is memorable. The format at Motswiri is slightly different from some lodges in as much as following the wonderful breakfast little happens until 3-30 pm when the next bout of eating takes place (not to be missed) prior to the 4-30 pm game drive. I confess I prefer that this feed be nearer normal lunch time but my wife found the late eat more to her taste and allowed her to catch up on sleep lost to the 5 am game drive. Were there any negatives? Yes, we were located in room 2, like all others a beautiful room but one that was surrounded by the trees of the bush and prevented any possibility of viewing any game that may or may not pass by. Rooms 3 and 4 did provide views of the lodge water hole albeit there was little activity there in January as a result of our visit coinciding with Madikwe's wet season. I imagine that in the dry period the day can be filled watching animals seeking out precious water from the lodges pumped water hole. All in all highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try for a water hole view, as stated rooms 3 and 4 afford the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We took friends from the UK to Motswiri and had the most wonderful few days. They could not believe the beautiful rooms and the friendly staff. Zede and his wife and their staff made our stay a really magical experience. Zede is probably the the most enthusiastic ranger/manager that we have had the pleasure to meet. We will certainly be back to once again enjoy this bush experience

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 overlook the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After a 4 week overland safari with Drifters we decided to indulge at a private lodge for a few days before the long flight home. Using the mtbeds.co.za site we booked Motswiri for 3 nights, arriving the next day. The 4.5 hour drive from Joburg was really easy on great roads.
You always wonder after booking something online if the photos, description etc are accurate, and whether it will really be a '5 star' lodge. After bouncing down the dirt road for the final 20 minutes my fears were dispelled with the owner and staff standing out the front to welcome us with hot towels a cool drink and a herd of elephants in the waterhole next to the main lodge.

Being August the weather was perfect, and the crowd small, only 4 guests during our stay. Nice and quiet and private, just what we wanted.
Beautifully appointed private lodges, intimate dining with top quality cuisine, and staff that have been excellently trained and are attentive without being intrusive.
Game drives at dawn and dusk were fantastic. To sit a few metres away and watch 9 silly young lions take on 3 huge white rhino was unbelievable. Every drive we saw something new and amazing.
Not one single complaint. A true classic safari lodge experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superchad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at Motswiri for 4 nights and could have stayed forever. There are few words to describe the beautiful and appealing main lodge and the villas, the richness in game of the reserve, the serenity of the place but above all the staff who goes out of their way to make the stay a truly magical experience. The rangers were very knowledgeable, accommodating and very pleasant. The chef is outstanding and the administrative and support staff are always on top of every single detail, always with a warm smile. Having our own waterhole where elephants paraded daily was an additional treat. They also organized for us a visit to the village and the elementary school which was very endearing. We saw most animals to the exception of the elusive leopard. The lion prides and the elephants herds were definitely our favorites. We even had a daily visitor, Rupert, the big elephant whose every movement we tracked.
My family of 8, including my grand-kids 7, 9 and 16, all declared our stay there, the best vacation ever.

Room Tip: There is no bad villa but number 3 is especially well placed. Number #5 is perfect for couples with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aracelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived to Jo'burg from New York, drove 4.5 hours to the game reserve and were wiped. However, just on the 10min drive in from the gate to Motswiri, we saw lions, elephants, giraffes and kudu. Then we were greeted with cocktails and a smile at the door. Perfect.

The next few days did not dissapoint. The twice-a-day safari drives yielded great animal sightings with our knowledgeable guide. The staff was incredibly nice and thoughtful and even did something special for us b/c it was our honeymoon. The rooms were beautiful and overlooked a watering hole. The food was delicious, especially the lamb dinner.

This was a perfect safari destination, and if you don't wanna believe two New Yorkers who have never been to a safari before...then believe the other 3 couples staying at the lodge who were all South African patrons who loved the place as well.

Room Tip: Watering hole view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just had two nighs stay at Motswiri private safari lodge, this lodge is small which is good and some rooms overlooking the water hole, make sure to book room no. 3 or 4 as these rooms close to main lodge and overlokking the water hole, no. 3 is better.
its quite this time of the year, so not many visitors, game viewing also at minimum due to cold weather, but its all depends on luck.

service is very good and food is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
3.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
308 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
626 reviews
7.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
438 reviews
14.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswiri Private Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswiri Private Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve 1560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $524 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Motswiri Private Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge, situated in the western side of the 75 000 hectare, Big Five, malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve in the North West Province, forms an integral part of The Madikwe Collection's exclusive portfolio of lodges. As its name suggests, Motswiri Private Safari Lodge is an exclusive lodge offering guests a personal bush experience, which is impossible to replicate in larger concerns. The lodge offer some of the best views in Madikwe as well as the tranquil feel given by the mature trees (mostly Leadwoods) under which the lodge's main building and five luxury bush villas nestle. Motswiri has luxurious accommodation, with each bush villa offering stunning views from private decks and multiple-slider bedrooms and bathrooms. Add double-sided fire places, air-conditioning/ ceiling fans, stunning bathrooms and an outdoor shower and you have a bush experience second to none. Then our Family Villa offer three rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The Family villa boasts a private lounge area leading out onto a private deck and pool. At the main area of the lodge enjoy the rim-flow pool overlooking the waterhole, have a cocktail under the shade of the Motswiri trees (Leadwood in Tswana) on the main deck or just while away the day in the outside lounge and bar area. Fine cuisine is served in the dining room, under the Leadwood or around a roaring fire in the boma. Staff offer personal service in a relaxed but professional manner and the twice daily game drives are conducted by our rangers whose superb bush knowledge is imparted in the manner best suited to the bush knowledge of the guests on the specially designed landcruiser game viewing vehicle. Motswiri offers the option of individual bookings or exclusive use of the lodge for groups. The lodge is ideal for corporate, family / friend groups of up to ten people who do not wish to share the facilities with other guests. Motswiri is a mere 3- 1/2 hours drive from Johannesburg or for utter indulgence, guests can opt for a fly-in safari to the reserves all weather airstrip. Scheduled daily charters are available via the Federal Air Madikwe Charter Joint Venture Partnership. Lodge tariffs include luxury accommodation, two fabulous game drives per day and all meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motswiri Private Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing